We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Long Stay”
Review of Penzion UNO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penzion UNO
Ranked #2 of 16 Zlin B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent 21 days at the Penzion Uno in Zlin, Czech Republic. Our experience was wonderful! The room was very spacious, had a balcony with a great view, had a kitchen stocked with everything to cook a nice dinner, and a lounge area to relax. The room wasnt modern but the service was unparalelled. Our room was cleaned everyday, even on the days when we only left for breakfast for less than 30 min! Hannah and Chesmire were happy to help in every way- driving us, directions, advice on day trips. My husband got stuck in Frankfurt and they helped - on their day off- arrange a car to Zlin. The restaurant- closed for dinner on Sunday- is delicious. Pork tenderloin and gnocchi were my faves! Breakfast is made to order and again delicious. It is about a mile to downtown which even in winter was not a bad walk and the grocery store is a 10 min walk. They were so accomodating and went out of their way to make our long/emotional (IVF) stay very comforting. Felt like home! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 56 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was our second visit to the Uno and we enjoyed it just as much as our first. This time we stayed in room 8, on the second floor (ground, one, two) and were happy with this room. We enjoy having a kitchenette so we can prepare some snacks and small meals.

Breakfast is great as usual and the family are very friendly and helpful. If you are an international visitor to Zlin for more than a few days, then this is the best place to stay. A 20 minute or so walk in to town depending how fast you walk, perhaps a little longer on the way back as it is uphill. The value here is unbeatable.

Thanks again for a great stay,

Room Tip: Rooms 7-10 are on the top floor (floor 2) and there are several stairs however rooms 7 and 10 have l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiefemale23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed three nights at Penzion Uno with my family. The location is nice and in a quiet place.
We had two rooms - very different - one in romantic style and the other very functional, even including a kitchen. Rooms were clean and comfortable.
We took the opportunity to have dinner at the penzion on the day of our arrival. While the restaurant was occupied by by a wedding, we had our dinner in the garden. The food was very good, though slightly overpriced for the location.
We stayed during a very hot summer days, so we had to keep our windows open during the night. This was an issue in one of our rooms, when the wedding party run until the night, and in the other, where there was an airconditioning external unit opposite the window (and was on the last night).
The breakfast was a disappointment. For the first night we agreed to have breakfast at 8:00, but spend a while running around a locked restaurant until it was opened at 8:10. There is a small buffet available(VERY small, bread was at least a day old) and main part of breakfast is on order. If you are not an egg lover, your choice is limited to cheese/ham platter. The breakfast is prepared by the owner and it takes him a while until it is ready. We were lucky enough to be first on breakfast every day, another family had to wait for about 15-20 minutes. Being on business, that would not work at all.

Room Tip: I would suggest to go for for a garden view, provided there is not a party running till late night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Standa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripanozom, Manager at Penzion UNO, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry you were disappointed with your stay. I apologize for any noize while the wedding took place. We are doing our best to keep the wedding inside the restaurant and end party at 24:00.
Again, I´m sorry you´ve had to wait 10 minutes for the breakfast and that you find the breakfast service slow. Our goal is to prepare breakfast freshly and that´s why it takes a while. I believe it was a weekend, so there was no rush for a business meeting. Anyway in the meantime you can choose meal from the buffet which consists of cereals, butter, jam, honey, coffee, juice, water, jogurt and bread. There are more options for ordered part of breakfast than just eggs and ham/cheese platter. We offer sausage, beans, bacon, french toast, pancakes. We apologize if you were not informed clearly about your breakfast options.
Hopefully, you will give us another chance to change your mind about our property and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had a great stay at the Penzion Uno. The family that runs it is amazing! They really go above and beyond to make your stay exactly what you want. It's in a quiet neighborhood with a nice view of the city of Zlin. They also have a restaurant with very good food at reasonable prices. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Room #8 has A/C and a nice city view. Opt-in for breakfast - this is no continental breakfast by an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandMTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripanozom, Manager at Penzion UNO, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear customer, thank you for your feedback and lovely words about our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My wife, son and I have stayed at the Penzion Uno twice during visits to the Czech Republic. On both occasions we were extremely pleased with the service and accommodations. The lovely family running the B&B were extremely helpful, warm and welcoming. This family run hotel is clean and comfortable. We stayed in the "apartment" room since there were three of us, and we were very pleased with the room. We enjoyed the ample breakfasts and excellent dinner menu throughout our stays. The new dining room is just lovely! Jezmir, Hana and Martin made us feel like family, picking us up at the train station and providing transportation all the way to Prague on both occasions. The prices are very fair and the service is beyond excellent. There is also a grocery store a short (10 min) walk from the penzion where you can buy groceries or personal items, as well as an ATM (Bancomat) if you need get Czech Krowns. One item often overlooked is the location. Although it isn't right downtown the penzion is situated in a lovely, upscale and safe neighborhood that was perfect for taking walks. There is a hiking/biking trail and the penzion backs up to a nature area. From our room we had lovely views of the hills and forest. Our son was eight and after visiting Paris, Vienna, Prague and Zlin he said his favorite spots were the zoo in Zlin and the Penzion Uno! Too funny...thank you so much Jezmir, Hana and Martin!

Room Tip: If you need some extra space ask for the apartment. There is a separate bedroom and living room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolverine325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We loved staying at the Uno. The owners were warm and helpful and the breakfasts were delicious! Our room was great for the price we paid and had such a beautiful view.
They have every base covered and their taxi service is super convenient. The food at the restaurant was also brilliant.
If you don't mind a bit of a walk it's not long to town however the hills on the way back might be a challenge for people who are not very fit.
There is a big Kaufland supermarket a short walk away and two other supermarkets in town along with a small shopping centre.
Zlin was such a lovely place and we couldn't fault the Uno for their care and service especially when catering for a gluten and lactose intolerant guest!
Thanks for a great stay.
Don't hesitate in your decision of where to stay in Zlin, this is the place!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussiefemale23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripanozom, Manager at Penzion UNO, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear customer,
thank you very much for sharing your experiences with your stay. Information you provided are very helpful to other customer arriving to Zlin. I hope you are doing well.
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This was my second visit, and it's still true, the owners are a caring, honest, hardworking family. It was another heartwarming stay at this charming ( ever expanding) bed and breakfast. On my arrival after a long 18 plus hours of travel was greeted with a smile as I was picked up promptly from the bus station and I was delivered a delicious mouthwatering meal ( the special-rabbit cooked to perfection with homeade pasta noodles) to my room as it was Sunday and the new restaurant was closed. Daily I had choice of my freshly prepared breakfast and finally prearranged promt transportation to the airport. If I needed anything, like a conversion plug, all I had to do was ask. If you are looking for a local feel and a very reasonable rate then you just can't go wrong with the UNO. Thanks Martin, Hanna, and Chesmire!

Room Tip: If you want a bathtub and a deck with a beautiful view pick room 4. The pictures on the website don...
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zlin hotels
1.4 mi away
Interhotel Moskva
Interhotel Moskva
#4 of 9 in Zlin
50 reviews
8.3 mi away
Penzion Na Skole
Penzion Na Skole
#1 of 11 in Zlin
1 reviews
1.8 mi away
Koliba U Cerneho Medveda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pension ER1
Pension ER1
#5 of 16 in Zlin
11 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Baltaci Atrium
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baltaci U Nahonu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion UNO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion UNO

Address: Nivy II 4439, Zlin 760 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > Zlin Region > Zlin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Zlin
Price Range: $55 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Penzion UNO 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for accommodation in Zlin? Come to us, to Pension UNO. In our guesthouse, you can find a quality service and a pleasant atmosphere. You can enjoy standard and above standard services in thematic furnished rooms. Thanks to its location and a short distance of forest, Pension UNO is surrounded with beautiful nature and the smell of trees. Downtown of Zlin is just a 10 minute's walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Penzion UNO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing