We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best Place in SR” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Ramon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Posada Hotel
Save
You added La Posada Hotel to your Saves list
Str. 0 / Ave. 9, San Ramon, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
CARY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Place in SR”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Place was recommended by a friend. Price-wise not a deal but was convenient and safe. Internet was 10Mb which is high in CR. The place was safe and quiet, conveniently located between the major in and out roads. I short walk gets you into town and to places to eat. Business center has three good computers to use as needed. The breakfast was ok ... for example they gave us a slice of American cheese wrapped in the plastic which is homey.

Room Tip: I was downstairs near the card tables which made it noisy late at night. A call to the front desk g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaughn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    35
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
31
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

From the moment we made our reservation, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Because San Ramon isn't a tourist city, I was worried about the condition of the hotel, but it exceeded my expectations. The room was clean and the bed was large, comfortable, and had a beautiful detailed headboard. I felt safe and didn't worry about leaving my car in their secure, locked parking lot. The free Wi-Fi was great, too. Our rate was $70/night and included a delicious breakfast - a choice between a Costa Rican or American breakfast. My only complaint was that the shower water didn't stay hot very long; however, the jacuzzi tub (not standard in every room) water did. Also, no A/C, but they keep a good fan in every room. La Posada Hotel is definitely the place to stay in San Ramon!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 33, which is one of their rooms with a jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garbesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed for one night while visiting local friends in San Ramon. Our friends were the ones who recommended this hotel and it did not disappoint. Our Room was across the street from the reception and up the stairs. The room and bathroom were spacious, but the best part was the intricate wood working in the room. Beautiful dolphin carvings on the bed posts, head board, tables, door!! There was a HUGE tv that we did not use. We did however utilize the free WiFi. We had our breakfast included- choice of American or Typical Breakfast. We choose the typical breakfast-- It was average.

The staff is friendly and the rooms while maybe need a little sprucing up are still beautiful. Overall a very good deal.

If you're looking for a place to stay in San Ramon. I would recommend this unique hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leneyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to put our heads down for the night before setting off early the next morning towards Arenal.

The rack up rate was very reasonable (~40-excl breakfast) with secure parking. The rooms were very dated however they were clean and for the price we paid very reasonable. The staff were very friendly. We arrived very late so there weren't many places to eat however the pizza takeout across the road did huge loaded pizzas which we would recommend if you're in the same situation.

Unfortunately there was a cockerel near that crowed at the crack of dawn for an hour so didn't get much sleep, different wildlife to what we thought we would awake to in CR but we did have to be up early anyway!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gigglybebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was a great hotel. Clean, quiet, comfortable, secure. The rates came out to be about $50.00 a night and included breakfast and laundry services. Computers with internet access available and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. Very accommodating staff. I stayed 7 nights for business and never had any trouble

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yukenusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

La Posada is one of the nicest places to stay San Ramon. The showers are a nice size and there are big screen TV's in each room. Each room has hardwood floors and ceilings. The breakfast is excellent and the staff is very friendly. There are rooms with and without air conditioning, so be sure to ask if you prefer air conditioning. They also have a gate that is locked each night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
157 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The staff of the hotel was very friendly and helpful. Most of the rooms are centered along a small court yard, which is secured at one side with a strong gate. The rooms have furniture that resembles Lodewijk XIV style. It is good value for what you get. It was quiet at night after 10 p.m. The rooms are a bit dark. The City centres is about 1km from the hotel and can easy be reached on foot. I was advised to leave valuables behind while walking alone the streets at night. If you feel uncomfortable taxi's are readily available. San Ramon catches much less rain, gets more sun and is significant warmer than the nearby cloud forest reserve and La Poseda is good alternative to stay, although less luxurious than the expensive Vila Blanca Cloud Forest hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Haelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
7.8 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
13.5 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 stars 539 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Colinas del Sol
Hotel Colinas del Sol
#1 of 2 in Atenas
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 700 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Amanecer B&B
Casa Amanecer B&B
#1 of 6 in San Ramon
5.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
2.4 mi away
Vista Valverde Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Property: La Posada Hotel
Address: Str. 0 / Ave. 9, San Ramon, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Canton of San Ramon > San Ramon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
La Posada Hotel Costa Rica/San Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing