We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing start to our vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 4, 2013

What we were expecting and what we experienced went way beyond our expectations. If we could wrap up the very best of lush Hawaiian countryside, the breathtaking beauty of Fiji and the tropical breezes and warmth of Mexico, the grounds and beauty of Villa Blanca captured it all. We've never met locals who were so proud of their country, so willing to share their culture and hospitality. As far as amenities go, the casitas are beautiful. Opening our back door to see the charming catholic church nestled on the hillside was stunning. The food was delicious and it was very easy to get there by car and to area attractions, including zip lining. The town of San Ramon which is nearby was a great way to experience the local flavor. From there, we drove to Si Como No (Manuel Antonio area), also under the same ownership. Again, a "ditto" experience. The excursion to the village of Santa Juana from there was an incredible way to see how Costa Ricans who are living in small villages live and farmed in the traditional methods of the past. It was apparent to us the investment made by the owner to create eco-friendly hotels and of his on-going dedication help preserve the Costa Rican environment.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodman90274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Goodman,

When a client's experiences go "way beyond our expectations," we feel they have appreciated what we continue to strive to deliver, "exceptional Costa Rica experiences". Thank you for your acknowledgement of both Villa Blanca and Si Como No's philosophy, where we try to blend the Magic of Nature with the good natured staff that you found happy to share the pride of their country. We think the value of sustainable hospitality extends beyond hotel amenities to the beautiful natural habitats that are all part of the attractions here in Costa Rica. We're also pleased you choose to take advantage of our rural tour to the village of Santa Juana near Quepos and enjoyed the atmosphere of our cloud forest reserve and the Mariana chapel up in San Ramon. We hope you'll come back again soon to enjoy more of our hospitality of Greentique Hotels and perhaps include the National Park of Corcovado at our sister hotel, Aguila de Osa Inn.

Sincerely,

Jim Damalas
General Manager
Greentique Hotels of Costa Rica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,116)
There are newer reviews for Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

723 - 729 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

We arrived in the evening and saw firsthand why the forest is aptly named. The Los Angeles Cloud forest is stunning. A walk through the forests reveals an amazing array of epiphytes- orchids, bromeliads, ferns - that were fascinating. The hummingbirds and other wildlife are special treats to observe in this slice of biodiversity heaven. The Hotel is secluded and peaceful. Each casita is charming and very comfortable with fireplaces and patio where you can sit and enjoy the forest over a cup of coffee. Wether self-guided or with a naturalist, Villa Blanca is a delight that I wish we would have had more time

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust2travlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Greeting from Villa Blanca.

We appreciate that you have taken the time to describe all the wonders of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel Nature Reserve. From all the stuff of Villa Blanca, our sincere gratitude for your beautiful words. It's a real pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome our guest with care and dedication as it is our goal to give them an unforgettable experience of the Cloud Forest in Costa Rica.

We hope next time you´ll stay with us longer and have the chance to visit our two other hotels , "Si Como No" in Manuel Antonio, Quepos and "Aguila de Osa Inn", near to Corcovado National Park.

We look foward to see you soon,

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had a superior casita which was a detached cottage overlooking the forest at the edge of the property. Room was good size with a fireplace and desk. Path from room to reception was steep which might be an issue for some. property has great hikes on the premises and both day and evening guided walks in the forest around the property. Hotel is at the end of about 20 miles of rough road fromthe highway. Restaurant is good with a wide selction fo food and beverages.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 643retiredguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Greeting fom the Cloud Forest,

We are very proud that you have chosen Villa Blanca Hotel as part of your journey to Costa Rica. We are also pleased to know that you could enjoy the wonders and beautiful scenery we have here in our Nature Reserve.

On behalf of the entire team of Villa Blanca we thank you for sharing your comments on the website of Triadvisor and also for being our guest. We hope to see you soon!

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had only one night at this property, and unfortunately with our flight and transfer schedule, we didn't get to explore any of the trails or amenities at the hotel. It was also a very foggy and rainy evening.
But, the reception to the hotel was lovely - greeted with damp cloths, cool drinks and very welcoming and warm staff. The bartender was excellent - I would recommend the Guarro Sour.
Given the location, your meal choices were restricted to the hotel only. However, the food was pretty good, and the prices in line with other hotel restaurants.
The rooms were very cozy, and we enjoyed sitting by the wood fireplace in our rocking chairs sipping a glass of wine. So relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandEmily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

We appreciate you took the time to write this review about your stay at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Nature Reserve in this website. We are sorry you didn't get a chance to explore any of the trails and many others amenities we have here at the cloud forest, but now you have the perfect reason to visit us again next time you book your vacations to Costa Rica and enjoy all the wonders of Villa Blanca and our two other hotels , Si Como No - Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio and Aguila de Osa Inn near Corcovado National Park.

We are looking forward to see you again!

Best Regards,

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A good introduction, in a most civilised setting, to the delights of the Cloud Forest. From pleasant rural lodges overlooking well maintained grounds paths lead into the verdant rainforest with its astonishing and spectacular variety of fauna and flora. We enjoyed both the self-guided and organised tours before returning to the excellent restaurent and other in-house facilities!
Beware however that you do not miss the essential turning off route 703 north of St Ramon! Look out for the right turn sign for the hotel 'Villa Banca' turn immediately, then have faith for the next 20 minutes on a rugged country track leading through a hilly beautiful landscape to your goal.
It is worth the journey.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrishrsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Hola Chrishrsmith !!!!!

We are pleased that you have chosen Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Nature Reserve as an excellent way to start your holidays in Costa Rica .On behalf of the entire family , we want to thank you for visiting us and be part of our Hotel. We are delighted that you have enjoyed the wonders of the Cloud Forest and our beautiful landscaping.

Thanks for your feedback by letting our guests know the right way to get to our Hotel! We hope you have a chance to come back to our home in the very near future.

Warmest regards.

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is damp Cloudforest and not easy to run a hotel where the sun does not often shine. Our charming room was a little damp but having a log fire in the corner of the bedroom generated a warmth both physically and atmospheric. Normally I begrudge the prices charged for mini-bars but here it was well stocked and reasonably priced.

The Surrounding cloud forest reserve provided interesting trails and sufficient activity to amuse for at least two days.
The staff were efficient, friendly and charming. Food was very good and breakfast exceptionally so with a wide variety and delicious home made breads.

Good free wi-fi is available in the main building where one could sit comfortably in big leather chairs/sofas in front of the fire, with free coffee and cake/ biscuits on hand while catching up with emails. When the cloud lifts,as it does occasionally the views are great
This hotel has a good feel, good staff, and good quality food. I would recommend it to my friends..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hudibras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank for been part of our Greentique Hotels Family and recommend our hospitality to all your friends and readers of the Trip Advisor website.

Our goal is always to provide our guests an unforgettable experience enjoying the Casitas with beautiful fireplace, our 5 friendy trails, many choices of tours,a restaurant with a menu filled with a variety of dishes from which you can choose , our lovely and cozy main building and a whole more of amenities we have to offer here at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel Nature Reserve....all this to make our guests feel at home.

So from all your friends at Villa Blanca, thank you for being our guest. We hope to see you again.

Warmest regards,

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

this was well worth the fear of falling off the cliff or running out of taxi money because it took longer to get to from San Ramon than we thought. worth every penny . Restaurant alike pricey but amazingly delicious and vegeterian friendly! Staff were amazing. the rooms were secluded with a fireplace

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dassy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with all the readers of the Trip Advisor
website. We are pleased that for you was worth the whole trip to Villa Blanca!!!!!

It is a pleasure for us that you have been part of the family of Greentique Hotels!

Hope to see you again!

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
25.0 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,317 reviews
12.2 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
683 reviews
22.0 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,311 reviews
21.2 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
870 reviews
13.7 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#14 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Address: El Silencio de Los Angeles | Los Angeles Norte, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Canton of San Ramon > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range: $104 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over an hour's drive from San Jose International Costa Rica airport (SJO), eco-minded travelers from all over the world have reveled in the beauty of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, located within the Los Angeles Private Biological Nature Reserve & Research Station in the Canton of San Ramon. The hotel is ideally situated as a gateway to Arenal Volcano and the famous Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Here, you're immersed in one of the world's most precious and complex jungle ecosystems - the cloud forest. This boutique mountain hotel is nestled on 75-acres of gentle rolling hills, with well-appointed "casitas" and Honeymoon Suites, each with their own fireplace, and surrounded by acres of lush botanical gardens. Originally owned by former president Rodrigo Carazo Odio and First Lady, Estrella Zeledon de Carazo, Villa Blanca has become a renown and cherished Costa Rica destination. The architecture reflects the original farm village concept, with a welcoming Hacienda, offering guests exceptional Costa Rican hospitality, premier dining, a private theater, conference facilities, and pampering spa menu. Also quite unique is a replica of a 14th century Roman wedding chapel, La Mariana, with its hand painted ceramic ceiling. Choose from a variety of nature-based activities, including horseback, zip-lines, and user-friendly guided trials, plus excursions to Arenal and Poas volcanoes, hot springs, and rural-cultural tours. This is the Costa Rica where those who "travel well and travel right" want to go. Please feel free to visit our sister-site, one of the most prestigious Manuel Antonio hotels, Si Como No. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blanca Cloud Forest
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel And Nature Reserve Costa Rica/San Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing