We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vista Valverde Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 San Ramon B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 26, 2013

From the moment you meet Tom and Susan you realize this is going to be a pleasant experience...and THEN you see the view and the accommodations and realize you have made an incredibly wise choice to stay here.Traveling with our son and daughter-in-law, the two bedroom Palms cabin suited our needs perfectly. Words simply cannot describe the beauty of the panoramic views. From the comfort of your rocking chairs you have spectacular views of the Nicoya Peninsular miles away, the Bay, and the Pacific Ocean. Our accommodations were clean, well appointed, and the kitchen nicely equipped. Breakfast was eagerly anticipated each morning because it was delicious!!! Huge platters of fresh fruit, muffins, bacon and Costa Rican coffee greeted us each am while hot delicious entrees were coming out of the oven or off the stovetop! These people know how to cook! We were at Vista Valverde for ten days and benefited from Tom and Susan 's generous attitude in their sharing of helpful information on all things "moving to or touring Costa Rica!". They love nature, music, art, cooking and each other! We highly recommend this experience to all and look forward to staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: They are all good and look even better in person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank copineda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tackley, Owner at Vista Valverde Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

John & Carol--guests like you are why we do what we do. Your fabulous attitudes, easy-going natures, and your excitement about being in Costa Rica, make it a pleasure to have you as guests-turned-family. When our guests arrive as strangers, and leave as good friends, it makes our lives joyful and rewarding. Thanks for your kind words... but mostly for your wonderful spirits. We hope to see you soon in your new digs!!! Tom & Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 90 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

When we decided to return to Costa Rica, another stay at Vista Valverde was a requirement. First of all, Tom & Sue have devoted a tremendous amount of time in Vista Valverde. The double cabinia is perfect for two couples. it's close to their house but still private enough. Sue spends a considerable amount of time preparing a breakfast for us....at any time! The landscaping is beautiful. Thank you, Tom & Sue.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rotorhead100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tackley, Owner at Vista Valverde Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

You guys were wonderful to have here. the four of you were enthusiastic about everything, and the flying conversations were great fun. please drop us a note and tell us about the rest of your trip... I will be keeping an eye out for you! best! tom and susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We can't imagine a more beautiful spot or more gracious hosts. What spectacular panoramic views! Thank you, Tom and Susan, for the delicious food, your great sense of humor, and warm hospitality. We love Costa Rica and our visit with you was certainly a highlight of our trip!. Don and Janie, San Clemente, CA

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tackley, Owner at Vista Valverde Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Don and Janie... thanks for your kind words. it was great having you here, and we hope you return soon! best to you both! Tom and Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We wanted to spend some time in the San Ramon area to get a feel for a "real" Costa Rican city that we could use as a base for a few days and could not have found a place with better hosts. We opted not to rent a car and Susan & Tom were incredibly helpful in arranging transportation for us. Besides a listing of attractions in the area, they gave us great tips about each place. The views are spectacular and the cabina is quiet and cozy. The bed is comfortable and we had plenty of DVDs from their library to keep us entertained during the little bit of down time that we chose. Also, the food was wonderful! They're both great cooks and make a real effort to accommodate any special requests.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tackley, Owner at Vista Valverde Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

We really enjoyed having you here! Your keen interest in all things Costa Rican motivates us to share our experience here. We would love to have you return!! Best, Tom & Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

What a fantastic time I had at Vista Valverde during my visit to Costa Rica. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a quality experience while in Costa Rica. Tom and his wife were so incredibly accomodating!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tackley, Owner at Vista Valverde Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Joe, thanks for your kind comments. One of the joys of being here, is the quality of guests that come to visit. we are grateful. Best, Tom & Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Nothing typical about this BnB; the vertiginous drive-way leads to a house with a breathtaking panoramic view, sparkling lights at sunset and a sky full of stars interspersed with drifting banks of clouds We stayed in the cabin on the hill that had an even more fabulous view, beautiful, comfortable furniture, a well-appointed kitchen and, always so important, a great bed. Susan and Tom are that rarity; kind and extremely interesting people anyone would want for friends. Susan is a great gardener who planned all the landscaping herself, not to mention executing all but the heaviest parts. Tom is the kind of guy who will get you any information you need; if he doesn't know, he'll find out. This includes Spanish translations!
I give this place my highest possible recommendation.

Room Tip: There was no swimming pool or fitness centre. Try to drive up the hill for the first time before d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doug and kathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tackley, Owner at Vista Valverde Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Doug and Kathy! thanks for your kind words. it was a joy to have you here... only wish you could have stayed longer. come again, and we'll drink a beer and watch the sky! best, tom & susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband, my 11 month old and I stopped here for one night between la fortuna and dominical and I wish we had arranged to stay a little longer. Our cabin was up on a hill with breathtaking views of the city, ocean, and mountains. A gorgeous sunset as well. The cabin was lovely, modern and clean. The hosts were very friendly and fun to get to know. Susan even sewed up a pair of shorts for me that needed repair. They were accommodating of our baby as well and were full if suggestions of where to go and where to eat. Breakfast was delicious and filling. I highly recommend this place, thanks Susan and Tom!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boynehausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tackley, Owner at Vista Valverde Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Sarah... thanks for your comments. we loved having you, Jeff, and Zoe here. that Zoe is precious! we hope that the weather in Maine wasn't too drastic upon your return. send some pics when it's easy. best, tom & susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
8.8 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
9.8 mi away
Barons Resort
Barons Resort
#2 of 4 in Atenas
80 reviews
4.0 mi away
Casa Amanecer B&B
Casa Amanecer B&B
#1 of 5 in San Ramon
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
13.7 mi away
Lands in Love Hotel & Resort (Tierras Enamoradas)
Lands in Love Hotel & Resort (Ti...
#1 of 1 in Colonia Palmarena
508 reviews
8.4 mi away
Tiriguro Lodge
Tiriguro Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orotina
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Valverde Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Valverde Bed & Breakfast

Address: Calle Valverde, San Ramon 20209, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Canton of San Ramon > San Ramon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in San Ramon
Price Range: $76 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellness*Relaxation*Adventure Vista Valverde is our private mountain-top rental casita home with wonderful Pacific and Nicoya Gulf views, perfect temperatures (no AC or heat needed), great bird watching and gardens, delicous breakfasts, and warm hospitality. Our cabin rentals are small houses with sitting areas, kitchens, beautifully built with great firm beds, private baths, and walls of windows to take in the views. We are only 10 minutes from San Ramon's center, 45 minutes to the airport (although you would never know it) and nestled in the center of so many adventures from beaches to volcanos that folks stay here for weeks. Whether you are looking for a romantic getaway or traveling with the whole family and little ones, come find your Pura Vida here at Vista Valverde. We also cater to large gatherings from family reunions to intimate weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vista Valverde Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Valverde Bed & Breakfast Costa Rica/San Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing