We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful haven of relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Chartreuse du Bignac
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Nexans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2008

We stopped off at the Chartreuse du Bignac at the end of a road trip of south-west France and found a haven of peace and tranquility, which is just what we needed. The hosts were charming, the food incredible, the rooms comfortable - each decorated in a design considered right down to the last detail. All in all the whole experience was wonderful. If you are looking for a quiet retreat, in a beautiful area of France, eating the gastronomic delights of the region - perfectly prepared, where you won't have to think about a thing or lift a finger....choose this place.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HCFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 248 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2007

Looks great but you soon realise that it is overpriced.
Nice-looking room but with no phone, no TV, a radio that was obviously a free gift from a magazine and didn't work, a very small double bed and one small window! No heating on unless we asked for it.
We were looked after by a very nice girl who is a student at the local college but sadly had not had any training eg did not know what certain drinks were even though they were listed on the drinks menu. Evening meal was OK but expensive, no choice and we had to commit to the meal that morning. Inattentive service at the meal.
Breakfast OK but expensive at 15 Euro each.
The owner is slightly arrogant and gives you the impression that he is doing you a great favour by letting you pay him a lot of money for the privilege of staying at his home.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank VladUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2007

A good base if a littlle off the beaten path.Wonderful bedrooms,we were the only guests when we stayed and got the grand tour of all the bedrooms before we made our selection for our stay.Excellent evening meal,terrific service,breakfasf was also of a high standard. A nice added touch was an online copy of a national newspaper of your country of origin on your table each morning at breakfast. Large spacious grounds where you can wander freely,an extremly friendly donkey in the paddock at the front of the house and ducks in the pond. The entrance hallway is a little gloomy and staff can be somewhat hard to find sometimes however they were most helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank salkind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2006

This is a great place to get away from it all but still live in civilized luxury. Since the hotel only has a few rooms and is wonderfully isolated among the hills and vineyards, it's remarkably quiet. The best view is from the pool, which faces a gorgeous valley dotted with tiny villages. The owners of this chateau are extremely warm and welcoming, and they'll treat you like their personal guests. They brought us everything from history books about the region to American news reports.Everything about this place is lovely: the chestnut orchard, the rooms decorated with antiques, the fabulous breakfasts (fresh summer fruit from the local producers).
You do need a car to stay here, though. Bergerac, a moderately-sized city, is a few minutes away if you need any basics, and I recommend a visit to nearby Monbazillac, where they produce the famous sweet white wine.
In short, it was a memorable experience and I highly recommend the Chartreuse de Bignac.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank waltrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Châteaux & Hôtels Collection
Thank odeus2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ludovic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abignac, Propriétaire at La Chartreuse du Bignac, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambre avec terrasse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abignac, Propriétaire at La Chartreuse du Bignac, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Nexans
5.4 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
287 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#2 of 13 in Bergerac
426 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#3 of 13 in Bergerac
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
438 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Spa du Commerce
Hotel Spa du Commerce
#13 of 13 in Bergerac
179 reviews
5.9 mi away
Europ'Hotel
Europ'Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bergerac
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chartreuse du Bignac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chartreuse du Bignac

Address: Lieu Dit le Bignac | Saint-Nexans, 24520 Saint-Nexans, Bergerac, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac > Saint-Nexans
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Nexans
Price Range: $83 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Chartreuse du Bignac 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Chartreuse du Bignac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing