We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surroundings but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Chartreuse du Bignac
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Nexans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at the Chartreuse for a couple of nights after our wedding and, while it is in a lovely location with views across the countryside, we immediately felt the hotel did not merit 175 euros a night (we even had an early bird rate). The room we booked was a superior room and, although large and fairly nicely decorated, was nothing to write home about.

40 euros per couple for breakfast was way more than we were prepared to pay, so we had breakfast in cafes elsewhere. We did, however, have a very nice dinner (fairly priced for the quality), but staff were a bit pushy in "suggesting" bottles of wine, champagne. etc...

All in all, we felt the Chartreuse was nice enough, but we wouldn't want to visit again for those prices. We have stayed in B&Bs and Chateaux that really did take our breath away (and for a fraction of the price!)... I'm afraid the Chartreuse did not do that for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CheetahK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 249 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Sat nav helped us find this treasure af an Hotel. We were greeted warmly by a lovely lady from the office and later welcomed by the owners, Brigitte and Jean Louis. Our room was upstairs in the main part of the old house, it was very large with beams and tasteful decor. The bathroom was excellent and there was a heater in both rooms.
This hotel has an outdoor swimming pool with umbrellas and loungers; there is a lake with the usual wild-life and a pair of black swans which we enjoyed watching and the views from the hotel and pool area are 360 degrees, on top of the world! Fabulous. There is a great feeling of calm here even when there was a cocktail party in full swing!
The food was excellent and we dined outside on two evenings. Breakfast was excellent and the home made yogurt very special - there were, of course, fruits, jams etc made from the produce grown in the grounds. All in all a beautiful place to stay.

Room Tip: There are room at ground level which probably had a better view, we had a small dormer window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pingopolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Experience French country charm in a magnificent setting! La Chartreuse provides a peace and tranquility not easily found these days. In addition to lovely food, beautiful grounds, and an elegant room, the wi-fi connection was outstanding and consistent. The hosts and staff were all gracious and accommodating.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

A truly restful stay in a wonderful setting. In the morning, we both "overslept" like never before. The restaurant is very pleasant too. Do not forget to ask the owner about his wine suggestions: they are worth listening to.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were recommended to La Chartreuse by an expat friend who was celebrating his birthday. At the Hotel, fractured french is tolerated with a smile, which is just as well! The building and setting are beautiful; after our first night we went outside and my wife said 'listen', so I did. 'I can't hear anything,' I said; 'neither can I,' she said>. It is peaceful, the setting and grounds are beautiful and you are free to roam. It was 38degrees while we were there so we chilled out by the pool for a couple of days. Bergerac old town is an easy 10 minutes away and parking on the quayside is quite easy. We had a couple of evening meals on the grass patio in front of the hotel with our friends. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves even though the service was a little slow. One disadvantage is that food is not served at lunchtime, but 'L'Etoile', just outside St.Nexans is good value and quite accessible. We lost an item while we were there but this was speedily found and sent to us at home much to our relief; the Owner and Staff couldn't have been more helpful. I found the google English to French was quite helpful! If you want peace & relaxation in a beautiful tranquil setting, you can't go far wrong here. Rates are for room only and 20euros a head for breakfast (even in the sunshine outside under the trees) is a bit steep.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yellowbelly_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Lovely hotel set in a stunning location far away from the hustle and bustle of city life. When you arrive you are immediately transported into a more relaxed pace of life, the grounds are expansive and perfect for a romatic stroll.
The hotel itself is well decorated and the rooms manage to keep their character whilst having a clean and modern feel about them.
The food was a highlight throughout our stay, the emphasis is put on full enjoyment of the meal and even my husband who is quite a foodie was impressed with the quality of the food presented.
Our hosts were open and friendly and although we were quite autonomous while we were they they always had a smile for us when we saw them.
I would certainly recommend this hotel for a weekend of pure indulgence and relaxation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Lovely place. Room pretty. Food ok but not best nor value for money; chef rather up himself. Breakfast at 40 euros per couple we felt expensive. Owner has an air of arrogance and rather judgemental. The staff are lovely. Shame as we intend to return to the area with friends but Wouldn't stay again. For information the local restaurant in st nexan does coffee and croissant.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Thea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Nexans
5.4 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
294 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#2 of 13 in Bergerac
435 reviews
14.3 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#3 of 13 in Bergerac
223 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Bergerac
Ibis Budget Bergerac
#5 of 13 in Bergerac
237 reviews
13 mi away
La Metairie
La Metairie
#1 of 1 in Mauzac
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chartreuse du Bignac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chartreuse du Bignac

Address: Lieu Dit le Bignac | Saint-Nexans, 24520 Saint-Nexans, Bergerac, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac > Saint-Nexans
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Nexans
Price Range: $130 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Chartreuse du Bignac 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Chartreuse du Bignac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing