We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort in the cloud forest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 24, 2010

We only stayed for one night before moving on but it was enough time to take a couple of walks in the private reserve, take a guided night tour, eat in the restaurant, make use of the spa and enjoy a fire in our cabin. If we'd stayed longer we definitly would have gone to watch a film in the lovely film theatre. The cabins are stunning and although there a quite a few of them, feel very private. All staff were friendly and the food in the restaurant was good with a wide choice including for vegetarians .

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JT112010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,116)
There are newer reviews for Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

861 - 867 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2010

My husband and I took our honeymoon in Costa Rica, which overall turned out to be an excellent choice. We stayed at Villa Blanca for the first few nights, then headed to the coast to Villa Blanca's sister resort, Si Como No.

We truly enjoyed our few days at Villa Blanca. It wasn't too far from the airport, as others have pointed out, and the journey up the mountain was just an amazing first glimpse of the unique Costa Rican landscape. Beautiful. The resort itself is impeccably landscaped, crawling with delightful wildlife (hummingbirds, butterflies, amazing moths, and other furry creatures that we couldn't even identify!), and rustic-feeling, yet comfortable. We loved our casita (it was the honeymoon suite); it had a spacious jacuzzi with a large window facing out to our private "backyard," a fireplace that actually came in handy on damp, chilly afternoons, and a little patio out back that felt quite secluded even though other casitas were nearby. It was laid out very well. It may have been post-wedding exhaustion, but we both slept AMAZINGLY well; the bed was a billowy, soft, downy heaven.

The main lodge is, again, cozy and homey. There are lots of large sofas for lounging and playing games, a small bar where, when it's not busy, you can chat with one of the friendly bartenders and watch a raucous soccer game on TV, and a spacious dining room with some tables on a patio outside. There is a short, easy hike on the grounds and a spa. We both got great massages there, but it seemed somewhat disorganized and understaffed (we wanted to get a couples massage, but there was only one person working there).

We found the staff to be just wonderful and extremely accommodating. Our Spanish barely covers the basics and we were relieved to find that nearly all of the staff speaks and understands English relatively well. We had the unfortunate experience of losing our luggage on the way, courtesy of American Airlines, and it was something of a nightmare trying to track it down and make sure it got delivered to the right place. The staff at Villa Blanca, however, was right on top of it and VERY helpful with dealing with this issue. We went on one excursion to nearby ziplines (San Luis--HIGHLY recommended! So much fun!) and our guide was fantastic. He was really a nature guide and he was extremely knowledgeable and brilliant at finding wildlife for us ( we saw toucans, sloths, and monkeys along the way). We got to enjoy some time at the hot springs near Arenal (Eco-Thermals) and it was overall a wonderful day. The guide found the perfect balance of engaging us in conversation and letting us be on our own.

Visitors should be aware of a few things. We had a great view the first afternoon we were there, but after that we were surrounded by a solid wall of clouds. It's very cool once you embrace it, but don't expect to get much sun here! Cloud Forest is an accurate name. Also, there is not much to do at the actual resort. There is a game room upstairs and a movie theater. We didn't visit the movie theater, but found the game room somewhat under-stocked and the pool table somewhat hard to play on. I wouldn't stay here more than 2 or 3 nights and I would make sure that you have excursions planned for each day. Because of our lost luggage, we couldn't do excursions for the first two days and, frankly, we were a little bored. They offer many tours, though, so booking your time shouldn't be a problem.

We found the food pretty mediocre and slightly overpriced. The more simple, authentically Costa Rican dishes were the best (including breakfast), but some of the "fancier" stuff turned out a bit bland, in our opinions.

All in all, we had a wonderful stay. Since we couldn't do excursions for the first couple of days, we got to know the staff and they knew us as the poor newlyweds whose luggage got lost. We felt like we were part of a warm and welcoming family when we were at the lodge... but nothing could beat sitting on our little patio, sipping wine, and gazing out into the lush jungle oasis that seemed to belong only to us.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennyC322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

The remote location, reached by a spectacular, single-track road along a ridge with panoramic views, (don’t plan to drive up at night) is remarkably tranquil and quite beautiful even by the standards of Costa Rica. From the peak on which the hotel sits, you have a breathtaking view north along the eastern slope of the Cordillera de Tilarán, with the Arenal volcano in the distant background.

The rooms are individual cottages, laid out almost like a small village, furnished in a tasteful, simple but extremely comfortable style. Ours had a traditional, bread-oven style fireplace – I don’t know whether they all do; the firewood was replenished and a new fire laid, each day of our stay. The bathroom, complete with Jacuzzi, had a picture window overlooking the jungle while the kids’ room, which faced towards the path connecting the various cottages, had a lovely stained glass window for privacy. Vehicles remain at the main lodge car park and the rest of the property is accessed only by foot.

I have reviewed the restaurant separately, and very positively, at http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g608739-d1772717-Reviews-Restaurante_El_Sendero-San_Ramon_Province_of_Alajuela.html

The hotel offers a spa, which my wife thought was fantastic, a gym with quite limited equipment, hot tub and sauna. The staff hadn’t really mastered the idea of the sauna, and if you plan to use it you should make sure that the heater is turn on at least a couple of hours in advance and take a couple of spare towels to stuff the two concrete-block sized holes in the walls which let the heat and steam escape.

The real attraction is what is outside – apart from fantastic views around pretty well 360 degrees, the hotel is on the edge of the Los Angeles cloud forest reserve and offers a fairly extensive guided hike through the forest. As we found elsewhere in Costa Rica, it was well worth the price of a nature guide to explain the exotic flora and fauna and to help spot things that we simply wouldn’t have seen or been able to identify if left to our own devices.

We were also taken to see the butterfly field research laboratory operated on the hotel grounds by INBio, the National Biodiversity Institute.

This is a very special place, one we would very much like to revisit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonat1x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Our family spent our first night in Costa Rica at Villa Blanca. Staff warmly welcomed us and efficiently took care of our luggage. After checking in, we headed to our rooms, which were a short walk down a pathway into casita area. This area is closed to motorized traffic, so it immediately felt peaceful. Rooms were simple with a porch in front and back, and the view from the back was a great mountain view. A highlight of the room was the wood-burning clay fireplace. Wood and materials were provided for us, and it was a treat and joy to light a fire there. Beds were mediocre, not that comfortable, but fine. The hotel also has its very own movie theater, where they show nightly movies and documentaries. The seats are very comfortable, and it is a beautiful theater.
We enjoyed both our dinner and breakfast at the hotel's restaurant. The dinner vegetarian friendly, and delicious. Many of the items were fresh from the hotel's own garden.
In the morning we were able to appreciate the beautiful grounds with nature trails, and we even saw the cows get milked, and milked them ourselves! We enjoyed our guided tour on the hotel's cloud forest trail through primary and secondary rain forest. Michaell was an excellent guide who taught us about the wildlife and vegetation, as well as tips about the area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brookfieldd1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

This hotel is top-notch located atop of a small mountain with spectacular 360 views (if it isn't cloudy). Because all vehicles must remain parked, bags are loaded & delivered in push carts by the concierge to your private cottage. The net result is that it is extremely quite and peaceful so as to enjoy the serenity of this meticulously maintained complex. Our cottage had a fireplace with wood & matches, a hot tub bath with a full glass wall facing a private view of the forest. No TV, but that's the way it should be here.

The resort offers all types of tours/guided hikes. We took the nightlife hike but only saw bugs, spiders and small frogs - if you go on this one, don't get expect to see larger wildlife (even though they will tell you that it is possible). The next morning we took the sunrise bird watching tour and because of rain, we saw very few birds and only from a distance - no photo ops. The highlight for our kids was hand-feeding the humming birds at the end of the hike. TIP: negotiate on the cancellation details - if conditions are not optimal for these hikes, it is recommended that you choose another time or cancel all together unless you simply don't mind paying for a hike because they will take you out in all weather conditions. We opted not to take the Quetzal tour (4 hours) and we were glad we didn't because, due to weather conditions, it probably would have been a wasted trip.

If you want to see amazing & beautiful moths, hang around the main office center and restaurant after dark. The moths will gather on the walls around the lights (this was more fascinating than the night wildlife tour).

Some of us went on the horseback ride that our kids enjoyed even in ponchos, rain and fog (don't expect to see wildlife). The Caballero was great. Meanwhile, one of us enjoyed the special spa package with 5-star kudos. Unfortunately we didn't get to stay long enough to try other things.

Our meals in the restaurant was very good but actually not as good as the fantastic local cuisine we had experienced in Santa Theresa and La Fontana. The breakfast buffet assortment and hot food-to-order was really nice.

The staff was superb, friendly, flexible and most accommodating to our wants and desires. Note: they recycle their own water with an impressive system using bacteria instead of chlorine. Ask to see how they do it - impressive. We filtered our own drinking water, but if you have the nerve....

Lastly, the drive getting there is an adventure in itself. Paved, but watch for the large potholes, very narrow winding road, loose livestock, people walking on the roads, on-coming traffic on your side of the road, all amplified by doing this driving is thick fog (or should I say "clouds").

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayhawk56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

I agree with all the other reviews of Villa Blanca. It is so relaxing, but it only took one day for us to hike the trail, view the church, and do the onsight ziplines. Great way to view the cloud forest if skipping Monteverde. Since it is so close to the airport, it is perfect for your first or last night, or one night between other destinations.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjo1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

My wie and I stayed at Villa Blanca our first 4 days in Costa Rica. Only 1 hour and 15 minutes from the airport, 90% of the drive was great. There are some windy roads going up to the cloud forest however. The food was amazing and service was great. I would not however recommend Villa Blanca if you are going for the Spa. The spa was very expensive and not accomodating. I would not recommend this hotel for greater than 2 or 3 nights as there is not a whole lot to do around the area. Overall, a peaceful experience!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schleichs89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
25.0 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,313 reviews
12.2 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
682 reviews
22.0 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,311 reviews
21.2 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
869 reviews
24.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Address: El Silencio de Los Angeles | Los Angeles Norte, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Canton of San Ramon > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range: $104 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over an hour's drive from San Jose International Costa Rica airport (SJO), eco-minded travelers from all over the world have reveled in the beauty of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, located within the Los Angeles Private Biological Nature Reserve & Research Station in the Canton of San Ramon. The hotel is ideally situated as a gateway to Arenal Volcano and the famous Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Here, you're immersed in one of the world's most precious and complex jungle ecosystems - the cloud forest. This boutique mountain hotel is nestled on 75-acres of gentle rolling hills, with well-appointed "casitas" and Honeymoon Suites, each with their own fireplace, and surrounded by acres of lush botanical gardens. Originally owned by former president Rodrigo Carazo Odio and First Lady, Estrella Zeledon de Carazo, Villa Blanca has become a renown and cherished Costa Rica destination. The architecture reflects the original farm village concept, with a welcoming Hacienda, offering guests exceptional Costa Rican hospitality, premier dining, a private theater, conference facilities, and pampering spa menu. Also quite unique is a replica of a 14th century Roman wedding chapel, La Mariana, with its hand painted ceramic ceiling. Choose from a variety of nature-based activities, including horseback, zip-lines, and user-friendly guided trials, plus excursions to Arenal and Poas volcanoes, hot springs, and rural-cultural tours. This is the Costa Rica where those who "travel well and travel right" want to go. Please feel free to visit our sister-site, one of the most prestigious Manuel Antonio hotels, Si Como No. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blanca Cloud Forest
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel And Nature Reserve Costa Rica/San Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing