We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family site - especially with kids younger than 8”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hourtin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping de la Cote d'Argent
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went with 2 couples and 4 children between 2 and 4 years old.(Last week august 2013 and first week of september 2013) We rented two houses for 6 persons next to each other allowing us to eat together and have the kids running in and out the houses as they wanted. The houses are small (as expected) but are very clean. The service in the park is swift and friendly (lamp broken, fixed in 10 minutes, gas bottle empty a new one placed in 10 minutes and with a smile).

The loction of the camping is also great, you are at 300 meters from the Atlantic ocean, with a bike or by car you are very fast at the lake Hourtin with tons of small beaches and the kids can easily play in the lake. Next to this, there are cycle paths leaving close at the camping site, you can use them as well for runnings. Next to sport and beaches, there are not so many interesting activities in the neighbourhood. No really interesting historical cities close, but you have a lot of nature nearby.

The swimming pool is good and well maintained, the new Pirate attraction is fun for the kids, although the water at the pirate seems to be colder than the water in the swimming pools.

Points for improvement, there was no oven in the house, which made cooking a little bit less fun. If you want to pay for WIFI access, you can, but it is or really slow or even unreachable from within the camping house. Only at the reception it is continuously available. A Water cooker could also come in handy, but this is just as a dishwasher, less necessary than an oven, as you still have alternatives.

Small additional tip: If you are lazy one evening but have no babysit and are into Mussels: You can go and get them in the village, just go with a large pot to the restaurant and they will fill it with mussels so you can eat at home (Les griffons or Aux Moules - the last one is cheaper, but he puts more spices on his Mussels)

Room Tip: I would not select a camper / little house close to the swimming pool and certainly not at the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 268 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The camp site is very casual with an almost pitch up where you like. The site is large and all sand under pine tree's with a wet at area for kids and a very small pool for tiny tots. There are restaurants and a shop on site, though as you might imagine for a site that is 8 miles from a town with a supermarket, the prices are fairly hefty for just about everything.
The main selling point of this site is the close proximity to the wonderful beach. The sand is clean, the waves are good enough to surf, body board or just have fun in the rollers. There are plenty of lifeguards on duty in the peak season and they look very professional in their job.
There is a short road leading to the beach with bars and restaurants. Try the 'Beach Cafe' which is half way along the road on the left as you approach the beach. The food is reasonably priced and good quality and they have wifi access.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe1723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Why does a five star camp site have no soap in the toilets? This was a real problem and you needed to take loo paper every time as well. This resulted in diarrhoea. The horse riding experience was a joke. The lady turned up with two horses but spent over half an hour explaining about them so we and others gave up. We assume she just uses this as a sales pitch to get people to go to her riding centre. The campsite was large. There was a mix up over the electric when we first arrived. The on site supermarket was good but expensive and there is a shop just outside which sells cheaper fruit an veg. The on site cafe service was poor. We waited about an hour for some food which was undercooked when it eventually turned up and over priced. It was a shame that there wasn't a back route to the sea so you had to treck round to the main entrance. I don't see why they could not have a back gate with security and CCTV if necessary. The water park area was great with pirate head sloshing water onto excited people. There should have been an area for adult swimming. For example, adults could use the pools after closing time at 7pm without too much difficulty. People tended to hog the loungers and there weren't enough of them. As I say, no soap in the loos so doubtful as to the quality of the water in the water park. The staff were friendly and in particular one member of staff folded up our washing after it had dried which was very kind. They certainly made an effort to clean the toilet and washing areas. You had to pay for extras such as the tennis court which was cheeky. The Internet is unreliable and expensive. The beach is the making of this place. We were in a quiet part of the camp but this meant it was a treck to use the washing facilities. The whole lack of soap issue and loo roll issue is one the French generally need to address to get my vote.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Caustonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We booked this site through Eurocamp and stayed in a caravan. The rep Tony was very welcoming and our caravan was overlooking the fanastic aqua pirates water slide, which my 7 and 10 yr old boys loved!!! The little village was small but very nice and we also drove the 10 mins to the lake which was very pretty and safe for us all to swim in. As part of our trip from Santander to Roscoff we were intending to use the cycle tracks but the as the nearest town seemed to be about 30 km away we gave it a miss and just cycled to the beach every night. The pool and the whole site was immaculately kept and everyone was having a great time. The site was full but the it did not feel crowded at all and we had a lovely big pitch. It is a lovely site in a pretty place but i was glad we had only booked 3 nights and not two weeks or else we may have got bored!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank river-gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Summer hols jul-aug 2013
Booked here having previously stayed 15 miles down the coast at Lacanau, which was full, and this site offered a pretty similar deal with security, facilities, and proximity to the beaches and cost. Arrival at reception was easy and the staff were helpful and accepting of language barriers. All campers wear a band, and staff are checking these for everyone entering the site via foot of bike at all times. The pitches were varied in size. We had 6 of us.. Caravan, awning, and 3 tents (don't ask!) although cozy, as you have to keep the car on pitch, we made it work just fine. The facilities were suitably placed over this large camp site, and getting a warm shower was never a problem. There were separate washing up blocks dotted around, and they were always spotless.. A team of staff were hovering around the main blocks at all times, and I never saw a dirty floor in a shower cubicle..
This chain of sites does seem to follow a ' no loo roll' policy.. We had the same in one of their sites In the vendee 10 years ago.. After a couple of days you do seem to just ignore the continuous exodus with Andrex in hand.(other paper suppliers are available)
Despite the main road routes through the site, there are no clearly defined ways marked to get to the blocks, and most campers, follow the most direct route. People made use of campers not filling their pitches to the boundaries, or empty pitches.. There was an issue on our road, when a few over entusuiatic campers decided to barrier the route. Nationality available upon request. A little petty. You just need to be mindful of others tucking into BBQ delights, as you march by with bog roll at full salute.

We ate in the site restaurant once. The food was reasonably priced for the area, and was good quality. Service was great.
Entertainment was on pretty much every night.. We dipped In and out, and what we saw was pretty good.. I personally think the set up of bar/restaurant/stage could be better.. Just my opinion..your call.
Despite our proximity to the front of the site, the noise was quite bearable, and was always finished by 11 ish
We like to cycle, And had spent many days on previous holidays in lacanau on 2 wheels.. Hourtin is a little out of sorts when it comes to 2 wheels.. There are pleasant routes on a large track, and a couple of other shorter routes, which meet up with the main track, but its 10 miles to the next plage south of hourtin, at carcans ... Again, just my opinion..
We also went out on the roads, but found the local villages barely a bus stop and a bar if lucky.

The town itself is limited to 1 Main Street, with the beach at the end.. Just a 5 min walk from the entrance to the campsite...
If you like to pop into town each day, and buy from the local butcher baker of fruity thing maker, then this isn't for you.
The site has a supermarket, which also serves the entire town.. To be fair, it's not bad; expensive, but not bad. There was an alternative fruit and veg shop just down the road, which had some good fruit. You just have to plan a bit.
There's an Aldi 10 miles away, and a L'Eclerc about 15 miles away(a biggy too) . We just bought the bulk stuff like water, snacks, beer, coke....all the essentials... In bulk, and bought what we wanted daily.. I guess you just know you're gonna be fleeced in a beach resort like this..

The pool and splash zone are just fantastic, even in cooler weather, there's slides etc etc. Completely enclosed, and very safe..
We didn't eat out in town, although there are a good number of cafes restaurants and pizza takeaway around. We did have a take out from the local Asian, and although not bad, was pricey.
If you like the beach, it's fabulous, and being Huge there's plenty of room for everything... In fact, you wonder where all the people come from on the really hot Days, as this resort is 8 miles from Hourtin itself, and is a destination.

We have a 17 and 15 yr old, who have loved French holidays like this for the last 10 years.. This was our 17yr olds first venture into trying out local bars and nightlife, and as it was a little limited, we actually felt quite comfortable..
Would we go back.... Possibly.. For the site and the beach and the cleanliness and surprising quietness of the site, despite its size and number of campers, yes, for the town and cycle piste restrictions, maybe not..
Hope I haven't bored you.. Be happy to answer any personal questions.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
13  Thank Thesp69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have stayed at this park every year since 1999 and would highly recommend it for families. The facilities are second to none, the showers and toilets are all new and kept sparkling clean at all times. The camp really is ideal for all ages, my children loved it throughout their teens and beyond. The camp is close to the small village which has everything you could want and the beach is just awesome. Great security on site. The prices have increased since the park became a 5* and the number of camping sites have decreased as the park has developed more and more cabin accommodation. We always stay well away from the entertainment centre so find it to be peaceful. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank calderhigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed there at the beginning of June so the site was only 30% occupied and it was really amazing two weeks. It is conveniently located, not to close/not to far from the Ocean, the cottages are brand new (or look like new), the only thing missing in the inventory is the kettle so we will take one with us next time. Perfect place for families with young children as there are two playgrounds on site plus there will be something bigger indoors next summer for the youngsters. very very happy, staff was fine, not over the moon with it but we did not spend much time at the site anyway. 5 stars !!!!!and we will be back next year!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitesnow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hourtin
4.8 mi away
Hotel Les Pins
Hotel Les Pins
#1 of 3 in Hourtin
60 reviews
10.4 mi away
Camping Tohapi Atlantic Club Montalivet
Camping Tohapi Atlantic Club Mon...
#1 of 10 in Vendays Montalivet
168 reviews
4.8 mi away
Residence-Club Odalys du Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
No photo provided
HBR Hourtin
#2 of 3 in Hourtin
5 reviews
4.8 mi away
Residence Odalys Le Petit Pont
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping de la Cote d'Argent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping de la Cote d'Argent

Address: Le Flamand, 33990 Hourtin, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Hourtin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Hourtin
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Camping Airotel De La Cote d`Argent Hotel Hourtin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing