We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, welcoming, and accommodating!”
Review of Hostel Sabana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Sabana
Methuen, Massachusetts
1 review
“Friendly, welcoming, and accommodating!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My two friends and I stated at Hostel Sabana while visiting my sister who is studying abroad at the UCR in San Ramon. We stayed for a total of 5 nights though we originally had reserved 7 consecutive nights (not a problem with the staff at all!). We were happy to be able to stay in a private room (slept up to 4/5 people) with a private bathroom and shower. The hostel was not far from the University or my sister's house and just a short taxi away from the center of the city with the restaurants and stores. Taxis seemed to always be conveniently parked just a few feet from the hostel.

The staff of Hostel Sabana made our vacation easy and worry free! Very helpful and accomodating to our needs. Reserving our room was easy via Email. When traveling outside of San Ramon for a few days, we were able to leave our luggage in storage at the hostel while we were gone. Hostel Sabana was a great "home base" for us as we did some traveling during our week stay.

We especially appreciated the shuttle service to/from the airport as we were new to Costa Rica and it was helpful to have someone take us to our destination rather than try to navigate our own transportation.

Overall, I would suggest this hostel to anyone who is interested! We saved a lot of money by staying at this "hostel" though I thought the service and accommodations were closer to that of a hotel! We were glad to give our business to this great family-run hostel!Might be an especially great pick for anyone visiting a member of USAC (the study abroad program) in San Ramon, as it is just a short walk from the University.
We thank Hostel Sabana for welcoming us to Costa Rica and adding to our great vacation!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar R, Manager at Hostel Sabana, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hi Irene thank you so much for review and highlighting all the little things we do to make our guests stay more enjoyable, we couldn't have said it better. It was great meeting you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. ¡Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
7
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stayed at Hostel Sabana for one night after a hellish 5 hour bus journey from the coast. I showed up in town without a reservation and nowhere else to go. Little did I know that they were booked up full. After chatting with the staff for a bit they said that they did have one extra room that they could convert into a sleeping space for me. I was so grateful and amazed that I cannot describe how blessed they made me feel. The make-shift room they made up was much more than that, it had a private bath and a comfortable double bed. The Hostel is only 4 blocks from a cool little restaurant that has awesome nachos and is only 10 minutes from the bus station, park, and cathedral. I can't wait to come back and spend more time at Hostel Sabana and San Ramon, the town has a magnetic vibe to it. I highly recommend visiting.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar R, Owner at Hostel Sabana, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hi Gus thanks for your response we are really glad you enjoyed your stay and that you were ok with the room. Since we are the only hostel in San Ramon we really try our best to accommodate all travelers. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your journey and hope to see you again in the future.
¡pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2014

My sister & I stayed at the hostel for 2 weeks whilst volunteering in San Ramon. Our rooms were cleaned daily & the staff were always happy to help us in anyway they could, be it directions in town or bookings & discounts for activities.The included breakfast was delicious- this family can definitely cook! Thank you for a wonderful stay. Hope to be back in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianaBrenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar R, Manager at Hostel Sabana, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hey girls thanks for your review and for being flexible around our life events. We do our best to make everyone feel at home. Good luck back at home and let us know the next time you are in town. ¡Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This was a wonderful hostel. The staff was friendly and the accommodations were excellent. I'll absolutely return the next time I'm in the area! The hostel was in a safe area and you could very easily access the rest of the town by foot.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar R, Owner at Hostel Sabana, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Hi Ben,
Thank you for the review we are really glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you again in the future.
¡Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peck, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I highly recommend staying here. It was very clean and the owners were friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable. I was able to keep my luggage there while I traveled. They provided a shuttle to the airport. I would recommend ear plugs if you aren't used to street noise. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The back room away from the street might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar R, Owner at Hostel Sabana, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. There isn't much we can do about the traffic but the rooms in back are a little quieter. We hope you had a safe trip home and for any traveler that wants to use San Ramón as their base we are happy to store their luggage for them while they are visiting other parts of Costa Rica.

¡pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I know the Rojas family very well from volunteering for Habitat for Humanity many years ago. They are so warm, caring and kind. They treat everyone like family. The hostel is so clean and is located right in the heart of San Ramon. It is a perfect place to stay while you are in San Ramon de Alajuela. Make sure you toma cafe with Edgar, Miriam, and Melissa. They are amazing people, that you will absolutely adore!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar R, Owner at Hostel Sabana, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi Michelle thank you for your kind comments. We really enjoyed seeing you and hope you had a great time visiting Costa Rica de nuevo. ¡Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stay at this place every time I go to San Ramon. It is clean and the owners are on sight. It is safe, clean, hot water, and in walking distance to the city center. I highly recommend this place. I think I will be staying there again in March of next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar R, Owner at Hostel Sabana, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello TAJASM,
Thank you so much for your review. Being a small family run hostel we really pride ourselves in providing clean, safe and friendly accommodations. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again in the future.

¡Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ramon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostal Los Parques
Hostal Los Parques
#2 of 4 in San Ramon
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
0.0 mi away
Casa Amanecer B&B
Casa Amanecer B&B
#1 of 5 in San Ramon
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Sabana

Property: Hostel Sabana
Address: Meters West Of the Hospital 700, San Ramon 12345, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Canton of San Ramon > San Ramon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in San Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at San Ramon's first hostel! Opened in April 2012, Hostel Sabana is the perfect stopover for budget travelers arriving in Costa Rica. Located just 45 minutes from the airport, we are a perfect rest stop for travelers looking to access the beaches of Guanacaste, and for those looking to enter the rain forest region of San Carlos. Our rooms sleep a maximum of 6 people and all have private bathrooms and showers. We are 100% Costa Rican run and owned. Come stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Sabana Costa Rica/San Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing