We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Food was less than desirable.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of On the Border

On the Border
Ranked #53 of 272 Restaurants in Kennesaw
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Food was less than desirable.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Menu entree photos are deceiving. The skirt steak in the Ranchiladas appears to take up a third of the plate when in actuality it's about 4oz. The avocado in the Baja entree was tasteless! Service and atmosphere were ok.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aspringRMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    32
    18
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I met up with some colleagues for a farewell lunch.The atmosphere was very busy yet accomodating at the same time.Huge lunch crowds,laughs,a magharita or two,you name it.Our waiter was wonderful though the food took a little while.We didn't mind because we were busy chatting and it was lunch time,so that's understandable.It seems like a nice place for groups and such.Overall,it was a great experience.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel_LuvBug138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best salsa and mojito in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

There isn't an On the Border where I live so I make it a point to stop here EVERY CHANCE I GET! The salsa is always perfect and you can't beat the smoked jalapeno vinaigrette. I asked for and got a particularly good customized mojito. You can't go wrong with anything on the menu!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank trublmkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I ate here last week as we had a $50 gift card. We were greeted quickly upon entering and the host was very polite and efficient. We sat on the patio which was quite pleasant. I had not eaten at On the Border for several years. The margarita was good, chips OK. To start we tried the spinach and mushroom fundido - which was OK but had a kick to it which we were not expecting based on the menu description. I ordered cheese and onion enchiladas with sour cream sauce. I was quite disappointed. The food was barely lukewarm. I didn't send it back as my husband's food was fine, and I did not want to delay our meal. The rice was very salty, and the enchilladas were kind of bland. We decided not to stay for dessert. Overall, the meal was average. Not bad, but not great. I'm glad we used a gift card to pay - I would not pay $50 for that meal otherwise. I don't think we will be back very soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChihuahuasMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not so great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Ate here with my wife today for the first time in many years. Chips were too thick but the salsa was excellent...somewhat spicey. The service was good but the food was nothing special. Portions were smaller than I remembered. Black beans were tasteless as was the rice. Mystery meat in the enchilada. The best item I had was the chili relleno stuffed with Jack cheese. My wife's refried beans were good and very smokey. La Parilla has them beat in this area of town.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Border also viewed

 

Been to On the Border? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing