We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A not so well kept secret”
Review of Skovshoved Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skovshoved Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlottenlund
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have been here privately, I have been here with customers, I have been here for drinks, for full meals, for my honeymoon night of bliss.
And through many years when Tufa ws in management, I have never been let down.
A special thank also to Gerome in the restaurant, for being so nice to my daughter and keeping professional , even if personal. Try the scallops!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helle j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 141 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

Given the high-end location, the inviting exterior of the hotel's main building and the stylish interior design of the lounge and restaurant, I had higher expectations on what was delivered: In summary it is mediocre.

Dirty glasses and dishes were not cleared in the lounge from previous guests. Main course totally oversalted, dry and if it was not for the salt: tasteless. Staff arguing with host's request in front of guests (trying to prove that the guest was wrong).

Receptionists speaking so loud with other staff that the lounge experience becomes much less relaxing and actually a quite painful experience.

The place should have great potential, but it needs serious focus on quality and the GUEST.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Canvazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skovshoved, Manager at Skovshoved Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

We are sorry to hear, you had a bad experience, when you recently visited us. We try always to focus on our guests and their requests in the hope that they will have a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. It appears that we didn’t live up to our standards in your case. We thank you for your opinion and I assure you I will address all the comments in your review with the appropriate staff.

I hope you will describe in detail the circumstances of your experience on my email, so that we as a hotel can strive to get better. My email is: jud@skovshovedhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Historical Hotel close to the beach, nice walking distance to the city centre, 15 min. walk to Denmark's Aquarium.

Aquarium is located on the beautiful grounds of Charlottenlund Slotshave.

Hotel is old, two stories building with balconies, clean rooms, new style bathrooms. It has a great restaurant, dinner was very good, fresh and first class service.
We loved it and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liudmilla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We are coming back to Skovshoved Hotel its very nice small and like staying home. Lovely breakfast, nice lounge area, and the rooms are very friendly. The service was very quick and very helpful. It only takes 25 min. by taxi to the center of copenhagen.

Room Tip: Room with a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mglahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Beautiful place for a romantic getaway if you are willing to spend a day out from the center of Copenhagen. Even though I love Copenhagen center, I often feel a lack of green areas and open space there. If you are not on the fast track city break, the Skovshoved Hotel is the best alternative one could consider. Charlottenlund is located about 7 km away from the center, it is a tiny seaside village with seaside promenade and absolutely fantastic traditional Danish country houses. The scenery is so picturesque, you just can't get enough of walking around there!

City center is accessible by the bus (stop in front of the hotel) or by the train (station within walking distance).

Hotel itself is also beautiful old traditional building with lovely balconies, very nice and cosy interiors. The highlight of the place is definitely the Restaurant, which has also been recommended by Michelin Travel Guide. It is definitely worth of every second you spend there.

The very best of Scandinavian romance!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annekreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay with our two kids. We had our meals in the pub/ kro and not in the restaurant. Large and tasty portions and friendly service.

I don´t quite understand why this hotel is marketed as a bathing hotel. The beach close by is impossible to bath in except for the bathing pier, which was inhabited by a large group of teenagers when we were there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuneViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night and thought it to e absolutely fantastic! My fiancée (we got engaged on the balcony of our room here!) had asked for a superior double with a balcony and we were not disappointed. There was a great selection in the minibar, he room was furnished well and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

We also ate at the hotel restaurant, which is Michelin recommended and both of our meals were, by far, the best we have ever tasted! Fantastic food, great location- perfect for a romantic escape!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benandanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlottenlund
Hellerup Parkhotel
#1 of 1 in Hellerup
236 reviews
Kurhotel Skodsborg
#1 of 1 in Skodsborg
323 reviews
Schaeffergarden
#1 of 4 in Gentofte Municipality
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#25 of 118 in Copenhagen
4,112 reviews
Gentofte Hotel
#63 of 118 in Copenhagen
264 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#9 of 118 in Copenhagen
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skovshoved Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skovshoved Hotel

Address: Strandvejen 267, Charlottenlund 2920, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen Region > Gentofte Municipality > Charlottenlund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlottenlund
Price Range: $151 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Skovshoved Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to welcome you at one of Denmark’s most charming hotels.You will find the hotel – cosy, presence, hip and romantic, at the same time.Skovshoved Hotel is located north of Copenhagen (only 7 kilometres). It is beautifully surrounded by old fishers men houses andmore wealthy modern houses Close to beaches, Nature, architecture and shopping areas.We welcome you to 22 modern rooms with balcony and sea view, perfect for work or treatment.Since 2011 our restaurant was awarded with a Bib Gourmand by the prestige’s Michelin guide as the only hotel in Scandinavian.Skovshoved Hotel and Restaurant is a modern hotel with unique facilities and with 350 years of atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Skovshoved Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skovshoved Hotel Charlottenlund, Denmark - Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing