We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Gardens of Kennesaw Mountian” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield Park

Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield Park
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Kennesaw
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Site of a crucial Civil War battle offers a modern visitor center and a number of hiking trails on its grounds.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The Gardens of Kennesaw Mountian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Located across the street from the battlefield. Great venue for a wedding.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Betterbelieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    182
    44
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
248 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Recreation Seekers Ruin for Civil War Junkies”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Being a Civil War history junkie, I was excited to check this site off of my list. I was concerned by the warnings from other Tripadvisor reviews but feel that I was still not completely prepared for the disappointment. Unfortunately we went on a Saturday. The park was completely packed and we could not find a parking space. Typically, it would be exciting to see a national battlefield so busy. However, the vast majority of visitors are runners and dog walkers. When entering the Visitors Center, the ranger explained that the park is the largest green space in the Atlanta metro area so it is a popular exercise spot. There is no respect or reverence that I would hope to see at a battlefield where individuals laid down their life.

The Visitor’s Center has a descent video and a modest museum. There is a 1.2 mile road to the top of Kennesaw Mountain that is closed during the weekends for the recreation crowd. It is a fairly easy walk and a breeze on the way down. The view from the top is really nice.

For Civil War junkies, be smarter than I was and do not go on a Saturday in the summer/fall. I think this was the most disappointing Civil War site that I have visited

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“No charge to visit this park”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

There is a great view at the top of the mountain. Cars can be driven up there or it can be a nice hike.
The ranger that was at the desk was not particularly helpful; we didn't realize there was a video about the park until later when we went back inside.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank 807wheaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hiking near Atlanta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

My husband and I started at the parking lot and hiked up to the top of Kennesaw Mountain. After going to the top of the mountain you can head back down and then up little Kennesaw Mountain. That was as far as we went before heading home, but there are so many trails here. We loved it.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank hbratulich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not Gettysburg but.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

KMNBP is not a place to experience visions of a cataclysmic civil war clash. It's a bit hard to orient oneself to how the battle developed from a series of actions by Sherman advancing on Atlanta and some advance "study" helps. Week days you can drive to the top. There is a shuttle bus on W/E. There are a number of "off the beaten path" markers (e.g. Gen'l Leonidas Polk - CSA nalied by a 3 in round at 3/4 mile). Ask at the info desk.
Because of this the park is very much a jogging/dog walking venue for the residents that crowd its boundary. However, take what you can get as virtually all battle sites in and around Atlanta are now subdivisions with nary a historical marker. Sad. In addition, I was disappointed that much of the park's open space was posted "off limits" to picnicing, touch football, frisbee even kite flying. Parking is quickly taken by joggers, hikers and dog walkers. That discourages the traveling visitor and the $$ they bring to an attraction/area. Worth a visit if you're gonna be in the area anyway.

Visited October 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank aradioman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield Park also viewed

 

Been to Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing