We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“entertainment and bar staff do not take interest in English guests.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hourtin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping de la Cote d'Argent
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The units managed by eurocamp are nice but the kids club staff do not speak enough English and no information was provided to enable our kids to join in. The bar and restaurant staff ignored us for over 20 minutes one night serving only French guests. The pool slides were only opened for 10 minutes every hour frustrating our children greatly.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vickisax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 267 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

Such a beautiful location, surrounded by pine trees deep in the national park. Fantastic facilities and great football games in the evening! Quick walk to the beach or short drive to the lake with a man-made beach. We spent most of our time at the lake as it was much quieter - the beach can get busy. So much to do there - wind surfing, surfing, kayaking, paddle boarding - great for all ages.

We stayed with Eurocamp in a fantastically clean chalet, thanks to our rep Tony! Very helpful, knows all the great local places to visit and on hand whenever you need him! Very efficient.

The only down side to the campsite is the music in the evenings, which goes on until about 11.30pm. We weren't close to the bar but could still hear the words to the songs.

Room Tip: Far from the main bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADiam0nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This campsite is located in a pine-clad forest by an excellent surfing beach on the Atlantic coast.

Firstly the campsite itself. Facilities here are very high standard. The shower blocks were immaculate and they even had a separate washroom for babies plus toilets for toddlers. The site had a good outdoor play area for all children's ages. Other facilities included a tennis court, gym, and a basketball/ football pitch. We didn't use the bar or restaurant but heard that it was a little pricey. The supermarket was well stocked but we only used this for daily milk and bread preferring to use either aldi in nearby Hourtin or Eleclerc a 15 minute drive away.

The pool complex was good but the outdoor pools were absolutely freezing! Only for the most bravest of people. The indoor pool was very warm but could get very crowded.

We stayed with eurocamp and had the most fantastic rep, Tony, look after us. Nothing was too much trouble for him and we became good friends.

The caravan itself was ok if a little small. We will definitely upgrade to a larger one with AC next year. But the pitches were ok and we found that the caravans were well laid out so you didn't feel overlooked.

The area of Hourtin plage is fantastic. Well laid out cycle tracks in the forest next to the site plus the most amazing surf beach on your doorstep (take your wetsuit!). A couple of bars/ restaurants in the resort. We found the surf bar the best.

Overall an amazing holiday and we will definitely be back!

Make sure you take your bike although they do hire on site. Plus take a drive along the D2 Chateau route in the Medoc and visit one of the chateaus for a wine-tasting. Bordeaux is a must too. Take the park and ride into the city for euro 3.

Excellent!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ferg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Bit overcrowded with camping pitches too close to each other. Location ok, good for beach and cycling but lousy weather when we stayed meant that ee made limited use of beach or pool. Friendly staff and useful supermarket on site. We thought expensive for what we got, especially as anything that might remotely be thought of as extra had to be paid for...

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank rsrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We have just returned from this campsite and it is truly very difficult to fault. It should be put into the 'Glamping' category as the facilities, cleanliness, location and overall enjoyment factor is simply outstanding. We brought our own tent and had a huge pitch opposite the shower/toilet blocks. Doesn't sound very glam, I know, but they were absolutely spotless. The cleaners are there all day from 6am until at least 8pm. Cubicles either have a shower with sink and mirror, or just a sink with mirror and electric socket for hairdryer/straighteners, etc. There are childrens low toilets as well as adults obviously but they are all modern, work well and there is never a 'toilet'' smell. Outside there are more toilets and also sinks for washing crockery, etc. There are also baby baths, washing machines, dryers and a contraption which looks like a vending machine but is actually individual iceboxes to hire. Finally an outside tap and sink to fill waterbottles. Entertainment wise, we were a short walk to the games room, bar, restaurant and shop. There is also a takeaway service for roast chicken, pizza, chips and sandwiches. The pool is also brilliant, with waterslides and a childrens section with a mini play area on an island. Sunbeds are available all around the pools. There are also lots of park areas with climbing frames, swings, etc which our kids enjoyed from first thing in the morning and every opportunity in between meals, etc. The site is vast and most people cycle around.
Now for a few negative points (nowhere is completely perfect!) - The entertainment in the bar is quite noisy so recommend earplugs at night. It's usually finished by about 12.30pm but then you have a few teenagers who walk back to their pitches/mobiles in a very noisy manner. Our pitch was literally a few yards away from the main bar, restaurant area but it didn't ruin our holiday at all. The supermarket and bar are VERY expensive. Recomment going to the nearest Carrefour or E.Leclerc supermarkets which are about a 20/30 minute drive away. Bike hire - this is an important one. We didn't take any bikes because the brochure said bikes could be hired on site - this isn't completely true. They hire adult bikes but not childrens. You have to take a right out of the site and walk into the town in the direction of the beach. There is a bike hire place just a little on the right which hires bikes - cost 52 Euros for 3 adults and one child for 24 hours. Take your own - we will next year! Swimming pools - very cold. We had fantastic weather in the 30's but the main pools take some getting used to temperature wise. There is a heated pool but it gets very busy so not much good for swimming. The slides are good fun though but only open for the last half hour each hour. Not quite sure why that is! The beach - absolutely amazingly stunning BUT dangerously huge waves. The beach is very well supervised but beware of the undercurrent on the sandbanks. If you do venture in, it is very difficult to get out without being washed up onto the beach - very undignified with a bikini on! However, it is great fun if you are careful. Out kids just played chicken with the waves and played in it when it was slightly calmer which is usually low tide.
We are planning to go back next year and hope to bag the same pitch. If you want a truly fun, wonderful camping holiday, this is the place for you. I would also recommend that you break the drive down into 2. It takes 9 hours to drive from here to Eurotunnel. Oh, and make sure you visit Bordeaux - one of the most beautiful cities I've ever been to.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Saphey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

We arrived on the offchance at 6pm and were squeezed into a spot on the outsirts of the site. This turned out to be advantageous as the site is very noisy near the reception. I dont know how you would get to sleep before 1am if you were situated within 500 mtrs of the entertainment area, it was like being at a live concert.
Our plot was situated near the toilet block but the toilets were exceptionally clean so this was not a problem. Indeed one morning I went to the loo and saw cleaners there at 6am. They were kept spotlessly clean throughout the day.
I cant comment on the pool area as we did not take the kids with us but it seemed well patronised.
I thought the Reception staff were abrupt and miserable. They were irritated that we had turned up without a booking even though there were plots available to rent. We felt as though we'd behaved unreasonably for putting them to so much trouble.
We did have a good holiday and I would recommend the site but advise people to go further back towards the camp boundaries to avoid the noisy teenagers.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank KarenandJohn37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed at this campsite for one week in Aug 09 in one of the larger mobile homes. The mobile home itself was ok, clean and well appointed but I found the campsite extremely crowded. We had someone camped only a few centimetres from our covered porch area and there seemed to be pitches squeezed in wherever possible. The campsite swimming pool was also very crowded. Most of the swimming pools in the complex were too cold to enjoy which meant the one heated section was really crammed full (not that that stopped the older kids dive bombing the pool with no censure whatsoever from the lifeguards).
My main complaint was that when we had to leave a day early there was nobody available to check over our mobile home which meant we had to leave without our deposit. We were consequently charged 80€!!! for cleaning. I admit I had not washed the floor on my hands and knees but the place had otherwise been thoroughly cleaned. The charge was just a total rip-off. I don't want to go back to a place like that that is all about squeezing out every last cent at the expense of your holiday experience.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbi_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hourtin
4.8 mi away
Hotel Les Pins
Hotel Les Pins
#1 of 3 in Hourtin
60 reviews
4.8 mi away
Residence-Club Odalys du Port
10.3 mi away
Residence Pierre & Vacances Les Grands Pins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
L'Oyat
L'Oyat
#3 of 4 in Lacanau-Ocean
120 reviews
15.8 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Village Club Lacanau
10.6 mi away
L'Arberet
L'Arberet
#1 of 3 in Vendays Montalivet
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping de la Cote d'Argent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping de la Cote d'Argent

Address: Le Flamand, 33990 Hourtin, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Hourtin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Hourtin
Price Range: $118 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Camping Airotel De La Cote d`Argent Hotel Hourtin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing