We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Another good place to take visiting family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smith Gilbert Gardens

Smith Gilbert Gardens
Ranked #4 of 23 things to do in Kennesaw
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: With a variety of plantings, the Hiram Butler Home (ca. 1880) and 31 sculptures, Smith-Gilbert Gardens has something for everyone. At the center of Smith-Gilbert Gardens is the historic Hiram Butler House, dating back over 150 years. The house was once owned by Mr. Butler, a Confederate railroad man, who worked the lines most of his life and was present during the "Great Locomotive Chase." In 1970, Mr. Richard Smith and Dr. Robert Gilbert bought the Hiram Butler House and surrounding acreage in Kennesaw, Georgia. Over the following 35 years, they realized their dream of developing the house and grounds, with an emphasis on unique plantings and thoughtfully positioned sculpture. Now open to the public, Smith-Gilbert Gardens is 16 acres of serene setting with over 3,000 species of plants, several rare in American gardens. United by woodland paths, the Gardens consist of separate groupings with individual elements of fascination. These include the Bonsai Exhibit, Palladino Camellia Garden, tea house and waterfall area, Rose Garden, and Conifer Display. Our Garden is a proud member of various horticultural groups including the American Conifer, American Daffodil, American Hosta and the Southeastern Camellia societies. We are also a designated wildlife habitat by the Atlanta Audubon Society. Both our Rose Garden and the Conifer Collection have received special recognition as places to visit by their respective societies.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Another good place to take visiting family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Went here with my brothers when they came to visit me from PA. Not to mention this is very close to my house. Nice nature-y activity and lovely staff.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank VivianFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    21
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Surprises in small ways”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Smith Gilbert Gardens surprise in small ways. It is not showy in the way that the Atlanta Botanical Garden is with its HUGE planting and maintenance budget. In October some late-season roses were impressive with their vibrant colors and wonderful scents and delicate camellias were blooming. It is peaceful, but the nearby airport interrupts that peace rather frequently with small aircraft buzzing overhead. I wish one could view the bonsai without peering through a security fence. I was there in October and wished to see just a few chrysanthemums or a display of pumpkins and gourds. It's good, it's just not great.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank VZAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Makes a change from shopping malls and chain restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

The gardens make for a pleasant hour's stroll. Interesting for young or old, and makes a change from shopping or eating in chain restaurants, which seems the main pastime for the area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisinbogota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Nice Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

We live close to the gardens and attended the Rose Garden Gala which was fabulous. The speaker, Vince Dooley, was a pleasure and the auction (both silent and live) were a lot of fun! Gardens were beautiful and neat events and classes.

Helpful?
2 Thank hopefulangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

What a great little surprise! I have lived 2 miles from the gardens for 12 years and only visited for the first time last week. I expected a small, mediocre, backyard garden but I was wowed by everything this site has to offer. The staff there is friendly and helpful, identifying flowers for us and sharing the history of the gardens. Even the resident art teacher introduced herself and went out of her way to take us to a particular part of the garden and sharing an interesting back story about it. We stayed for 2.5 hours and could have stayed longer. Enjoyed it so much, I think I will purchase an annual membership. As close at it is, it would be a great place just to stroll around or picnic when the weather is nice.

FYI, there are picnic tables onsite in a beautiful wooded area, or you are welcome to bring a blanket and make your own spot. The gardens offer many classes for gardeners (not a gardener myself, but they sound interesting.) There is a plant nursery where one can purchase plants propogated on the premises. There is a large bonsai garden with probably 40+ specimens. There are several places throughout the gardens where chairs and benches have been strategically place to encourage quiet, restful enjoyment of the gardens. And last, something I'm excited about - they have beehives on the property. I was told they sell the honey that is harvested from them in the fall. Yummm..honey with the medicinal value of being local, to boot!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Womack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smith Gilbert Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing