We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Friends & Warm Hospitality”
Review of Hostel Sabana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Sabana
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I know the Rojas family very well from volunteering for Habitat for Humanity many years ago. They are so warm, caring and kind. They treat everyone like family. The hostel is so clean and is located right in the heart of San Ramon. It is a perfect place to stay while you are in San Ramon de Alajuela. Make sure you toma cafe with Edgar, Miriam, and Melissa. They are amazing people, that you will absolutely adore!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar R, Owner at Hostel Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Hi Michelle thank you for your kind comments. We really enjoyed seeing you and hope you had a great time visiting Costa Rica de nuevo. ¡Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 36 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stay at this place every time I go to San Ramon. It is clean and the owners are on sight. It is safe, clean, hot water, and in walking distance to the city center. I highly recommend this place. I think I will be staying there again in March of next year!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar R, Owner at Hostel Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Hello TAJASM,
Thank you so much for your review. Being a small family run hostel we really pride ourselves in providing clean, safe and friendly accommodations. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again in the future.

¡Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

These people treated me like family. They invited me out every day to go into the city with them. I had an opportunity to feel like a local. Their kindness is unparalleled. This is the hostel to stay at. With them, you are family

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haleyhill7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Hostel Sabana was the perfect home base hostel for my friend and I to stay at. We were volunteering in San Ramon and on weekends travelled around Costa Rica. The owners always welcomed us home with warm arms and kept our other belongings safe while we were out. They are very friendly, resourceful and helpful. It was clean, spacious, and had all the basic needs of travellers. If you are staying in San Ramon I would definitely suggest this hostel!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Tori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar R, Owner at Hostel Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thanks for your comment. We are so glad that you felt comfortable like you were in your own home. We always treat our guests like family and make your safety and comfort our number 1 priority. We really enjoyed meeting you, thank you for the picture frame it was really nice and if you ever return to San Ramon please come by to visit us :)
Saludos,
Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We traveled by public bus and private shuttle staying mostly in BNBs rather than hostels.Thus Hostel Sabana was somewhat unique. Our Sunday night room was clean and comfortable; the staff was friendly. A taxi stand, located just outside makes getting around San Ramon easy.

Room Tip: We were lucky to get the room that was not on the main road across the street from the transportatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaterlooDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar R, Manager at Hostel Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013
Google Translation

Hola! muchas gracias por su comentario, nos sentimos felices de poderles brindar una buena atención y estadía en San Ramon.
Hostel Sabana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Though not in a pretty neighbourhood, this new hostel is still a good place to stay. It is only a few minute´s walk into town. People in San Ramon are friendly and I always felt safe though I did not roam about after dark. My room was simple but clean and spacious. There is some noise from the road but it didn´t bother me and I slept like a log. The temperature was always pleasant with fresh breezes from the north.
What was really special was that I was included in a couple of family outings and had opportunities few tourists do to participate in Costa Rican life.The family members as well as the young American guy, Dustin, who works there were all very helpful and spent time in conversation helping me with my Spanish.
The only problem I had which was lack of a kitchen will be fixed very shortly as they are constructing a kitchen and laundry for the hostel. Amemorable time for me.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunLover054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar R, Manager at Hostel Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Hola Margarita,
Thank you for your review. It was great to have you along on our various get togethers and trips. Next time you come back we'll be sure to have the guest kitchen and laundry room complete.
¡Pura Vida!
Familia Rojas Castro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Hostel Sabana was so helpful, friendly, and welcoming. I would strongly suggest anyone traveling to San Ramon should stay there!
It is a great value and they gave us our own room. The dorm room has it's own bathroom with a sink in the room- I love this in a dorm room so that everyone can use it at once.
They speak English and know the area very well. San Ramon seems like a nice town. I felt very safe there. Everyone was so friendly. If you are going to festival Palmares this is where you want to stay!
The taxi driver didn't know where it was, but just tell them it is west of the hospital and you will find it easily. There is a nice large sign.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annieb003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar R, Manager at Hostel Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Hi Annie,
It was great meeting you and your friends Damian and Sarah. I'm glad you were able to enjoy San Ramon as well as the Palmares festival. We are trying to train the taxi drivers but since we're rather new they have some trouble locating it. But you're right, just west of the hospital on the main road, can't miss the sign.
Saludos,
Dustin and Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ramon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostal Los Parques
Hostal Los Parques
#3 of 4 in San Ramon
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Amanecer B&B
Casa Amanecer B&B
#1 of 5 in San Ramon
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vista Valverde Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Sabana

Address: Meters West Of the Hospital 700, San Ramon 12345, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Canton of San Ramon > San Ramon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in San Ramon
Price Range: $10 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at San Ramon's first hostel! Opened in April 2012, Hostel Sabana is the perfect stopover for budget travelers arriving in Costa Rica. Located just 45 minutes from the airport, we are a perfect rest stop for travelers looking to access the beaches of Guanacaste, and for those looking to enter the rain forest region of San Carlos. Our rooms sleep a maximum of 6 people and all have private bathrooms and showers. We are 100% Costa Rican run and owned. Come stay with us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostel Sabana Costa Rica/San Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing