We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up in the Clouds Away from it All!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Ramon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This was a beautiful resort that should not be missed. So peaceful, so "fresh", so serene, so "far away from it all".

The grounds are beautiful with gorgeous views out for miles, even if the resort is blanket"ed" above clouds.

The food was fantastic and breakfast lovely. The private casitas were spacious with nice, large living and bathroom spaces.

It's a "hike" getting to the hotel, but I highly recommend. You will be "taken away" to a place that will give you nothing but calm.

This is a wonderful resort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavisEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear DavisEM,

We appreciate you took the time to highlight all the “peaceful and fresh” attractions we have to offer, especially the special tranquility that’s so natural in the cloud forest setting of Villa Blanca that encourages our guest to truly kick back and relax and enjoy our unique boutique brand of Costa Rican hospitality.

Saludos,
Joxan Obando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

It's a wonderful place to escape the chaos. Calming, secluded and peaceful it offers the ability to reconnect with yourself, nature and/or your loved ones. Most of their food is organically produced on their property and greenhouses. The dairy comes from their local cow, which is milked every morning with the option to assist if you like. The adobe brick cottages with working fireplaces and two wooden rocking chairs offer a cozy private taste of the past. It can get chilly at night so the fireplace is quite useful. There are no tv's or wifi in the cottages (at least the standard cottages) as not to allow yourself to be "distracted," but the beds are extremely soft and comfortable. The cottages are clean, but don't freak out over the occational insect or spider around. (You are in the rainforrest) . They do have a rec-room with tv's and a comfortable theatre where they screen films nightly. The staff are knowledable, extremely nice, and accommodating. It feels like you are on top of the country with spectacular views, even of the distant Arenal Volcano. The nature reserve is interesting filled with a butterfly and insect collection along with a small team of members documenting research and conducting nature hikes (which are $26 per person.) Don't be startled by the number of native roccoon families roaming around, especially near the nature building. They are not aggressive (at least from our experience.) You can take an unguided hike through one of their trails filled with humming birds zipping arround quite close to you almost startling you. Unfortunately, Most of the wildlife to be seen is along their other trail, which you must have a guide. They do have a spa and jacuzzi, but no pool (only one of the few drawbacks.) Breakfast is free and they will make whatever you like. The restaurant can be quite pricey for lunch & dinner with $15-30 plates. The food is very delicious as well as the cocktails, but it would be nice to have some more modestly priced options. In regards to that, you can find tasty full plates of local food at "SODAS" for around $5-10 per person. Unfortunately, a drawback because of its remote location you will need a car to leave at your will with the exception of daily van tours to the nearest town of San Ramon. Fortunately for my wife and I, we had a rental car, but would have to make the 9km drive through the bumpy back road about 25 minutes to the main road inorder to find a few nearby "sodas" . A few of the most helpful staff members were Christian at the front desk, Juan Carlos and Enrique in the restaurant, and Roy and Brian? in the nature reserve! In reflection the few drawbacks are no pool, rough unpaved road to location, and (understandingly) high priced menu with little other price options. All in all, it is a lovely place to stay depending on what you're looking for. Most likely not the spot for partiers, but great to get away and recharge!

Room Tip: Bring a flashlight and poncho.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Michael C,
So pleased you were able to recharge your batteries and review so many of the qualities we have to offer at Villa Blanca. Obviously our chef and organic food items can’t compete with the local Soda pricing, but we feel the quality, service and atmosphere we provide in a secluded cloud forest venue is delivers the value that delivers the exceptional dining experiences our customers value. We do have an insert menu with some popular dishes that we also feature that perhaps you missed on the menu. We appreciate all the special aspects we provide our guests, from guided tours of the nightlife of the Cloud Forests to the comfortable casitas with their wood burning fireplaces. Most of all thank you for acknowledging the gracious hospitality of our dedicated staff and ongoing research by our Nature Guides.

Regards,

Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The Villa Blanca reminds one of a retreat. The road into the property is rough, but gives one a glimpse of the agricultural life of the area with cattle, horses, rolling green pastures and a few homes. The hotel is actually about 35 individual casitas which are marvelous! They are spacious, well appointed, with fireplaces, porches with rocking chairs, Jacuzzis etc. (no tvs and you don't need them). The lodge area with the restaurant is beautiful and reflects great craftsmanship. Breakfast is included in your rate and it is a full featured menu. The restaurant and bar provide exceptional service and fare. Dinner offerings should appeal to everyone...with the freshest of ingredients, many grown right on the property. Walking is the main "activity"....on trails through the forested areas. Be prepared for cooler and damper conditions than you would find just a few miles down the road in San Ramon.

Room Tip: If you want a Jacuzzi go for the deluxe casita. Superior rooms have just the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janea26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

What an amazing place! A luxurious experience begins at check-in with a freshly prepared welcome cocktail, hot aromatic towel and knowledgeable and friendly staff who cart (literally) your bags to the room. The rooms are actually individual cottages complete with a large bathroom/walk-in shower, fireplace with 2 rocking chairs, small desk, mini-refrigerator, and back patio also with chairs. The only thing missing is a TV which is perfect---you can wake to the chirping birds in the morning and fall asleep to the sound of cows mooing in the pastures. The food is exceptional --lots of fresh ingredients, great service and a comfortable but elegant dining room. There is only one restaurant on property though where all meals are served. Service outstanding throughout including the spa (the hot stone massage is heavenly!). Adorable chapel on the grounds as well as an opportunity to milk a cow and explore the grounds via several awesome self guided nature trails through the rainforest. When we visited in December, there was quite a bit of fog (you are literally at a high enough elevation to be in the clouds)and it was damp---a lightweight jacket or long sleeve clothing is perfect for the evenings. If you need a few days to relax, unwind and enjoy nature this is the perfect choice!

Room Tip: We chose the basic size room and there was plenty of space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Owner at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Kim W,

If I read this as a TA reader, I would think you were a relative of perhaps the owner or manager. However since I am one and the same, I wish I could have met you personally and thanked you for capturing what we’re all about. So I hope this response conveys our appreciation of how you have best captured our hospitality and company mission statement. Delivering our boutique brand of consistent and exceptional Costa Rica experiences to all our guests are our #1 objective. We believe that is why we were again selected within Trip Advisor's top ten hotels in all of Costa Rica by reviewers like you. As members of Greentique Hotels, we are proud of the fact that the memories we help create, either in our cloud forest county style sanctuary of Villa Blanca in San Ramon, or the tropical rainforest coastline of Manuel Antonio at Si Como No, or on the Osa Peninsula at Aguila de Osa Inn, our management and staff believe that our brands of sustainable and friendly hospitality make all the difference in choosing where to stay.

Gracias,

Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel. It was our first time in Costa Rica and an ideal introduction to the country, particularly coming from rainy old Britain! One of us enjoyed milking the cows, we both raved over the humming birds, we liked the log fire in our room and the food was to die for. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Owner at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear John L,

It's such a pleasure to meet a well informed couple who have traveled the world and given us such high marks. Your appreciation of all our efforts to hosts you with our commitment to providing genuine Costa Rican hospitality, here in San Ramon's Cloud Forest Nature Reserve, again reassures us all, both management and staff, that we are making the difference by delivering lasting memories by offering the quality, service, and sustainability hospitality of Greentique Hotels.. Hope you'll come again in the future and add our sister boutique hotels in Manuel Antonio and the Osa Peninsula.

Gracias,

Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Great place with a fireplace that creates unforgettable smell and feel, locally grown delicious food, fresh cow milk, attentive staff. It's perfect to relax and experience different lush part of Costa Rica, but beware of weather! It may be cold, rainy, and always humid even in a dry season. We were not prepared for constant rain. We did not have enough and correct clothes. It would be better if some excursions around the property were included, i.e. Night Walk. The cow milking experience is fun!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leona0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Leona0
Appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and glad you found your stay an ideal place to relax and experience an authentic cloud forest habitat. Normally, because we are only at 1200 meters, the temperature is very comfortable and the rains are not so frequent. Having said that climate change also effects what’s the norm even for us near the equator. The very popular guided tour you took provides the proceeds for the research center that we operate with the University of Costa Rica and the salaries of our licensed Nature Interpreters who we feel share the “magic” of the Cloud Forest and the pride of our canton of San Ramon where they grew up.
Best regards,
Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Unlike any other place we stayed in Costa Rica and we've been coming for 12 years! We were happy to stay a night. Drove up on an unusual sunny day and enjoyed beautiful mountain scenery! The staff was attentive and the rooms well kept. We loved the fireplace and made a fire in the superior room! Would go back!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank CtUSAMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear CtUSAMom
We truly look forward to your return and appreciate you review. Perhaps next trip you will consider including our sister hoitels in the Osa Pininsula, at Aguila de Osa Inn, as well as our beach resort in Manuel Antonio at Si Como No Spa and Wildlife Refuge.
Regards,
Jim Damalas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
16.6 mi away
The Retreat Costa Rica
12.2 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
700 reviews
25 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#5 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,342 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hostel Mangifera
Hostel Mangifera
#5 of 9 in Grecia
58 reviews
17 mi away
Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Address: El Silencio de Los Angeles | Los Angeles Norte, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Canton of San Ramon > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range: $109 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over an hour's drive from San Jose International Costa Rica airport (SJO), eco-minded travelers from all over the world have reveled in the beauty of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, located within the Los Angeles Private Biological Nature Reserve & Research Station in the Canton of San Ramon. The hotel is ideally situated as a gateway to Arenal Volcano and the famous Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Here, you're immersed in one of the world's most precious and complex jungle ecosystems - the cloud forest. This boutique mountain hotel is nestled on 75-acres of gentle rolling hills, with well-appointed "casitas" and Honeymoon Suites, each with their own fireplace, and surrounded by acres of lush botanical gardens. Originally owned by former president Rodrigo Carazo Odio and First Lady, Estrella Zeledon de Carazo, Villa Blanca has become a renown and cherished Costa Rica destination. The architecture reflects the original farm village concept, with a welcoming Hacienda, offering guests exceptional Costa Rican hospitality, premier dining, a private theater, conference facilities, and pampering spa menu. Also quite unique is a replica of a 14th century Roman wedding chapel, La Mariana, with its hand painted ceramic ceiling. Choose from a variety of nature-based activities, including horseback, zip-lines, and user-friendly guided trials, plus excursions to Arenal and Poas volcanoes, hot springs, and rural-cultural tours. This is the Costa Rica where those who "travel well and travel right" want to go. Please feel free to visit our sister-site, one of the most prestigious Manuel Antonio hotels, Si Como No. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blanca Cloud Forest
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel And Nature Reserve Costa Rica/San Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing