We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, great service, very intimate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, great service, very intimate”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We loved Villa Blanca hotel - it was quick and easy to get to from the airport, and it made a really nice transition on our first night in Costa Rica. We especially loved the rooms, including a fireplace with ready to light, pre-stacked kindling and a really nice bathroom. The views were gorgeous, and the service was FANTASTIC. Everything we needed was right at our fingertips. Representatives even met us at our car when we pulled in.

The only caveat: this is more of a romantic place. I went with my friend and it was a bit too intimate for us to stay longer than a day or two.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnapolisChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    192
    27
    7
    1
See reviews for
297
567
19
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We spent one night at this gorgeous resort in our own private bungalow. As this is in the cloud rainforest the fireplace was definitely a welcome addition - such a romantic place to be! I loved the grounds and we even had coatimundi's visiting us on their morning/evening rounds. A guava tree was dropping ripe fruit in our "backyard." I love that this is a green hotel and the food was good - though be careful ordering steak - sometimes it is fine and sometimes it can be tough. But overall I say the food is fantastic! They have a cow you can milk, wonderful gardens growing vegetables, herbs, coffee, etc. on grounds, an awesome research station studying the insects/butterflies/moths in the area (over 12,500 species identified so far!) and loved walking around the grounds on the self-guided tours along with the guided tour. This used to be the President's home and the main lodge is awesome! I'd say it would be a great place for a romantic getaway ...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoogirl1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthWales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Having spent almost 2 weeks travelling around Costa Rica my wife and I were well impressed with many aspects of the country; its people, wildlife, scenery and attitude to conservation and ecotourism. All the hotels that we used were great but the Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel was suberb, in a peaceful location a few miles from the nearest town.
The staff were very friendly informative and helpful, in fact some went out of their way to be helpful. The accomodation (we had a Cassita Deluxe) was clean, tidy and had all the facilities we could wish for, including a separate sitting room, two bathrooms, large jaccuzzi bathtub and an open wood burning fire place.

The grounds are extensive, well maintained and evidence of the hotels commitment to conservation was in abundance. Guided walks to view the flora and fauna are encouraged but a self guided trail is also available. The views from the hotel are magnificent with the Arenal volcano and Nicaragua in sight.

The restaurant is light, airy and has a more than adequate menu with a good wine list. The food was good but not exceptional. The bar is well stocked and reasonably priced. Jonathon, the barman, took time out to explain much about Costa Rica's attitude to education, welfare, religion etc. I learned a lot and I hope that he learned a little of the Welsh language!

If I have one regret about our holiday in Costa Rica it is that we didn't spend longer at this resort. Next time.........

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alapache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Just stayed there and while I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel and even got a nice upgrade, what I thought would be the crowning jewel (food), ended up ruining it. They have a very limited wine list for a place that strives por "pinache". The food was of very bad quality, not-so fresh fish, I ordered turf and turf and got instead surf and turf with 3 measly shrimp and a completely undercook slab of chewy subpar meat. My wife ordered dessert and I coffee, with her dessert being a supermarket quality "torta chilena" and my coffee being a completely reheated waterdowned cup of joe. I highly recommend this place as a hotel, but being how there are no alternate restaurants nearby, I would suggest bringing a pic-nic basket and spare yourself the aggravation.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sungao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
This was the first client, out of nearly 100 consecutive Trip Advisor comments, that found their dining experience a disappointment, so we apologize for what is truly out of the norm for us, especially from a local client. We recognize that every establishment can't always be 100%, but after having placed again as a finalist in the National Chef's Competition recently; we found this particular restaurant critique completely out of the ordinary. We therefore will be happy to credit their account by contacting us at their convenience. However regarding our wine list, it's a personal judgment that many qualified wine connoisseurs would disagree with, especially considering the relatively conservative price range of our wine selection. Be assured your comments have been passed on to our restaurant manager and his Chef. We will do our best to assure that your recommendation for a "picnic basket" won't ever be necessary, at least in the case of our El Sendero Restaurant that has pleased so many guests from around the world, including our many repeat customers here in Costa Rica.

Sincerely,

Joxan Obando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This hotel was the first stop on our 3-part Costa Rica honeymoon. My husband and I stayed for 2 nights, and it was amazing. We traveled during "Green Season" and had the resort nearly to ourselves. It felt like our own private retreat in the mountains. The view, wildlife, and staff are incredible. We were able to take a hike, milk a cow, go horseback riding, and relax by the fire...all against the most amazing backdrop of greenery. All of the meals were tasty, and the service was fantastic. I think that 2 nights was a good amount of time here, as we may have gotten a little bored if we had stayed a full week. However, I would highly recommend including this on your trip if you fly into San Jose.

Room Tip: Our casita was #16 and had a fabulous view with great privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravel060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My husband and I spent the first night of our 8-day vacation here. It's heavenly, and we can't wait to return. When we stepped out of the shuttle, the silence and peacefulness immediately calmed us. The food was incredible, the beds were comfortable, the casitas are adorable, and the grounds and views are spectacular. We also took a guided tour from one of the reserve's naturalists - Roy. What an amazing tour guide. Staying here was the highlight of our Costa Rica trip!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleCobleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Setauket, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Our family came here directly from the San Jose airport. We stayed 3 nights. The resort compound is at the end of a dirt road with a bridge that was washed way by the rain storm after we arrived. What a beautiful place! Enjoyed the view of the mountains, the walk through the cloud forest and the abundant wildlife right on the property. The individual bungalows are large, clean and contains a fireplace that we used every night. Highly recommend the night tour through the forest.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
25.0 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,249 reviews
12.2 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
666 reviews
22.0 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#9 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
241 reviews
23.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,846 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Property: Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Address: El Silencio de Los Angeles | Los Angeles Norte, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Canton of San Ramon > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over an hour's drive from San Jose International Costa Rica airport (SJO), eco-minded travelers from all over the world have reveled in the beauty of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, located within the Los Angeles Private Biological Nature Reserve & Research Station in the Canton of San Ramon. The hotel is ideally situated as a gateway to Arenal Volcano and the famous Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Here, you're immersed in one of the world's most precious and complex jungle ecosystems - the cloud forest. This boutique mountain hotel is nestled on 75-acres of gentle rolling hills, with well-appointed "casitas" and Honeymoon Suites, each with their own fireplace, and surrounded by acres of lush botanical gardens. Originally owned by former president Rodrigo Carazo Odio and First Lady, Estrella Zeledon de Carazo, Villa Blanca has become a renown and cherished Costa Rica destination. The architecture reflects the original farm village concept, with a welcoming Hacienda, offering guests exceptional Costa Rican hospitality, premier dining, a private theater, conference facilities, and pampering spa menu. Also quite unique is a replica of a 14th century Roman wedding chapel, La Mariana, with its hand painted ceramic ceiling. Choose from a variety of nature-based activities, including horseback, zip-lines, and user-friendly guided trials, plus excursions to Arenal and Poas volcanoes, hot springs, and rural-cultural tours. This is the Costa Rica where those who "travel well and travel right" want to go. Please feel free to visit our sister-site, one of the most prestigious Manuel Antonio hotels, Si Como No. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blanca Cloud Forest
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel And Nature Reserve Costa Rica/San Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing