We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Chartreuse du Bignac
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Nexans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Very nice place indeed. In the sticks a bit but all the better for it. That said 10 minutes drive would see you in Bergerac. Excellent breakfast. Our room was very large. I can only rate the food as good, but I believe the regular chef was off whilst we were here.
There were 3 menu options or à la carte.
Dinner on the terrace is a real treat. Decent wine list at fair prices. Nice pool, great views.
Owners and staff very pleasant.
We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 17clarence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 244 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2010

La Chartreuse Du Bignac is a very nice accommodation with swimming pool, very large garden and fantastic views. The owners are very nice, helpful and will do anything to make sure that you're having a relaxing vacation. The rooms all have a different theme and are very clean and spacious. The location is very quiet, and easy accessible by car. Our stay was enormously relaxing, comfortable and due to the warm welcome and hospitality of the owners completely stress-free. I would truly recommend this location for people (couples) who are looking to relax and want to enjoy great food and wines.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swtummers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We spent 2 nights at this fabulous hotel. It is beautiful, clean, and full of French, vintage charm. The owners were very kind and helped us with our travel itinerary. We dined in the garden under a setting sun and enjoyed a beautiful 6 course meal. It was worth every penny. The hotel is also in a stunning location. We really did not want to leave.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank underabluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Organizing a business event in the middle of nowhere is always a challenge since everybody asks “Why there?”
All the attendees we received here for an international meeting got their personal answer to the question: the place, the view, the house, the rooms (very cozy but not showy) makes you feel like at home. On top of it, the discrete but very good level of service provided helped us to make this event a success, and we wanted to thank our guests for that

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodtripParisFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

This hotel is gorgeous.It has a beautiful country setting and is very quiet.The decor of both the rooms and public areas is very stylish.The bedrooms are huge also.
The swimming pool is in and elevated position and looks out over surrounding rolling countryside.The owners were charming with a great sense of humour.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2009

The owners must have been hurting for money, because they seem to have no concern that my wife being pregnant had to have something to eat, and the only thing they had to offer was a $60 meal per person. They finally suggested a smaller meal for the two of us for 30 euro which was very nice of them, but it did take some arguing before this happened. They suggested that it might be better if we stayed somewhere in Bordeaux to get us closer to sites of interest. The next day we took their advise and found a really nice small hotel. The cancellation was discussed and the owner said that everything would be taken care of. Upon our return to the States our Travel Agent sends us an email stating that the owner decided that he would not refund the money paid on the room which was not used. The place was desolate in the middle of nowhere. The owners were not very helpful or curteous. The home appeared to have been beautiful, before they stripped out everything that was original. All of the additions actually made the place a little drab and normal.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank chadpotter_Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2008

We stopped off at the Chartreuse du Bignac at the end of a road trip of south-west France and found a haven of peace and tranquility, which is just what we needed. The hosts were charming, the food incredible, the rooms comfortable - each decorated in a design considered right down to the last detail. All in all the whole experience was wonderful. If you are looking for a quiet retreat, in a beautiful area of France, eating the gastronomic delights of the region - perfectly prepared, where you won't have to think about a thing or lift a finger....choose this place.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HCFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Nexans
5.4 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
279 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#2 of 13 in Bergerac
423 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#3 of 13 in Bergerac
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
432 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kyriad Bergerac
Kyriad Bergerac
#8 of 13 in Bergerac
202 reviews
13.0 mi away
La Metairie
La Metairie
#1 of 1 in Mauzac
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chartreuse du Bignac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chartreuse du Bignac

Address: Lieu Dit le Bignac | Saint-Nexans, 24520 Saint-Nexans, Bergerac, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac > Saint-Nexans
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Nexans
Price Range: $146 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Chartreuse du Bignac 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Chartreuse du Bignac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing