We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect start and Introduction to Costa Rica”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect start and Introduction to Costa Rica”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Beautiful hotel, in the heart of the Cloud Forest. Charming cottages complete with fireplaces. Fabulous cuisine with locally grown food, and exceptional service. Be sure not to miss the Spa, especially massage therapy...excellent. Peaceful beautiful location with stunning views of the Mountains, Arenal Volcano and lush green valley and Rain Forest. Many activities to choose from, but we enjoyed just walking the trails through the cloud forest early in the morning, listening to the birdsong of the almost extinct jilgaro...haunting and so beautiful..we will return and recommend to anyone. This is a five-star experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tegwyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear guest,

We are pleased that you have chosen Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Nature Reserve as an excellent way to start your journey in our lovely country, Costa Rica. Thank you for such a nice comment ¨This is a five-star experience¨, it is always a pleasure for us to read such a beautiful words from our guests, beacuse it means that we have met our goal by giving our guests a very pleasant stay .

Regads,

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    192
    27
    7
    1
See reviews for
298
569
19
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Villa Blanca. The grounds were beautiful. We enjoyed a self guided hike upon arrival and took the guided night hike that night. Also did a bird tour in the La Paz cloud forest and saw a Quetzal and a HUGE tarantula.
The rooms were nice, although I was hoping for 2 beds, but my friend and I had to share as our room only had one. I would stay here again and recommend it to others, but I do feel that it's tailored more towards couples.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikirt07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hola from Costa Rica!

Thank you taking the time to share this beautiful review of your last stay at Villa Blanca Hotel.It is a pleasure for us to hear that you really enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and that you had the opportunity to take some of the tours that we offer here at Hotel.

We hope you come back soon!

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our stay at Villa Blanca was truly magical from the misty mornings to the Coati Mundi's who tried to eat lunch witih us on the patio: everything was wonderful. We discovered in a walk the lovely forest, the luscious vegetable garden and the unexpected chapel. The ceiling of the chapel is lined with hand painted ceramic tiles of angels of all sorts. I photographed them and when I returned home, I transfered the photos to fabric and made a quilt for my new granddaughter. It is a beautiful reminder of a lovely stay and unforgettable angels.
The food was also delicious, gourmet and sophicated. It would be worth going there just to eat! The staff was very helpful and courteous and we hope to return one of these days!

Room Tip: We had a lovely cabin with a wood burning fireplace and wood to burn. Lovely tiles and wood made it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailorkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear guest!

Thank you so much for sharing your experience of such a wonderful Costa Rica vacation with us. It was a true delight to have you around and also we hope you can share a photograph with us of the quilt you made to your granddaughter with the photos you took from the hand painted ceramic tiles of the ceiling inside the chapel .
We really hope you return one of these days!

Warmest Regards,

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of our Costa Rican vacation and loved it! It is very remote and a great place to unwind and forget all your worries! They grow and raise all the food they serve in their restaurant! The food is just amazing!!! We did the nocturnal hike with Rodrigo and he was great! He saw things in the dark that I never would have! His knowledge of the flora and fauna was very impressive! He took pictures and sent us a link to few them! Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel and the tour!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hello from the Cloud Forest.

On behalf of Rodrigo and the entire team of Villa Blanca, we want to thank you for sharing your experience with the readers of tripadvisor website.
We are glad to hear that you had a good start of your Costa Rica vacation and loved it. Also we´re pleased that you had the pleasure of enjoying our food at El Sendero Restaurant as well as one of the most popular tours in our biological reserve, the Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Night Tour.

Best Regards,

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We spent the last 3 days of our Costa Rican holiday at Villa Blanca. After the heat and hustle bustle of the coastal destinations, it was blissful to arrive in such a peaceful and beautiful location. Our casita was clean and comfortable, and having our own little fireplace was a treat. The scenery is truly breathtaking, the trails wonderful, and the staff excellent. We went horseback riding, and had such a great time that we went again the next day. Our daughter had a blast milking the cow. The food was very good, loaded with fresh vegetables and herbs, many of which I understand are grown on the premises. A special thank you to Ronald for taking such good care of us in the dining room - he spoiled us by producing delicious hot chocolate for my daughter each morning at breakfast.

Room Tip: The deluxe casita's come with a jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FinnGoPlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hello from Costa Rica!

Our sincere thanks for sharing your experiences with all the readers of this website. We feel very proud to hear that you all enjoyed all the different activities we have here in the hotel, especially that your daughter had the opportunity to ride horses and to assist to the Dairy Farm and milking cows.
It is an honor for us to have Ronald as part of our team , he is a living example of hospitality and excellent service we have here in Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Nature & Reserve. I will make sure to share this beautiful comment with him.

We hope you return in the very near future!

Warmest regards!

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had a 4 day stay with walks through the cloud forest, a trip to Arenal volcano, a trip to the coffee plantation and great food. Our luxury casita was clean, comfortable and had great view of the wedding chapel and a fire place to keep us warm at night. We went in late January so nights were a little cool but the days were t-shirt comfortable. As a nature photographer this was a spectacular experience with knowledgable and helpful guides. Don't miss the Biological Reserve Research Station. The trails through the cloud forest are beautiful, easy to walk and full of photographic subject matter. I hope to come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottmcintire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Greetings from the Clouds!

We would like to thank you for leaving your comment on this website. Also, for sharing your photos with Tripadvisor`s community . We're really pleased you choose Villa Blanca as part of your trip to our beautiful country and enjoyed the atmosphere of our Cloud Forest Reserve, the wedding chapel , the Biological Reserve Research Station and our comfortable casitas. We hope you'll come back again soon to enjoy more of our hospitality of Greentique Hotels and perhaps include the National Park of Corcovado at our sister hotel, Aguila de Osa Inn and Si Como No Hotel , Manuel Antonio Quepos.

Sincerely,

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My five days at Villa Blanca were filled with gorgeous birds, amazing walks through the cloud forest, and delicious fresh food. Our casita was very clean and comfortable. I wish I could take the shower home with me, with its full view of the the forest. Every member of the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. As a birder, I was thrilled with the amazing diversity of birds and wildlife on the property. Every time I walked the nature trails I saw so many new beautiful and unusual species. There are two hummingbird stations where you can sit and marvel at the variety of hummers in the area. The research station is a good resource for learning more about the natural history of Costa Rica, and the two guides, Roy and Warner, are knowledgeable and fun. I would come back to stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hola Jessica,

Our warmest greetings from Villa Blanca!

We would like to thank you for visiting TripAdvisor website and write your opinion about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel & Nature Reserve. We are delighted to know that you had the opportunity to enjoy the scenic views surrounding our property as well as our comfortable facilities and Casitas.

Thank you very much to value the kindness, their knowledgeable and attention of our staff, I will make sure to share this with my team, they will be grateful for your comments.

We hope to see you again!

Pura Vida,

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
25.0 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,272 reviews
12.2 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
672 reviews
22.0 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,288 reviews
13.7 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#9 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
244 reviews
21.2 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 26 in Alajuela
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Property: Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Address: El Silencio de Los Angeles | Los Angeles Norte, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Canton of San Ramon > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over an hour's drive from San Jose International Costa Rica airport (SJO), eco-minded travelers from all over the world have reveled in the beauty of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, located within the Los Angeles Private Biological Nature Reserve & Research Station in the Canton of San Ramon. The hotel is ideally situated as a gateway to Arenal Volcano and the famous Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Here, you're immersed in one of the world's most precious and complex jungle ecosystems - the cloud forest. This boutique mountain hotel is nestled on 75-acres of gentle rolling hills, with well-appointed "casitas" and Honeymoon Suites, each with their own fireplace, and surrounded by acres of lush botanical gardens. Originally owned by former president Rodrigo Carazo Odio and First Lady, Estrella Zeledon de Carazo, Villa Blanca has become a renown and cherished Costa Rica destination. The architecture reflects the original farm village concept, with a welcoming Hacienda, offering guests exceptional Costa Rican hospitality, premier dining, a private theater, conference facilities, and pampering spa menu. Also quite unique is a replica of a 14th century Roman wedding chapel, La Mariana, with its hand painted ceramic ceiling. Choose from a variety of nature-based activities, including horseback, zip-lines, and user-friendly guided trials, plus excursions to Arenal and Poas volcanoes, hot springs, and rural-cultural tours. This is the Costa Rica where those who "travel well and travel right" want to go. Please feel free to visit our sister-site, one of the most prestigious Manuel Antonio hotels, Si Como No. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blanca Cloud Forest
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel And Nature Reserve Costa Rica/San Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing