We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“remodeled hotel, but still some stagnant smells” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Kennesaw

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Kennesaw
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Kennesaw
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“remodeled hotel, but still some stagnant smells”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel was a stop over for us ont he way home. The hotel staff was nice enough and our request to be on the side away from the interestate was granted. The room decor was acceptable, but the smell was not very inviting. It was musty and quite frankly, I suspect it was a remodeled smoking room. The breakfast the next morning is what you would expect and the attendant was friendly.

Room Tip: request a room onthe side away from interstate to decrease outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matpat9499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Kennesaw, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear matpat9499,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, I would like to offer a sincere apology regarding the musty smell in the room. We will address these points and assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    50
    20
    11
    5
See reviews for
56
25
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I had to spend one night in Georgia before heading back to Ohio. I picked the Holiday Inn Express in Kennesaw for driving convenience because it was located right off I-75. I did not have to brave Atlanta traffic. I was pleasantly surpised to find it located among a variety of eateries, several strip malls and a sizable shopping center. The staff was pleasant and the rooms were comfortable. But the big sell for me ended up being the prime local. I have two negatives. The room offered a microwave, but did not have a convenient outlet to plug it in. A towel from a previous guest was left hanging on the back of the bathroom door.

Room Tip: Had a room on the sixth floor. The view was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LARON B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

From the arrival to the check out the level of customer service this facility provided was definitely refreshing. Upon check I asked what time check-out was and she stated that although it was 12 if I needed a later checkout until 2 they could accommodate. WOW, offering accommodations versus having to ask. I havent had that in quite sometime.
This hotel has also set up a managers reception during the week with adult beverages and snacks. Kudos for this, but they truly need to think about the location. The room used was extremely small and hard to manuever through.
I strongly recommend this location for the ease of getting in and out of Atlanta, but having the conviences of lots of restaurants,etc around the location.

Room Tip: In the summer make sure you adjust the AC to High and turn down the temp, especially on the 6th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa_615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Flew a friend here to be with his father in hospice. Just wanted to stay near airport. FBO staff recommended HIE. Staff answered all questions and were very pleasant. Room was nice, clean and comfortable

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pops A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our stay here was for our anniversary. We are local, and chose this hotel based on the other reviews (we have a large number of hotels to choose from within a 10 mile radius). On the plus side, the renovations are great. We were greeted with a check-in bag that included bottled water, an apple, and a cookie. The room was very tastefully done. The evening front desk staff was friendly and efficient, and the room was clean. Breakfast was acceptable.

On the negative side, our bed was very uncomfortable - marked sway in the middle - and noise from the highway a real problem. This hotel is next to Interstate 75. When we booked it I thought it was about 1/4 mile away from the highway. When we arrived and realized my mistake, and that we were in a room on the backside of the hotel (by the highway) I went to the front desk and asked about the highway noise. The kind ladies behind the counter assured me they had never had any issues at all with guests and the highway noise.

I have 4 kids - not a light sleeper! - but was repeatedly awakened by down-shifting 18 wheelers, once by a police siren, and another time by racing motorcycles. Although the room A/C unit did a good job of masking the constant highway buzz, it couldn't compete with more intrusive sounds. Looking forward to a good nights' sleep - much less sleeping in on a Saturday morning - turned out to be an impossibility. I woke up very tired and frustrated.

The road noise, coupled with the uncomfortable bed made the overall experience disappointing. My husband, who has back issues, was pretty cranky about giving up our lovely bed just a few miles away and paying $135 for less than romantic conditions.

We told the attendant behind the counter the next morning about our experience and she assured us (in an abrupt and barely concealed really-don't-have-time-for-this attitude) that the mattress would be addressed.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs and request a room on the east/front side of the building to help with highway noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraceHSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Kennesaw, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to let us know about your stay. I must say I am disappointed in your discomfort while trying to get a good night's rest. Being centrally located as we are, the freeway can disturb guests from time to time. I would like to announce we are in the process of replacing all of our beds throughout the entire hotel. This will complete our full renovation!

W invite you and your husband to give us another try in the near future, whether it be for your anniversary or not. Once again thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I stayed overnight for a shopping trip with friends. The room was very clean and spacious and the manager and staff were very helpful. The hotel is located near a mall and other shopping areas. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I highly recommend the Kennesaw Holiday Inn at Town Center just off I-75! It is exceptionally clean, staff is friendly and helpful, beds are super comfortable, and it's easily accessible to lots of shopping and good restaurants. I plan on returning every time I'm in the Atlanta area....no need to look any further for accomodations!!!

Room Tip: I don't think you could find a bad choice in rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kennesaw hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta NW / Kennesaw Town Center
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Atlanta NW-Kennesaw Town Ctr
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Atlanta Town Center / Kennesaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta - Kennesaw Town Center
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Kennesaw
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kennesaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Kennesaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Kennesaw

Property: Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Kennesaw
Address: 2485 George Busbee Pkwy NW, Kennesaw, GA 30144-4961
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Kennesaw
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kennesaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Kennesaw 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best in service and comfort that Kennesaw and Cobb County have to offer at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Kennesaw, GA. Guests here enjoy an ideal location between Interstates 75 and 575 with easy access to Marietta and Atlanta. With over 1,200-sq ft. of meeting space, free wireless high-speed Internet access and a 24 hour Business Center we're an ideal stop for Business travelers in Kennesaw, Georgia. Our hotel's location in the Atlanta area puts you minutes from Barrett Park, Chastain Meadows, West Oaks and Town Park office communities as well as the growing business destination of northwest Atlanta. Leisure travelers also benefit from the variety of attractions near our hotel. Baseball and softball fields nearby include East Cobb Baseball Complex, All Tournament Players Park, Al Bishop and Lost Mountain fields. Kennesaw State University is just two miles away and hosts many sporting events and tournament. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Kennesaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Kennesaw Hotel Kennesaw
Holiday Inn Kennesaw
Holiday Inn Express Kennesaw
Kennesaw Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing