We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Nearby Hotels
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barons Resort(Atenas)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Colinas del Sol(Atenas)(Great Value!)
$59
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Silencio Lodge & Spa(Bajos del Toro)
$358
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$99
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,245)
Filter reviews
1,245 results
Traveler rating
993
213
31
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
993
213
31
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscloud foreston sitecosta ricanight walkresearch stationpool tablemilk the cowsmovie theaternight touryogurtjuan carlosarenal volcanothe main roadhiking trailsself guidedhorseback ridingdairy farm
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
992 - 997 of 1,245 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2009

This is a great hotel for the start of your vacation in Costa Rica. If you are wanting to get a cultural introduction and see some of the beautiful floraand fauna in CR then this is the place. You stay in a very nice casita that is styled very Costa Rican. The whole property is based around a large Costa Rican hacienda where the restaurant, cinema, reception and other areas are.

The tours are great we go to see frogs at night, milk cows the next morning, see the organic vegetable lot and see some of the famou Costa Rican orchids.

I would highly suggest this property as the staff are super.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bexin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

We spent two nights at Villa Blanca at the start of our ten day Costa Rican vacation and we loved it. We didn't want to stay in San Jose our first night and with Villa Blanca being only an hour and a half from the airport, it was the perfect first stop. We rented a car with a GPS and had no problem finding the resort. The ride from the main road to Villa Blanca was unpaved and twisty but there were beautiful views of the surrounding countryside and we had no problem (four wheel drive is a must, however). Our private casita was beautiful and roomy, more than adequate for two adults and two children. It is the low season but we didn't expect to have the resort all to ourselves! There was only one other family there and they checked out after the first night. The weather was not great, intermittent rain most of the time, but it didn't stop us from zip-lining and taking a night tour of the cloud forest. I do feel that I need to warn people that there were bugs in our hotel room (some flying insects, earwigs, beetles) but this is due to the location of the resort (in a cloud forest) and not an indication of poor housekeeping. Our room was very clean and the entire resort is immaculate. We ate in the resort our whole stay since there isn't anywhere else to go, but we were pleased with the food and the staff was great. It was like we had our own personal chef! Villa Blanca and the Los Angeles Cloud Forest is a great alternate to the crowds at Monteverde and staying in San Jose.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lak0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

We stayed in Villa Blanca at the end of our stay in Costa Rica (so that we wouldn't have to stay in San Jose - and I highly recommend doing that). Beautiful grounds and landscaping. We saw hummingbirds and a coati. Our room was amazing, very rustic and very romantic with a fireplace, private patio, and a jacuzzi tub. For their gourmet restaurant, they grow their own food in an organic garden on the grounds, and you can watch the cow-milking in the morning (and you can even take part). You can easily stroll around the grounds, it's a very peaceful cloud forest.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EcoTouristTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

This is our second trip to CR and we stayed again at Villa Blanca. We love this place! My son (6 yrs old) thinks this is the best place ever. He got to milk the cow this year and he just knows where everything is on the property, so he feels at home. It is the one place my husband actually can relax! If you are looking for excitement do not even go here... But, if you want luxurious accomodations, great food and stunning grounds to just decompress...this is for you. Do one or two days max. This year we did our first night and a night in the middle of the trip. It was perfect. The facials at the spa are too die for as well!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZEDGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

We spent the last 3 nights of our honeymoon at Villablanca. It was such a beautiful, romantic place. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend, but not just any friend. You would have to love the outdoors and value sustainability to really appreciate the resort for what it is.

The complimentary breakfast was fabulous. Since there were very few guests staying at Villablanca when we were there, they didn't have the full buffet, but they offered to prepare anything on the menu for us and as much as we wanted. There is no where else to eat (unless you leave the property for a tour or go down to San Ramon which is about a 30 minute drive away), but the menu at Villablanca's restaurant has very many options. The food is delicious, fresh and organic, and all of their ingredients are grown right there on the property!

There were only a few other guests at the resort during the 3 nights that we were there. The staff was very friendly, but definitely gave us our space and privacy. We took advantage of the free movie theater (since we were 2 of only 4 guests staying there that night, they let us choose the movie).

Definitely take a guided hike through the property. We learned so much about the amazing environmental efforts that this hotel is making from our guide that we wouldn't have known on our own.

We also took the Zip Line/Canopy Tour that the hotel offers and it was really great! We've heard that there were faster and scarier Zip Lines in other parts of the country, but this one was perfect for what we wanted.

We arrived to Villablanca about 2 weeks after what they call the "low season" started. We wondered what the "high season" was like since you're basically in a cloud every day of the year. It is pretty much humid all of the time -- we tried washing some clothes by hand and hanging to dry, but they never dried. Everything feels damp in the Cloud Forest!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GueraBillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews