We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff, gorgeous grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We loved our casita, had coatis come visit, did a great night tour, and enjoyed walking the extensive grounds. Don't miss happy hour, the best guaro sour in CR! It is a bit remote. The food and 5 leaf rating are fantastic. We had homemade quesa and yogurt, and got to milk the cow!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Jeanine,

We are very pleased you enjoyed the night walk in our friendly trails with our own nature interpreters who unveil a secret world of rich tropical life when the sun goes down and the cloud forest habitat transforms like no other in the world.

The happy hour is one of the services we provide to our guests, we have a variety of drinks and cocktails, but the most popular is Costarican Guaro sour ... Glad you didn´t miss it!!....as well as another amenities that you can enjoy is the Dairy Farm where you can join our staff and have the chance to milk the cows! So much fun!!!

From all your friends at Villa Blanca, thank you for being our guest. We hope to see you again!

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,116)
There are newer reviews for Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

730 - 736 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

Hotel was very good, very quite, plenty of walks.It is remote Do not go there if you are expecting 4 star with swimming pool,TV and other entertainment. It was as our agent advised us, wife enjoyed watching hummng birds from room window. Food good, staff excellent also night walks with guide only problem was my wife suffers from motion sickness thus the journey from Arenal proved difficult, road surface ok but very bendy where as the journey away from Villa Blanca in the direction of San Jose was much better, .Ideal for a quite rest

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGHAldershot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Greetings from the Clouds!!

Gracias!!!!!
We appreciate you took the time to visit Tripadvisor web page and living your comment about us! We are sorry that your wife had problems with the road and suffered from dizziness. But we are happy to hear that you got the opportunity to take a walk into our trails, enjoy the diversity that Villa has and also liked our facilities along with our stuff .
This is an extremely relaxing place! If you are looking for privacy, intimacy , much peace and quiet our Hotel is the perfect place to visit!

We hope to see you again soon!!

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at Villa Blanca for two nights at the end of a Windstar cruise. The cottage we had was exactly as advertised, comfortable and clean. If you enjoy nature, relaxing by a fire, and being above the couds, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Buenos dias!!!

What a great way to start the day by reading such good reviews like this. We really appreciate you taking the time to write this comment of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel Nature Reserve!!!!

We are pleased that you have enjoyed the facilities as well as our warm and confortable Casitas!!!

Hope you come and visit again sometime soon!!!!!!

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here one night as part of a bicycling tour. Complete solitude and not a sound except for those of the rainforest just outside your door. The wall of the bathroom looking out onto the rainforest was glass so you could soak in the tub and enjoy the sights and sounds of the forest. Little fireplace in the corner was cozy for the chilly night. Food was wonderful. We didn't have time to check out the pool or spa, so can't comment.......this is a heavenly place for those who want to get away from everything and everybody.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cybercat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear guest,

Villa Blanca is a very quiet place, where you are surrounded only by nature. The cottages are located in the forest and so you can enjoy the views from wherever you are. We are happy to read this comment you left us here at Tripadvisor web page that actually let everyone knows that you really enjoy all those details and amenities that Villa Blanca has to offer. And you are right, if you want to be away from the crowd and the stress come to the Cloud Forest…. This is the best place to be!

Muchas Gracias !!!!!!

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for one night for our honeymoon on the day we arrived in San Jose. It was absolutely perfect. The service was exceptional and the hotel grounds were so beautiful. We might cancel our planned route to Arenal just to go back to Villa Blanca on our way back to San Jose!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerHebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Many greetings from the mountains of Villa Blanca!

Once again congratulations on your marriage!

Thank you for choosing Villa Blanca as part of your trip to enjoy the wonder of your honeymoon. Hope you can change plans and visit before you are going home. We would be glad to have you in our "hogar dulce hogar" again soon!

Saludos!

Sindy Vega
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The staff at the Villa Blanca hotel are extremely nice and very helpful. However, while staying here I felt like I was being overcharged and "nickeled and dimed" to death. When a hotel charges $200-250/night or more, you should get top of the line amenities, but this is not the case. You want wireless in your room--$5.00 per day; (for goodness sakes, put a $40 router in each room and it would provide service for 2-3 years); that small bottle of water on the desk will set you back $3.00. Special items are priced at the high end. For example, a massage at the spa is almost $100; A one-hour guided forest walk for my wife and I was $52. The most egregious, though, is the restaurant. There is only one in the hotel and it is expensive--New York level expensive. There is no other place within 10 km to eat, so if all you want for lunch is a quick, inexpensive bite you are out of luck--a shrimp salad is $13; an enchilada runs $12, while a grilled chicken breast is $17. You and your wife will be lucky to get out of there for less than $30-40. And that's lunch! If you are here for 3-4 days, eating lunch and dinner each day, you are going to run up a healthy tab. I really wish they had an alternative place, a simpler cafe with lighter, less expensive meals.

I think most people come here on all-inclusive, fully paid packaged tours so they don't see the cost of individual items. But if you are like us, only having prepaid for the room and breakfast buffet be prepared to reach into your wallet rather frequently.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelFromMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor web page .It's very kind of you to think that our staff is extremely nice and very helpful. We will carefully review your feedback and also make sure to share this important observation about the hotel with our managers.

Pura Vida Costa Rica!

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

A well-run and ordered hotel: comfortable villas, good food and service in charming - if a little Marie Antoinette - ambiance. Taxi into town easily and reasoably cheaply available although the town has little of great interest to offer. Ideal for a breather between more active bits of your tour.

Room Tip: The main rooms are on top of a hill, so some walks too and fro can be arduous!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Greeting from the Cloud Forest!

We are very pleased by the fact that you found our hotel well- run and ordered. Thank you very much for taking the time to describe the details of your stay here at Villa Blanca, the atmosphere is very relaxed and welcoming, with plenty of space to enjoy the beauties of nature.

It is also nice to know that you had the opportunity to visit our town, in fact all our stuff are residents of San Ramón, very friendly and charming people.

I'm going to share this wonderful comment with my team; they`ll be very happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay.

We`ll be waiting for your next visit!

Sindy Vega
Costumer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
25.0 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,313 reviews
12.2 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
682 reviews
22.0 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,311 reviews
21.2 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
869 reviews
24.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Address: El Silencio de Los Angeles | Los Angeles Norte, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Canton of San Ramon > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range: $104 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over an hour's drive from San Jose International Costa Rica airport (SJO), eco-minded travelers from all over the world have reveled in the beauty of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, located within the Los Angeles Private Biological Nature Reserve & Research Station in the Canton of San Ramon. The hotel is ideally situated as a gateway to Arenal Volcano and the famous Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Here, you're immersed in one of the world's most precious and complex jungle ecosystems - the cloud forest. This boutique mountain hotel is nestled on 75-acres of gentle rolling hills, with well-appointed "casitas" and Honeymoon Suites, each with their own fireplace, and surrounded by acres of lush botanical gardens. Originally owned by former president Rodrigo Carazo Odio and First Lady, Estrella Zeledon de Carazo, Villa Blanca has become a renown and cherished Costa Rica destination. The architecture reflects the original farm village concept, with a welcoming Hacienda, offering guests exceptional Costa Rican hospitality, premier dining, a private theater, conference facilities, and pampering spa menu. Also quite unique is a replica of a 14th century Roman wedding chapel, La Mariana, with its hand painted ceramic ceiling. Choose from a variety of nature-based activities, including horseback, zip-lines, and user-friendly guided trials, plus excursions to Arenal and Poas volcanoes, hot springs, and rural-cultural tours. This is the Costa Rica where those who "travel well and travel right" want to go. Please feel free to visit our sister-site, one of the most prestigious Manuel Antonio hotels, Si Como No. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blanca Cloud Forest
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel And Nature Reserve Costa Rica/San Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing