We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Posada Hotel(San Ramon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Silencio Lodge & Spa(Bajos del Toro)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Mango(Alajuela)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heliconias Nature Lodge(Arenal Volcano National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,241)
Filter reviews
1,242 results
Traveler rating
990
213
31
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
990
213
31
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscloud foreston sitecosta ricanight walkresearch stationpool tablemilk the cowsmovie theaternight touryogurtjuan carlosarenal volcanothe main roadhiking trailsself guidedhorseback ridingdairy farm
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
842 - 847 of 1,242 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at Villa Blanca for two nights at the end of a Windstar cruise. The cottage we had was exactly as advertised, comfortable and clean. If you enjoy nature, relaxing by a fire, and being above the couds, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Buenos dias!!!

What a great way to start the day by reading such good reviews like this. We really appreciate you taking the time to write this comment of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel Nature Reserve!!!!

We are pleased that you have enjoyed the facilities as well as our warm and confortable Casitas!!!

Hope you come and visit again sometime soon!!!!!!

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here one night as part of a bicycling tour. Complete solitude and not a sound except for those of the rainforest just outside your door. The wall of the bathroom looking out onto the rainforest was glass so you could soak in the tub and enjoy the sights and sounds of the forest. Little fireplace in the corner was cozy for the chilly night. Food was wonderful. We didn't have time to check out the pool or spa, so can't comment.......this is a heavenly place for those who want to get away from everything and everybody.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cybercat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear guest,

Villa Blanca is a very quiet place, where you are surrounded only by nature. The cottages are located in the forest and so you can enjoy the views from wherever you are. We are happy to read this comment you left us here at Tripadvisor web page that actually let everyone knows that you really enjoy all those details and amenities that Villa Blanca has to offer. And you are right, if you want to be away from the crowd and the stress come to the Cloud Forest…. This is the best place to be!

Muchas Gracias !!!!!!

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for one night for our honeymoon on the day we arrived in San Jose. It was absolutely perfect. The service was exceptional and the hotel grounds were so beautiful. We might cancel our planned route to Arenal just to go back to Villa Blanca on our way back to San Jose!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerHebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Many greetings from the mountains of Villa Blanca!

Once again congratulations on your marriage!

Thank you for choosing Villa Blanca as part of your trip to enjoy the wonder of your honeymoon. Hope you can change plans and visit before you are going home. We would be glad to have you in our "hogar dulce hogar" again soon!

Saludos!

Sindy Vega
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The staff at the Villa Blanca hotel are extremely nice and very helpful. However, while staying here I felt like I was being overcharged and "nickeled and dimed" to death. When a hotel charges $200-250/night or more, you should get top of the line amenities, but this is not the case. You want wireless in your room--$5.00 per day; (for goodness sakes, put a $40 router in each room and it would provide service for 2-3 years); that small bottle of water on the desk will set you back $3.00. Special items are priced at the high end. For example, a massage at the spa is almost $100; A one-hour guided forest walk for my wife and I was $52. The most egregious, though, is the restaurant. There is only one in the hotel and it is expensive--New York level expensive. There is no other place within 10 km to eat, so if all you want for lunch is a quick, inexpensive bite you are out of luck--a shrimp salad is $13; an enchilada runs $12, while a grilled chicken breast is $17. You and your wife will be lucky to get out of there for less than $30-40. And that's lunch! If you are here for 3-4 days, eating lunch and dinner each day, you are going to run up a healthy tab. I really wish they had an alternative place, a simpler cafe with lighter, less expensive meals.

I think most people come here on all-inclusive, fully paid packaged tours so they don't see the cost of individual items. But if you are like us, only having prepaid for the room and breakfast buffet be prepared to reach into your wallet rather frequently.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelFromMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor web page .It's very kind of you to think that our staff is extremely nice and very helpful. We will carefully review your feedback and also make sure to share this important observation about the hotel with our managers.

Pura Vida Costa Rica!

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

A well-run and ordered hotel: comfortable villas, good food and service in charming - if a little Marie Antoinette - ambiance. Taxi into town easily and reasoably cheaply available although the town has little of great interest to offer. Ideal for a breather between more active bits of your tour.

Room Tip: The main rooms are on top of a hill, so some walks too and fro can be arduous!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Greeting from the Cloud Forest!

We are very pleased by the fact that you found our hotel well- run and ordered. Thank you very much for taking the time to describe the details of your stay here at Villa Blanca, the atmosphere is very relaxed and welcoming, with plenty of space to enjoy the beauties of nature.

It is also nice to know that you had the opportunity to visit our town, in fact all our stuff are residents of San Ramón, very friendly and charming people.

I'm going to share this wonderful comment with my team; they`ll be very happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay.

We`ll be waiting for your next visit!

Sindy Vega
Costumer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews