We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Blanca is amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Ramon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I had an overnight stay at Villa Blanca and wish we had stayed longer. The roads to get here are a little rough, but it's only about an hour from San Jose and so well worth the effort. It's located at the top of a bluff, so in every direction there is a breathtaking view. The lodge and cabins all are beautifully designed with interesting wood furniture, bamboo ceilings, brick and slate floors, and fireplaces with actual wood. The staff knocked themselves out -- we were greeted with cold towels and a fruit drink of watermelon and passion fruit; we got amazing massages from Mariella; Ronald and others in the dining room went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The food is good and not crazily over-priced but is not memorable. We also had an informative night walk through the jungle with Roy, who knew everything about the flora and fauna. Finally there is a wedding chapel on the grounds that would be the perfect destination wedding spot -- given by the former president of Costa Rica to his wife upon their 50th anniversary, with views of the mountains below the altar and a tiled ceiling with hundreds of beautifully painted scenes -- a knockout venue. Come here and enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJTraveller887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Hello from Villa Blanca!

Thanks for your valuable comments. We really appreciate you taking the time to write on trisdvisor´s website
It is really nice to know that you got to experience the calmness and professionalism with Mariela at our Voices of Nature SPA.
Our wait staff is always very friendly and I'm sure Ronald will appreciate the comment.
Also we are glad that you have learned about the flora and fauna of Villa Blanca with our knowledgeable and experienced naturalist guide Roy.
I will be sharing this message with all my staff because our purpose is always that all our guests have a pleasant stay at our hotel and enjoy the wonders of Costa Rica.

We hope to see you again !!!

Sindy Vega
Costumer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

767 - 773 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

Definitely a fairytale place. Come for the extraordinary experience of the cloud forest climate zone. Take the night tour. Enjoy the magical grounds.

Restaurant is intimate and with a very nice atmosphere, but as the other reviewers pointed out, very overpriced, and unfortunately, and here we disagree with some of the others, the food is average. However, hotel restaurants in the entire Costa Rica shared this trait and we found the tastiest food in the roadside sodas instead.
In Villa Blanca, there is no cafeteria for less expensive food options. Finally, the menu for lunch and dinner is the same, and this could lead to over-spending on the same food selection if your stay is long (not very desirable unless one finds the food extraordinary, which was not the case with us).

We recommend having your own car, so you can vary your menu if you stay for longer and so that you don't have to pay the hefty premium of transportation for taking tours that go outside of the property. But do take the in-house tours on the grounds of the reserve.

Just a general observation of all the guides in Costa Rica, including most in Villa Blanca is that they might not try to hide their boredom (naturally one gets bored repeating the same things over and over again, every day), and may seem not as engaged as one would like them to be. A bit of professionalism is missing from all tour guides that we had in Costa Rica (e.g. excessive use of cell phone for personal use while on the tour). This is not a criticism exclusive of this establishment, but I point it out, because we took alot of tours with them.

We liked Villa Blanca for its isolation, great staff, fellow guests (all very nice, non-rowdy couples and families who came for the experience, not the alcohol), and above all the totally magical cloudforest setting. Surely different from anywhere else.

Finally, all is very clean and impeccably up-kept.

Room Tip: none needed, all casitas are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirage159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear guest

I extend heartfelt thanks for taking the time to detail your current stay at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel Nature Reserve. We are delighted to know that you had an extraordinary experience of the cloud forest. Our goal is to dazzle all guests with a superlative travel experience. We will carefully review your feedback about our restaurant and also we are going to make sure to share this important observation about our tour guides.
Once again thanks for sharing your experience at our Hotel and for us will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Sindy Vega
Costumer Service
Hotel Villa Blanca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I will not repeat too much of what is below - the views are splendid when the clouds permit, the wood burning fires in the casitas are lovely and the grounds are beautiful. Two major positives for me were a) the hummingbird feeders (I will never forget the sound of having these beautiful birds buzzing around me and caught some stunning pictures) and b) the massage - I had a very sore lower back when I arrived which was debilitating and spoiling our holiday - Maria, the masseuse at the Spa solved it by 95% in one massage ($84 but well worth it in this instance!!). Should also mention that the guides are very knowledgeable - tours/walks around the grounds are all priced at $26 but we later (too late) learned that discounts could be had ....

On the down side, though the restaurant is admittedly very good, it is expensive (for us, this would be "special occasion" standard and the prices to match) - all well and good but there is no alternative on the site to get a quick bits/snack, so unless you have a car and are prepared to drive around 13k on bumpy windy roads, you end up adding considerably to the cost of your stay. Also - for those odd occasions when the sun appears - there is nowhere to "lounge" in the sun ie no pool etc, which we would have like to see.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loumx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your comments with us. We are delighted that you have had the opportunity to visit the hummingbird feeder as well so we are pleased that your Voices of Nature SPA experience with Maria was very helpful for lower back pain.
On the comment of the restaurant we want to let you know that we appreciate and receive all criticism positively especially when it has to do with the restaurant, this because as you mention it is the only option for our location. Now we have taken immediate action on your recommendations by designing a ¨Seasonal Menu¨. Which will bring to our guests the opportunity to have a different option of menu produced with fresh organic ingredients with the most affordable prices.
On behalf of the entire family Villa Blanca deeply appreciate all the positive and negative reviews.

Sindy Vega
Costumer Service
Hotel Villa Blanca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

What a special Hotel! Set high up in the Cloud Forest this hotel is beautiful. The grounds are just stunning and the rooms are amazing. The little casitas aren’t little! We stayed in the Deluxe room, we had two bathrooms, a sitting area, large decking and a little garden overlooking the hills and the church. The rooms were immaculate and so nicely decorated, simple but pretty. The grounds were full of gorgeous flowers, and the trails were very easy to do by yourself. The hummingbirds are hard to miss! The food was lovely and the staff were excellent, always trying to please. Breakfast had many choices and they were always willing to give you extra of anything. We also treated ourselves to a massage each whist we were there, it was so relaxing! We also went to the diary farm and milked the cow which was brilliant as I had never done this before, the little claves were also so cute. I would recommend this hotel for a 2 night stay as there isn’t a huge amount to do after the walks and good for general relaxation. We did the night walk which is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoecrazybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Hola from the Cloud Forest!

We are really thankful that you took the time to comment on our hotel. It ´s a pleasure for us to hear that you found our service to be impeccable and that our rooms along with our amenities exceeded your expectations. We´re also very happy to know that you had such a wonderful stay here at Villa Blanca and enjoyed our warm hospitality and attention to detail as we strive to provide our guests the best experience.

Hope to see you again!

Sindy Vega
Costumer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Villa Blanca in San Ramon, CR is lovely!! The staff was friendly , we especially liked Ronald (as in Ronald Reagan he puts it!!)The casitas are charming, wood burning fireplace, jacuzzi tub and shower, private porch, rocking chairs, comfortable beds. The happy hour, opportunity to try milking a dairy cow, visit to Arenal and the hot springs, a lovely wedding chapel and various walking tours are all available plus many more. Lack of sunshine was made up for with helpful staff, a delicious breakfast (included), small movie theater , gift shop and Costa Rican charm.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bzl1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Hola!!!

Greetings from the clouds!!!!

We are thrilled you had such a wonderful time here at Villa Blanca Hotel. Our staff already misses you, specially Ronald!!!!
Thank you for sharing your comments on this forum. We all truly loved having you in our home and hope to welcome you back in the near future! .

Sindy Vega
Costumer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Fans of the Seinfeld TV show may remember the episode where George's father sought to calm himself by chanting the mantra "serenity now." Well, if he had known about the Villa Blanca, he could just have gone there for a few days to experience REAL serenity now. The hotel is in the cloud forest and there is nothing else around for miles, except country, views and solitude. This is the hotel version of "build it and they will come." The main lodge is attractive with an open design and plants growing indoors. The rooms are indivdual small houses which, if not deluxe in the modern sense of the word, are perfectly suited to the environment and are charming. Each has a real wood burning fireplace which is stocked with wood and all set to light. You need it as a heat source in the cool evenings, but even if you didn't, the flames and warmth impart a real charm and coziness. There is no television in the rooms but internet is available in the main building. This is not a place to come if you are looking for lots of activities. The real appeal of this lodging is the peace and quiet and the interesting hiking trails on the grounds. It is a cloud forest, however, so be prepared for cool, misty breezy weather. We were fortunate that the weather was sunny and warm for our one night stay so it was most enjoyable, but lousy weather would certainly limit your activities. The food was excellent and the breakfast buffet plentiful. I can't comment on the value since I was on a tour, but I am sure that it is not cheap. But,this is the perfect place to "get away from it all" and enjoy peace and quiet along with the birds, flowers and trails. Serenity now!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trickydnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear guest,

It sounds like you discovered all that Villa Blanca is about ¨SERENITY NOW¨!.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to others and sharing your thoughts on this forum. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed every minute of it.

So from all your friends at Villa Blanca, thank you for being our guest. We hope to see you again.

Sindy Vega
Costumer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The grounds are magnificent, the staff is friendly and the food was very good. There are trails withn the property with great views and foilage. The rooms are cottages spread among the property. The bed was comfortable but these are not fancy hotel rooms. You are here to experience the cloud forest. Villa Blanca is a great place to stay as a starting point for your explorations. There is Internet in the main facility but not in the rooms which also do not have TV.

Room Tip: Getting a room close to the main hotel will cut down on the walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear guest,

We are really thankful that you took the time to comment on our hotel. We are pleased that you have enjoyed the amenities our hotel has and that you have experienced how great it is to be in the cloud forest.

And you al right! If you really want to experience Costa Rica´s cloud forest must come to Villa Blanca!!!

We hope to see you again when you plan your vacations in Costa Rica!!!

Regards,

Sindy Vega
Costumer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
16.6 mi away
The Retreat Costa Rica
12.2 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
702 reviews
25 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,343 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hostel Mangifera
Hostel Mangifera
#5 of 9 in Grecia
58 reviews
17 mi away
Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Address: El Silencio de Los Angeles | Los Angeles Norte, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Canton of San Ramon > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range: $110 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over an hour's drive from San Jose International Costa Rica airport (SJO), eco-minded travelers from all over the world have reveled in the beauty of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, located within the Los Angeles Private Biological Nature Reserve & Research Station in the Canton of San Ramon. The hotel is ideally situated as a gateway to Arenal Volcano and the famous Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Here, you're immersed in one of the world's most precious and complex jungle ecosystems - the cloud forest. This boutique mountain hotel is nestled on 75-acres of gentle rolling hills, with well-appointed "casitas" and Honeymoon Suites, each with their own fireplace, and surrounded by acres of lush botanical gardens. Originally owned by former president Rodrigo Carazo Odio and First Lady, Estrella Zeledon de Carazo, Villa Blanca has become a renown and cherished Costa Rica destination. The architecture reflects the original farm village concept, with a welcoming Hacienda, offering guests exceptional Costa Rican hospitality, premier dining, a private theater, conference facilities, and pampering spa menu. Also quite unique is a replica of a 14th century Roman wedding chapel, La Mariana, with its hand painted ceramic ceiling. Choose from a variety of nature-based activities, including horseback, zip-lines, and user-friendly guided trials, plus excursions to Arenal and Poas volcanoes, hot springs, and rural-cultural tours. This is the Costa Rica where those who "travel well and travel right" want to go. Please feel free to visit our sister-site, one of the most prestigious Manuel Antonio hotels, Si Como No. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blanca Cloud Forest
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel And Nature Reserve Costa Rica/San Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing