We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best of Scandinavian romance”
Review of Skovshoved Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skovshoved Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlottenlund
Rovaniemi, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The very best of Scandinavian romance”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Beautiful place for a romantic getaway if you are willing to spend a day out from the center of Copenhagen. Even though I love Copenhagen center, I often feel a lack of green areas and open space there. If you are not on the fast track city break, the Skovshoved Hotel is the best alternative one could consider. Charlottenlund is located about 7 km away from the center, it is a tiny seaside village with seaside promenade and absolutely fantastic traditional Danish country houses. The scenery is so picturesque, you just can't get enough of walking around there!

City center is accessible by the bus (stop in front of the hotel) or by the train (station within walking distance).

Hotel itself is also beautiful old traditional building with lovely balconies, very nice and cosy interiors. The highlight of the place is definitely the Restaurant, which has also been recommended by Michelin Travel Guide. It is definitely worth of every second you spend there.

The very best of Scandinavian romance!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annekreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    40
    18
    13
    10
See reviews for
16
49
1
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay with our two kids. We had our meals in the pub/ kro and not in the restaurant. Large and tasty portions and friendly service.

I don´t quite understand why this hotel is marketed as a bathing hotel. The beach close by is impossible to bath in except for the bathing pier, which was inhabited by a large group of teenagers when we were there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuneViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night and thought it to e absolutely fantastic! My fiancée (we got engaged on the balcony of our room here!) had asked for a superior double with a balcony and we were not disappointed. There was a great selection in the minibar, he room was furnished well and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

We also ate at the hotel restaurant, which is Michelin recommended and both of our meals were, by far, the best we have ever tasted! Fantastic food, great location- perfect for a romantic escape!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benandanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Our kids were not at home so my wife and I decided to book a night at Skovshoved Hotel to enjoy their excellent restaurant that have been recommended by Michelin. We've been there before and they never disappoint. From you walk in to the reception and until you leave you're met with friendly staff who are more than willing to assist you. We booked a Summer Stay for 1000 DKK per person including bubbles and fruit on arrival, 3 course dinner and breakfast in the morning. That is very reasonably priced. We got a room with sea view and what a view of Øresund. I can really recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to see the good side of Denmark!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephphen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

The hotel, as everyone agrees here, has a great location..... Beautiful locales, some excellent views and amazing food justifying the Michelin rating, plus the bus stop right outside. However I still give it 3 stars because of the obvious lack of manpower to run a hotel! Had it not been for one young lady at the reception, our stay wouldn't have been a comfortable one (during the times she was working)! But since she was there, and worked real hard, I will not give a lower rating. Being an old hotel this place has no elevators. Had we known, we might have chosen a diffeent hotel, coz being international travelers, we had pretty large suitcases which we had to lug ourselves (tho the aforementioned lady did help a bit). Also, the housekeeping was only nominal at best! I can imagine the business meeting people had a good time coz it was a bit at the cost of us others :-)
So..... In summary, I would still recommend it for a short romantic getaway when you have very light luggage. Had that been my situation, I might have given another star!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Uttarakhandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Everything was perfect. The staff - every single one of them from front desk to chamber maids - are exceptional. Their attention to our needs (we were a business group) was beyond compare. The food in the restaurant is the best I have ever had -- full stop. The chefs are creative. Every meal had a surprise taste sensation. They were serving a group of 14 of us and the attention to detail was exceptional. The hotel location is beautiful, so close to the sea that walking was wonderful and some swam in the ocean. A bus runs right into Copenhagen from the front door of the hotel so visiting the city was easy. As a business group our needs for wireless were met, the meeting rooms with outdoor space was such a bonus and nothing was left to chance. Thank you to all who made my week there absolutley perfect!

Room Tip: I had a large room with a balcony over the street. There was very little noise but the sound of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dot-Evelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

A complete lack of service, incredibly poorly furnished rooms, and dangerous wiring mean this was a real disappointment. I have stayed in better hostels at a magnitude lower cost.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j6nvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlottenlund
Kurhotel Skodsborg
#1 of 1 in Skodsborg
309 reviews
Hellerup Parkhotel
#1 of 1 in Hellerup
226 reviews
Gentofte Hotel
#59 of 117 in Copenhagen
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schaeffergarden
#1 of 5 in Gentofte Municipality
123 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
257 reviews
Scandic Eremitage
#1 of 2 in Kongens Lyngby
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skovshoved Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skovshoved Hotel

Property: Skovshoved Hotel
Address: Strandvejen 267, Charlottenlund 2920, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen Region > Gentofte Municipality > Charlottenlund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlottenlund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Skovshoved Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to welcome you at one of Denmark’s most charming hotels.You will find the hotel – cosy, presence, hip and romantic, at the same time.Skovshoved Hotel is located north of Copenhagen (only 7 kilometres). It is beautifully surrounded by old fishers men houses andmore wealthy modern houses Close to beaches, Nature, architecture and shopping areas.We welcome you to 22 modern rooms with balcony and sea view, perfect for work or treatment.Since 2011 our restaurant was awarded with a Bib Gourmand by the prestige’s Michelin guide as the only hotel in Scandinavian.Skovshoved Hotel and Restaurant is a modern hotel with unique facilities and with 350 years of atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Skovshoved Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skovshoved Hotel Charlottenlund, Denmark - Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing