We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility in the clouds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Tranquility in the clouds”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We began our 9 day vacation in Costa Rica in the cloud forest at Villa Blanca. The setting is breathtaking and the views are amazing. We were charmed by the surroundings which include a working dairy farm, a lovely country church, and lush forests. The accommodations are decorated in a rustic fashion but with modern amenities -- clean, cozy and quiet. The high respect for nature is evident throughout the property. The staff is helpful and courteous and the food is top notch - great breakfast buffet and terrific dinner. The reservations staff was very helpful in planning our vacation, Paola in particular helped set up all of our reservations at partner hotels that were very high quality. The excursions were interesting and well planned, and the naturalist on site was extremely knowledgeable. The only downsides are the access road to the site is very hard to travel on and there is no lower end option for dinner. Though we did not have a car, we sensed that driving in and out at night to the nearest town would be very challenging. All in all, a lovely experience for our family.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Owner at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Cheryl328,
It’s nice to know your time spent with us at Villa Blanca and our partner properties of Greentique Hotels were all of high quality. Part of the reason perhaps so many clients find our atmosphere so private and tranquil is our proximity to civilization. We are working on more options for our menus and thank you for your recommendations. Those last 9km are truly county roads, but we are always working to maintain them and appreciate you found your exceptional stay well worth the drive getting here.
Sincerely,

Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    192
    27
    7
    1
See reviews for
296
567
19
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This remote boutique hotel is a gem! Our group had been on a bus for four hours and were greeted with warm towels and frozen fruit smoothies upon our arrival. When we left they made sure we had breakfast at 4:00 in the morning! I have never been so impressed with customer service as I was here at Villa Blanca. Absolutely the best hotel I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HB122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear HB122,
We strive to always deliver what we believe is exceptional Costa Rican hospitality. It’s always a pleasure to read such a positive review of our customer service. As always, it’s our pleasure to have taken care of you at Villa Blanca, and hope you will return again and include more of the experiences we can offer as part of Greentique hotels.
Saludos,
Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Villa Blanca is in the cloud forest and sits high on a hill. Each room is a separate casita with a fire place and porch and deck seating. The massage at the spa was terrific. The menu in the restaurant was varied and very nicely presented. The staff was service oriented in all areas.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jalyall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Jalyall,
Thank you for your great review of Villa Blanca. We feel that the magic of nature that surrounds us brings out the good nature of our hotel staff that are mostly from the local barrios of San Ramon.
Gracias,
Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Excellent service, beautiful place!!! The best: there's no tv at honeymoon rooms!
I have a wonderful experience at the SPA.
I loved the tour into the cloud forest at night.

I must say that the cocktails could be better, and food's price is a little expensive for local tourism.

In general was an amazing experience, it was a magic trip!
You must to visit it and enjoy it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoVpR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear MarcoVpR,
We appreciate your review of the many attractions and amenities you enjoyed at Villa Blanca. Was surprised the cocktails were not up to snuff and will be sure to look into who was bartending during your stay. Our menu, which features both organic as well as farm to table ingredients, we believe adds to the gourmet quality and value of El Sendero Restaurante.

Regards,
Joxan Obando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Many visitors to Costa Rica drive hours to the Cloud Forests in the north but Villa Blanca is a great alternate stop, an hour or so from San Jose, and perfect for a night if you are transferring from Jaco or Manuel Antonio in the south to Arenal. The grounds are perfectly kept gardens, but the surrounding cloud forest shows the natural predecessors. Talk to the research staff and do the night forest tour. Fantastic!
Of course, the individual bungalows are comfortable and private with elegant rustic decor. Very quiet retreat atmosphere - a change of pace from the busier sites.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear sambea,

Appreciate you found our surrounding Cloud Forest Reserve and hotel so convenient along with the property tours so “fantastic”, thanks in part to our dedicated Nature Interpreters. We feel fortunate to be located relatively close to the San Jose International Airport, yet just 60 km from La Fortuna’s hot springs and Arenal volcano. We are glad you could take advantage of the tranquil pace and seclusion we have to offer and trust you will return again to spend more time with us by including our sister properties in the Osa Peninsula at Aguila de Osa Inn as well as Si Como No Resort near Manuel Antonio national Park.

Sincerely,

Joxan Obando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was our first stop of our tour and arrived at eleven at night along a long misty bumpy road. Shown to our villa and were woken to bird songs in the morning. We looked out to see a beautiful property . Great cabins with log fire which we lit every night. Lovely forest trails from cabin and a seat where you could watch the humming birds. The staff are lovely and friendly. The only downside only One restaurant which is expensive and nowhere just to have a snack. We went into San Ramon which was very interesting.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neighboursKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear neighboursKent,

We thank you for taking the time to share your review. Waking up to discover the 45 acres of gardens and natural cloud forest habitat is definitely a welcomed experience most clients find to be an exceptional highlight of their stay in Costa Rica within Los Angeles Norte de San Ramon. We regret you were not able to have more snack choices available besides our mini bar menu, and trust you found the quality of our chefs menu to your liking. We’re soon adding even more options to the menu and appreciate your feedback.

Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The setting in the mountains was beautiful; the grounds lovely; staff extremely helpful. We loved our casita # 22 and the view from it. We enjoyed the fireplace in our room and built a fire on our last night there. We also stayed there on our last two days of a ten day trip and agree with other reviewers that it was a nice, relaxing ending to our Costa Rican visit. My husband had a massage in the spa and said it was excellent. The thing my husband and I most appreciated was the sustainability factor and Eco friendliness of Villa Blanca. All the produce grown on the grounds or is bought from local farmers. Also, the meals were fabulous. We took a morning forest hike with Ingrid and she was very knowledgeable especially about the flora. Loved those hummingbird feeders! And the research facility really important. It was a great time.

Room Tip: We loved our casita (no. 22). We didn't see inside the other casitas so I can't advise ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peyton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Peyton B,
Once again it is so rewarding to read the supportive reviews giving back to us the appreciation of the many efforts we try to deliver with each exceptional experience that we believe best reflects the hospitality of Costa Ricans.

Gracias,

Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
25.0 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,245 reviews
12.2 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
665 reviews
22.0 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,845 reviews
13.7 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#7 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
241 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Property: Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Address: El Silencio de Los Angeles | Los Angeles Norte, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Canton of San Ramon > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over an hour's drive from San Jose International Costa Rica airport (SJO), eco-minded travelers from all over the world have reveled in the beauty of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, located within the Los Angeles Private Biological Nature Reserve & Research Station in the Canton of San Ramon. The hotel is ideally situated as a gateway to Arenal Volcano and the famous Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Here, you're immersed in one of the world's most precious and complex jungle ecosystems - the cloud forest. This boutique mountain hotel is nestled on 75-acres of gentle rolling hills, with well-appointed "casitas" and Honeymoon Suites, each with their own fireplace, and surrounded by acres of lush botanical gardens. Originally owned by former president Rodrigo Carazo Odio and First Lady, Estrella Zeledon de Carazo, Villa Blanca has become a renown and cherished Costa Rica destination. The architecture reflects the original farm village concept, with a welcoming Hacienda, offering guests exceptional Costa Rican hospitality, premier dining, a private theater, conference facilities, and pampering spa menu. Also quite unique is a replica of a 14th century Roman wedding chapel, La Mariana, with its hand painted ceramic ceiling. Choose from a variety of nature-based activities, including horseback, zip-lines, and user-friendly guided trials, plus excursions to Arenal and Poas volcanoes, hot springs, and rural-cultural tours. This is the Costa Rica where those who "travel well and travel right" want to go. Please feel free to visit our sister-site, one of the most prestigious Manuel Antonio hotels, Si Como No. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blanca Cloud Forest
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel And Nature Reserve Costa Rica/San Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing