We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Ramon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for one night for our honeymoon on the day we arrived in San Jose. It was absolutely perfect. The service was exceptional and the hotel grounds were so beautiful. We might cancel our planned route to Arenal just to go back to Villa Blanca on our way back to San Jose!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerHebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Many greetings from the mountains of Villa Blanca!

Once again congratulations on your marriage!

Thank you for choosing Villa Blanca as part of your trip to enjoy the wonder of your honeymoon. Hope you can change plans and visit before you are going home. We would be glad to have you in our "hogar dulce hogar" again soon!

Saludos!

Sindy Vega
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

773 - 779 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

The staff at the Villa Blanca hotel are extremely nice and very helpful. However, while staying here I felt like I was being overcharged and "nickeled and dimed" to death. When a hotel charges $200-250/night or more, you should get top of the line amenities, but this is not the case. You want wireless in your room--$5.00 per day; (for goodness sakes, put a $40 router in each room and it would provide service for 2-3 years); that small bottle of water on the desk will set you back $3.00. Special items are priced at the high end. For example, a massage at the spa is almost $100; A one-hour guided forest walk for my wife and I was $52. The most egregious, though, is the restaurant. There is only one in the hotel and it is expensive--New York level expensive. There is no other place within 10 km to eat, so if all you want for lunch is a quick, inexpensive bite you are out of luck--a shrimp salad is $13; an enchilada runs $12, while a grilled chicken breast is $17. You and your wife will be lucky to get out of there for less than $30-40. And that's lunch! If you are here for 3-4 days, eating lunch and dinner each day, you are going to run up a healthy tab. I really wish they had an alternative place, a simpler cafe with lighter, less expensive meals.

I think most people come here on all-inclusive, fully paid packaged tours so they don't see the cost of individual items. But if you are like us, only having prepaid for the room and breakfast buffet be prepared to reach into your wallet rather frequently.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelFromMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor web page .It's very kind of you to think that our staff is extremely nice and very helpful. We will carefully review your feedback and also make sure to share this important observation about the hotel with our managers.

Pura Vida Costa Rica!

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

A well-run and ordered hotel: comfortable villas, good food and service in charming - if a little Marie Antoinette - ambiance. Taxi into town easily and reasoably cheaply available although the town has little of great interest to offer. Ideal for a breather between more active bits of your tour.

Room Tip: The main rooms are on top of a hill, so some walks too and fro can be arduous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Greeting from the Cloud Forest!

We are very pleased by the fact that you found our hotel well- run and ordered. Thank you very much for taking the time to describe the details of your stay here at Villa Blanca, the atmosphere is very relaxed and welcoming, with plenty of space to enjoy the beauties of nature.

It is also nice to know that you had the opportunity to visit our town, in fact all our stuff are residents of San Ramón, very friendly and charming people.

I'm going to share this wonderful comment with my team; they`ll be very happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay.

We`ll be waiting for your next visit!

Sindy Vega
Costumer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had perfect sunny days. Food great. Enjoyed the gardens, cows the nature walks. Too hot for fireplace. Enjoyed food. Beds comfy. Could use a small pool and lounges. Although. I realize it is lfrequentlynsunny. We were there for them. Ot tub in a small room. Yoga room but no classes . Our room had a mini bar Fireplace. And a jacuzzi tub. Trhere is a chapel that is splendid and we did watch. A. wedding. Couldn't see stayingg for a week. They did have a theater we did not use it. The entire place if gorgeous and my teens did well for 2 days with limieted technology.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank cabocathy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Hello from the clouds!

With this review we realize that you really enjoy all the amenities of our hotel and we`re very much pleased that you had such a good stay here at Villa Blanca!

A cloud forest, also called a fog forest, is a generally tropical or subtropical, evergreen, montane, moist forest characterized by a persistent, frequent or seasonal low-level cloud cover, usually at the canopy level. But sometimes depends of the weather we get some sunny days and that really make us very happy!

Thank you so much for the comment and we hope you come back for a visit again!

Sindy Vega
Costumer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We are a very active couple, and we were hoping to do a bit of hiking on the self-guided tours here at Villa Blanca.

The pros
Wonderful and attentive staff
Food was amazing at the restaurant
Cute little fireplace in the room
The movie theatre was nice, but the movies were quite old

The cons
The place was too isolated for us, not much to do
The hiking trails were very short
The restaurant/bar and lobby seemed very new compared to the rest of the hotel
We had large black spiders in our room every day

The road to the hotel really wasn't that bad compared to other areas of Costa Rica. We would only recommend this hotel to those who want to be in a very laid back and quiet hotel without much activity.

Tips
Make sure to use your dehumidifier every night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cabocub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Greetings from Villa Blanca!

When a guest takes the time to share their experiences with us, we want you to know that we take it to heart and really appreciate that.

We are going to share your comments with our managers and staff , because good or bad, they are an important indication of our performance in meeting your expectations.

Thank you for your feedback!

Sindy
Custumer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Instant relaxation ! We stayed one night with our 4 year old. Extremely relaxing and great staff. My son loved milking the cow and the kawatamundi on the trail. All the staff was very nice. Dinner was excellent - we are vegetarian so cannot vouch for the meat dishes.
Really enjoyed our stay, if there were a downside, it would be the morning coffee was not good. Or a specialty coffee. Also the jets in whirlpool tub were very strong and had some bugs living in it, hey it's Costa Rica. Run the jets before you take a bath to ensure you don't get the bug bath.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbsiegogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear guest!

Good to hear that you had a nice stay at Villa Blanca and that you son had the chance to participated with our stuff milking the cows at La Lechería and also it is nice to know that you and your family were able to get into the adventure on our trails.
We already let our maintenance team know about problem with bugs at the whirlpool tub so they can fix it as soon as possible. But we`re going to make sure to run the jets before the costumer take a bath to ensure they do not get the bug bath!

Thank you very much for your comment and also for your feedback.

We hope to see again anytime soon.

Sindy Vega
Costumer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Located one hour from the San Jose airport, Villa Blanca is the perfect experience to get you into the Costa Rican environment. Tee cabins are spacious and have beautiful views of the lush surrounding. The staff was the best we encountered on our entire Costa Rica trip - always trying to impress and accomodate. We did two hikes with local guides, and loved the slow pace, incredible education about the cloud forest, and the opportunity to see womderful hidden gems. Highly recommend Villa Blanca as your first stop and gateway to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaD53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Hola desde Bosque Nuboso!

Thank you very much for taking the time to describe this beautiful place… Villa Blanca . The visit to our hotel is an excellent introduction to begin the adventure in our beautiful country. We are glad that you have liked our private amenities and also that you have recommended us to all the followers of Trip Advisor.

We`ll be looking forward to see you back here at Villa Blanca again!

Sindy Vega
Costumer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
12.2 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
710 reviews
24.9 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
901 reviews
25 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,319 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,374 reviews
23.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Address: El Silencio de Los Angeles | Los Angeles Norte, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Canton of San Ramon > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range: $115 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over an hour's drive from San Jose International Costa Rica airport (SJO), eco-minded travelers from all over the world have reveled in the beauty of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, located within the Los Angeles Private Biological Nature Reserve & Research Station in the Canton of San Ramon. The hotel is ideally situated as a gateway to Arenal Volcano and the famous Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Here, you're immersed in one of the world's most precious and complex jungle ecosystems - the cloud forest. This boutique mountain hotel is nestled on 75-acres of gentle rolling hills, with well-appointed "casitas" and Honeymoon Suites, each with their own fireplace, and surrounded by acres of lush botanical gardens. Originally owned by former president Rodrigo Carazo Odio and First Lady, Estrella Zeledon de Carazo, Villa Blanca has become a renown and cherished Costa Rica destination. The architecture reflects the original farm village concept, with a welcoming Hacienda, offering guests exceptional Costa Rican hospitality, premier dining, a private theater, conference facilities, and pampering spa menu. Also quite unique is a replica of a 14th century Roman wedding chapel, La Mariana, with its hand painted ceramic ceiling. Choose from a variety of nature-based activities, including horseback, zip-lines, and user-friendly guided trials, plus excursions to Arenal and Poas volcanoes, hot springs, and rural-cultural tours. This is the Costa Rica where those who "travel well and travel right" want to go. Please feel free to visit our sister-site, one of the most prestigious Manuel Antonio hotels, Si Como No. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blanca Cloud Forest
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel And Nature Reserve Costa Rica/San Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing