We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two very special meals of Nordic Island cuisine”

Alexander Restaurant at Padaste Manor
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Muhu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $112
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Two very special meals of Nordic Island cuisine”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

This review covers two meals, one in April and the other in September 2011. Both were extraordinarily interesting to this foodie and both featured most extensively raw materials from the Saaremaa islands of Estonia. The quality of the preparation was very high. Ditto presentation. There is an excellent and extensive wine list, fairly priced. On my first visit, I enjoyed a solitary tasting dinner in the glass conservatory; every dish was both distinctive and yet accessible. The breads from the kitchen were chewy and spectacular; the butter was locally churned. The second dinner I enjoyed at Alexander was one for a party of either, one of whom was vegetarian and two were small children. The kids got appropriate dishes and the vegetarian pronounced herself both impressed and well satisfied. The rest of us were glad to have the full palate of possibilities of that fine kitchen open to us. The wines provided, including a great bottle of champagne, were excellent and the wine list was pretty long. The pace of the dinners were leisurely, but appropriately so for a comfortable group of friends with lots of catching up to do. The larger dinner was served in a private dining room of great charm. I also took two buffet breakfasts that featured local products (kama jahu! fish! local pasture eggs! homemade jams and preserves! on and on!!) In addition, the group had an alfresco luncheon, set up and served on our whim, with terrific offerings negotiated with the kitchen. What a place!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    13
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A really beautiful location”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We arrived for lunch on the 29th August, we had to park in a field and walk up the drive to the mansion and press a button to get staff to let us in. Turns out the Summer restaurant was closed so we were shown to the main restaurant which was beautiful, we were the only people I saw other than the staff over lunch. The menu was basic you had only one choice for each course, I just wanted a main and had the only dish on offer a 3 cheese flan that I didn't finish, it was ok but no better than a pasty. Bill for lunch was 67 Euro, no alcohol just coffee so a bit expensive considering no choice in the menu, it was take it or leave it. I cannot fault the location it was just beautiful. I'm sure they were winding down for winter so my review should be read in that context.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank St3v3h3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This restaurant offers an eight course tasting menu every night. The food is all locally provenanced, healthy, and utterly delicious. We ate a carpaccio of ostrich (believe it or not, there is an ostrich farm on Muhu), gorgeous scallops with a cauliflower "risotto", an eel terrine, and delectable fruity puddings with blueberries, raspberries and home-produced curd. Peeter Pihel doesn't have a Michelin star yet, but it can't be long. And the waitresses are friendly and well-informed without being a scrap pretentious. One of the best places I've ever eaten - and I've been to some good ones.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
197 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Small Portions, Poor Cooking”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I head a special four course crayfish dinner. This meant that there were little pieces of crayfish seen once to twice. The portions were small and lacked flavor. The main dish, a mousseline of crayfish and sea bass, was barely edible. This was the most expensive and worst meal I had in two weeks in Estonia.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysOnTheAirplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Amazing and I am picky.”
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I think the dinner I had here may have been the best I have had in years and I live in Paris where food is supposed to be good. The food was made with local ingredients, exceptionally prepared by the chef Peeter Pihel - I asked for his name because I was so impressed by the honesty and quality of food - and served by a gracious staff in a lovely room under the green trees. The breakfast meal was a joy also. I would go very far out of my way to eat here again.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cest243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexander Restaurant at Padaste Manor also viewed

 
Muhu, Saare County
Muhu, Saare County
 

Been to Alexander Restaurant at Padaste Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing