We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
General Laidoner Museum

Very educational museum on a unique location! The staff was very friendly and the museum is child... read more

Reviewed January 7, 2018
Vaarikabets
,
Tallinn, Estonia
Manor House, Museum, Military Legacy.

The Laidoner Manor House is located about 25 minutes by bus (No 1A) from the central underground... read more

Reviewed November 6, 2017
gregoryjarosch50
,
Vilnius, Lithuania
Read all 13 reviews
  
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveler rating
7
6
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
7
6
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 13 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2017 via mobile

This is a free entrance museum named after General Laidoner, but the show is about the wars Estonia participated in. There's a lot to read in the museum. Actually pretty boring, but I liked the collection of weapons.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank TrusM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017

The museum is very interesting and well done, covering Estonian military history. It is free and also comprises a separate location (300m by foot from the main building) holding artillery pieces and a few vehicles. You can enter a soviet BMP and a German StuG III (formerly used by Finland), which I found quite unique. The place can be reached by public transport, bus 1A.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2017 via mobile

A small but interesting collection detailing Estonian military history. Exhibits all have Estonian, English and Russian translations. Good overview of both their War for Independence and World War 2, where Estonians served in the Soviet, Finnish, and German armies. Don't miss the vehicle warehouse which is about 300 meters down the road from the main museum. It contains a nice collection (many donated from Finland) including several fairly rare German pieces like 88mm guns and a STuG 3 assault gun...the vehicles are labelled but fairly minimal explanation; the best part is they let you climb on and in them! Also don't miss the sauna in a shipping container brought back from Afghanistan.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank johncatworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2015

Although I live almost next to the museum it took me years and years to finally go and look inside :) The receptionist was a bit tired, i guess because it was the end of the day already but overall I loved it! I loved reading the letters that soldiers sent to their loved ones and loved to look out of General Laidoners office window! A great historic place!!

Date of experience: March 2015
1  Thank Eneli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

One of the best museums in Estonia. A wealth of knowledge shared in a easy to understand method. Great displays and hands on exhibits as well. Audio guides are a great help and provided by the staff. Friendly staff.
I spent 2.5 hours here which was enough but another visit again could also be beneficial to read more in depth about some of the exhibitions. A great way to learn about Estonian military history.

1  Thank jetpilotsimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews