We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ!!”

Big Shanty Smokehouse BBQ
Ranked #11 of 295 Restaurants in Kennesaw
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: A cute & cozy BBQ joint specializing in FRESH hickory smoked meats. Located just 1.5 miles from I-73, exit 273.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great BBQ!!”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Gluten free options including homemade bread, friendly staff and fantastic BBQ! They have lots of good veggies and specials that change regularly. A weeknight favorite.

Helpful?
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    37
    15
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Acworth, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We did take out”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I grabbed some food to take over to my husband's work. We ordered Steve's Sampler which came with a little bit of everything. I ordered an extra side, which they forgot to put in! Shame on me for not checking!!! I'll just make mention the next time I visit, and I'm hoping the manager will make it right. Anyway we liked the ribs and brisket the best. The shredded pork was ok. The sausage was also ok, had an odd texture to it. My daughter loved the ribs as well, and their mac & cheese is VERY good! We also enjoyed their baked beans, very unique mix of different beans. The platter was enough to feed two adults and a small child. We will be back for more.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank fosterds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
658 reviews
406 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Awesome BBQ”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is our favorite BBQ place for ribs, pork and chicken. The meats are smoked just right and the sides are flavorful too. The brunswick stew is spicy and sweet which is a must have side when you enjoy your BBQ. Smoked salmon dip is great too with no fillers. If you want BBQ then this is the place you must go to and eat it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“GREAT BARBECUE!!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

I have got to say, I am somewhat of a barbecue connoisseur and tho place is off the charts!!! I've been here at least a dozen times... I strongly suggest the ribs!! It's family owned and operated.. You probably won't be very excited by the exterior and interior appearance but trust me, it's well worth stopping in and having lunch or dinner!! You won't be sorry, I promise!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love the smoked salmon dip”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The bbq was very good and enjoyable. But the thing that surprised me the most was how good the salmon dip appetizer was.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TijuanaJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Shanty Smokehouse BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Big Shanty Smokehouse BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing