We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beutiful, Peaceful, and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Beutiful, Peaceful, and Friendly”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Villa Blanca is an amazing hotel that puts you right in the center of a cloud forest. The hotel has several trails that take you through the surrounding forest, and the guides there will help you identify the wildlife you see. During the morning and day, the hotel has places to sit with friends and loved ones as you look out in wonder at the hills surrounding you. During the evening you will be left in awe as the clouds come in and the hotel lighting shines through the fog. The well manicured lawn makes a great juxtaposition to the forest. Your experience at the hotel is completed by the friendly staff that make sure you are comfortable while telling you about some of the history.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    192
    27
    7
    1
See reviews for
297
567
19
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Terrific place, great staff, excellent experience. Just don't drive up the road in the dark!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srsi3828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The property and accomidations are beautiful, the wildlife and gardens are wonderful. The restaurant is good and the breakfast was ok.the staff is awesome, they do all they can to make your stay memorable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank griffith7512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Quesada, San Carlos
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I visited Villa Blanca several times in the past years. I haven't found a better, more environmentally connected hotel than this one. The staff is very friendly; the movie theater is very good. But for the most beautiful thing about VB is it arquitecture, it smells and weather, i can live there if i could a forth it. Very recomended!

Room Tip: The best room is the 22.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseBM7_Turismologo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We spent only one night at the Villa Blanca en route to Manuel Antonio from Arenal. It was a nice change from the rain forest - an opportunity to visit a cloud forest. The staff was welcoming and the food was delicious. Service in the dining room was slightly slower than in the other hotels but still very good. The grounds are gorgeous and the atmosphere clean and so different from the lower elevations. We loved seeing the family (?) of coatimundi scurrying around, digging and scratching. They are decidedly not tame - just coexisting with the other animals and humans around.

Despite the rain, we donned our ponchos, were given flashlights, and went on a night walk with one of the staff. It was slow going in the beginning - slippery and dark - but we ended up seeing lots of interesting frogs, insects, a snake (nonpoisonous), a little yellow bird asleep tucked under a leaf, and a tiny, nearly miniature opossum on another branch. My 11 year old grandson was so excited and took as many photographs as he could. As we left the forest trail, the guide shone his flashlight up a tree and there was a large white owl! Shortly thereafter he spotted an armadillo walking around but I missed that because I had gone inside.

Our casita was great - enough room for the 3 of us although my grandson's bed was the couch made into a bed in the anteroom. There were 2 bathrooms which was nice. It was damp and humid although not hot. Another highlight was the zipline which all 3 of us did the following day. 5 separate ziplines and once you start you can't stop. You must do all of them. Great fun and not as scary as I thought it would be. (I'm 65 and used to be scared of heights and speed - my husband is 79 and had no trouble at all).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mid214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petd0c
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed here for a single night in June. This was our first stop after arriving from the US and was just the thing we needed to relax. We were greeted with a cool towel for our faces and a wonderful tropical juice drink with mint leaves.The greeting set the stage for a beautifully relaxing afternoon and evening. The casitas are very nice, cozy and peaceful. We did the nature walk around the property and visted the chapel. Very nice. Happy hour at the lodge was very nice and we sat on the big porch and watched the evening roll in. This resort has a peaceful, mellow atmosphere that is perfect for relaxation. The restaurant is pricey and the food is average with the exception of the breakfast which was excellent (included). The service was excellent from the front desk to the restaurant staff. It is cool here, even in June, and so we started a nice fire in our fireplace and fell into a peaceful sleep after a long day of travel. One night was enough for us as we were off to more adventurous activites, but if you for rest and relaxation, this is a perfect place!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petd0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This was an amazing place to stay in the high country of Costa Rica. He service was great and the yoga studio was a nice touch. The casitas have an authentic touch to them and the hotel grounds have I be seen to be believed.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OBwyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
25.0 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,247 reviews
12.2 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
666 reviews
22.0 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,846 reviews
13.7 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#9 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
241 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Property: Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Address: El Silencio de Los Angeles | Los Angeles Norte, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Canton of San Ramon > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over an hour's drive from San Jose International Costa Rica airport (SJO), eco-minded travelers from all over the world have reveled in the beauty of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, located within the Los Angeles Private Biological Nature Reserve & Research Station in the Canton of San Ramon. The hotel is ideally situated as a gateway to Arenal Volcano and the famous Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Here, you're immersed in one of the world's most precious and complex jungle ecosystems - the cloud forest. This boutique mountain hotel is nestled on 75-acres of gentle rolling hills, with well-appointed "casitas" and Honeymoon Suites, each with their own fireplace, and surrounded by acres of lush botanical gardens. Originally owned by former president Rodrigo Carazo Odio and First Lady, Estrella Zeledon de Carazo, Villa Blanca has become a renown and cherished Costa Rica destination. The architecture reflects the original farm village concept, with a welcoming Hacienda, offering guests exceptional Costa Rican hospitality, premier dining, a private theater, conference facilities, and pampering spa menu. Also quite unique is a replica of a 14th century Roman wedding chapel, La Mariana, with its hand painted ceramic ceiling. Choose from a variety of nature-based activities, including horseback, zip-lines, and user-friendly guided trials, plus excursions to Arenal and Poas volcanoes, hot springs, and rural-cultural tours. This is the Costa Rica where those who "travel well and travel right" want to go. Please feel free to visit our sister-site, one of the most prestigious Manuel Antonio hotels, Si Como No. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blanca Cloud Forest
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel And Nature Reserve Costa Rica/San Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing