We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely relaxing...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
jjo1977
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Completely relaxing...”
Reviewed March 22, 2010

I agree with all the other reviews of Villa Blanca. It is so relaxing, but it only took one day for us to hike the trail, view the church, and do the onsight ziplines. Great way to view the cloud forest if skipping Monteverde. Since it is so close to the airport, it is perfect for your first or last night, or one night between other destinations.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjo1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    190
    27
    7
    1
See reviews for
294
562
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

My wie and I stayed at Villa Blanca our first 4 days in Costa Rica. Only 1 hour and 15 minutes from the airport, 90% of the drive was great. There are some windy roads going up to the cloud forest however. The food was amazing and service was great. I would not however recommend Villa Blanca if you are going for the Spa. The spa was very expensive and not accomodating. I would not recommend this hotel for greater than 2 or 3 nights as there is not a whole lot to do around the area. Overall, a peaceful experience!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schleichs89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Although not for everyone because of the constant foggy mist (my husband found it a bit gloomy), my 9 year old son and I loved it. As he put it, this is a peaceful, spiritual place. My only regret is that we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyarchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

this was the highlight of our costa rica trip. The grounds were beautiful, our bungalow was wonderful, the food was amazing, the service was perfect. It's a small hotel where we were able to talk and enjoy the other guests. They have happy hour every evening that we thoroughly enjoyed. It was beyond relaxing. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byhtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Make note that the lodge is located in the middle of nowhere. Your travel to the lodge may seem a bit out of the ordinary but as you pass the cow pasture on a dirt road, your sure to be on the right track. Everything about the lodge and accommodations were sensational. From the views to the service you can not go wrong. One thing to keep in mind are the bugs that may be crawling around in your room. I'm not big on creepy crawlies therefore, I'm really happy that we were only passing through for 1 night.
The service was excellent and they were very accommodating. We arrived late one evening and woke up late, by the time we made it down for breakfast it was over, however they reopened the kitchen just for us and made us the best homemade breakfast ever! The view from the restaurant was unbelievable- clouds and rolling hills.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love-to-travel602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

I stayed at the Villa Blanca with my nine year old son for the first two nights of our Costa Rican vacation. We stayed in a comfortable, nicely furnished casita. We toured the grounds using these cool walking sticks they provide. We visited their dairy farm and my son got to milk a cow for the first time. The fresh cow's milk was delicious. They show environmentally educational documentaries every night at 5:30PM, which was a perfect thing to do before dinner. Food was good. We had a great time on the nearby canopy tour, although I have heard that the one with the tarzan bridge is even better. Hotel is very child-friendly. Lots of other families there.
Being in a cloud forest is a bit other-worldly. Very relaxing, though. We needed long pants and sweaters, so be sure to bring some warm clothes, particularly for at night. The best moment came at breakfast the morning that we left. The sky was clear blue, which I don't think happens very often or lasts very long. However, as a result, there was an amazing view of the Arenal volcano. A real treat.
It is an hour and a half drive from the San Jose International Airport to the Villa Blanca, which is not too bad. From there, it was a very scenic three hour drive to Manuel Antonio. Villa Blanca arranged our transportation and all went smoothly.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYNYGIraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

This hotel was calm, quiet and relaxing the minute we stepped foot on the property. The drive to the hotel was a unique and bumpy experience, but when we finally got there we loved it.
Villa Blanca has a luxurious cabin feel and it is a very different part of Costa Rica that everyone should see. The rooms are comfortable and cozy and our shower was huge! The staff was so welcoming and friendly, not only did we thoroughly enjoy the service, we also enjoyed their company. We sat and talked to a few members on the staff for awhile and they seemed like friends. The food and wine here was some of the best we had all week and we were so grateful that they grow a lot of their own food organically. The cloud forest is a beauty and we loved how peaceful it was on the grounds. The chapel was a neat thing to see and the forests were enjoyable to take a short hike through. We only stayed a night and my only compliant is that we should have stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sierra20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
25.0 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,222 reviews
12.2 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
658 reviews
22.0 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,820 reviews
13.7 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#8 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
240 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Property: Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Address: El Silencio de Los Angeles | Los Angeles Norte, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Canton of San Ramon > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over an hour's drive from San Jose International Costa Rica airport (SJO), eco-minded travelers from all over the world have reveled in the beauty of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, located within the Los Angeles Private Biological Nature Reserve & Research Station in the Canton of San Ramon. The hotel is ideally situated as a gateway to Arenal Volcano and the famous Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Here, you're immersed in one of the world's most precious and complex jungle ecosystems - the cloud forest. This boutique mountain hotel is nestled on 75-acres of gentle rolling hills, with well-appointed "casitas" and Honeymoon Suites, each with their own fireplace, and surrounded by acres of lush botanical gardens. Originally owned by former president Rodrigo Carazo Odio and First Lady, Estrella Zeledon de Carazo, Villa Blanca has become a renown and cherished Costa Rica destination. The architecture reflects the original farm village concept, with a welcoming Hacienda, offering guests exceptional Costa Rican hospitality, premier dining, a private theater, conference facilities, and pampering spa menu. Also quite unique is a replica of a 14th century Roman wedding chapel, La Mariana, with its hand painted ceramic ceiling. Choose from a variety of nature-based activities, including horseback, zip-lines, and user-friendly guided trials, plus excursions to Arenal and Poas volcanoes, hot springs, and rural-cultural tours. This is the Costa Rica where those who "travel well and travel right" want to go. Please feel free to visit our sister-site, one of the most prestigious Manuel Antonio hotels, Si Como No. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blanca Cloud Forest
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel And Nature Reserve Costa Rica/San Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing