We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with great hosts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ramon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vista Valverde Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 San Ramon B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
“Great stay with great hosts!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We wanted to spend some time in the San Ramon area to get a feel for a "real" Costa Rican city that we could use as a base for a few days and could not have found a place with better hosts. We opted not to rent a car and Susan & Tom were incredibly helpful in arranging transportation for us. Besides a listing of attractions in the area, they gave us great tips about each place. The views are spectacular and the cabina is quiet and cozy. The bed is comfortable and we had plenty of DVDs from their library to keep us entertained during the little bit of down time that we chose. Also, the food was wonderful! They're both great cooks and make a real effort to accommodate any special requests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tackley, Owner at Vista Valverde Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We really enjoyed having you here! Your keen interest in all things Costa Rican motivates us to share our experience here. We would love to have you return!! Best, Tom & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
49
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deale, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2013

What a fantastic time I had at Vista Valverde during my visit to Costa Rica. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a quality experience while in Costa Rica. Tom and his wife were so incredibly accomodating!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tackley, Owner at Vista Valverde Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Joe, thanks for your kind comments. One of the joys of being here, is the quality of guests that come to visit. we are grateful. Best, Tom & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Nothing typical about this BnB; the vertiginous drive-way leads to a house with a breathtaking panoramic view, sparkling lights at sunset and a sky full of stars interspersed with drifting banks of clouds We stayed in the cabin on the hill that had an even more fabulous view, beautiful, comfortable furniture, a well-appointed kitchen and, always so important, a great bed. Susan and Tom are that rarity; kind and extremely interesting people anyone would want for friends. Susan is a great gardener who planned all the landscaping herself, not to mention executing all but the heaviest parts. Tom is the kind of guy who will get you any information you need; if he doesn't know, he'll find out. This includes Spanish translations!
I give this place my highest possible recommendation.

Room Tip: There was no swimming pool or fitness centre. Try to drive up the hill for the first time before d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doug and kathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tackley, Owner at Vista Valverde Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Doug and Kathy! thanks for your kind words. it was a joy to have you here... only wish you could have stayed longer. come again, and we'll drink a beer and watch the sky! best, tom & susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband, my 11 month old and I stopped here for one night between la fortuna and dominical and I wish we had arranged to stay a little longer. Our cabin was up on a hill with breathtaking views of the city, ocean, and mountains. A gorgeous sunset as well. The cabin was lovely, modern and clean. The hosts were very friendly and fun to get to know. Susan even sewed up a pair of shorts for me that needed repair. They were accommodating of our baby as well and were full if suggestions of where to go and where to eat. Breakfast was delicious and filling. I highly recommend this place, thanks Susan and Tom!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boynehausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tackley, Owner at Vista Valverde Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Sarah... thanks for your comments. we loved having you, Jeff, and Zoe here. that Zoe is precious! we hope that the weather in Maine wasn't too drastic upon your return. send some pics when it's easy. best, tom & susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2013

For our first visit to Costa Rica we are staying on the Pacific Coast with stunning beaches, but wanted to experience the 'real' CR in the interior. San Ramon is a delightful town and close to many wonderful sights in the Central Highlands. We traveled to the Poas Volcano & Tom strongly encouraged us to visit La Paz Waterfall Gardens, which is exceptional. You can do both in a great day trip from Tom & Susan's place and we made it back in time for the exquisite sunset. Next day we did a terrific coffee tour in Naranjo, another delightful town. The B&B is warm, friendly, clean and did I say friendly? We stayed in the guest room in T&S's house; our friends stayed in the 1 bedroom cabin. Both were very comfortable & we were made to feel right at home. The view is awesome; the drive up to the B&B is not for the faint of heart. But you can't expect to get such views without a steep roadway. Word of warning, the food is wonderful and plentiful. If you like to clean your plate, you may disappoint! Thank you so much Susan & Tom.

Room Tip: Amazing price for any of the rooms; the 1 bedroom cabin has an exceptional view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tackley, Owner at Vista Valverde Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Cathy, thanks for your kind words. you and your group were great to have here. we love the enthusiasm our guests have for seeing all they can, while they are in country. You guys have the right spirit! You are welcome here anytime! best, tom & susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Falls, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Breathtaking views and private, tranquil setting. Outstanding company with Tom and Sue! Staying the first few nights in Costa Rica for the first time, Tom and Sue, were the best hosts and set our trip up for success. Tons of information about the country, people, places, ins and outs etc.

The food, views, company, and atmosphere that they create was a highlight of our trip!

I loved waking up and starting our day by sitting out on the veranda with the most delicious breakfast, coffee and great conversation.
So much more personal than staying at a hotel.

This is definitely a place that we will return and highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgetslyker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tackley, Owner at Vista Valverde Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Bridget.. it was wonderful having you and your delightful family here! Know you are welcome anytime!

Best,

tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2012

San Ramon is a charming city, and Vista Valverde is absolutely beautiful, settled on lovely mountainside. The cabins are lovely, have plenty of privacy and AMAZING views. The food is the best I have ever eaten!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
8.8 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
19.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
847 reviews
4.0 mi away
Casa Amanecer B&B
Casa Amanecer B&B
#1 of 5 in San Ramon
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Eden Atenas
Eden Atenas
#2 of 7 in Atenas
125 reviews
13.7 mi away
Lands in Love Hotel & Resort (Tierras Enamoradas)
Lands in Love Hotel & Resort (Ti...
#1 of 1 in Colonia Palmarena
489 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Los Parques
Hostal Los Parques
#2 of 4 in San Ramon
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Valverde Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Valverde Bed & Breakfast

Property: Vista Valverde Bed & Breakfast
Address: Calle Valverde, San Ramon 20209, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Canton of San Ramon > San Ramon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in San Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellness*Relaxation*Adventure Vista Valverde is our private mountain-top B&B with wonderful Pacific and Nicoya Gulf views, perfect temperatures (no AC or heat needed), great bird watching and gardens, delicous breakfasts, and warm hospitality. Our new construction with 3 ECOSuites coming in late 2015. Our cabin rentals are small houses with sitting areas, kitchens, beautifully built with great firm beds, private baths, and walls of windows to take in the views. We are only 10 minutes from San Ramon's center, 45 minutes to the airport (although you would never know it) and nestled in the center of so many adventures from beaches to volcanos that folks stay here for weeks. Whether you are looking for a romantic getaway or traveling with the whole family and little ones, come find your Pura Vida here at Vista Valverde. We also cater to large gatherings from family reunions to intimate weddings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Valverde Bed & Breakfast Costa Rica/San Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing