We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for Seward and the money, I guess”
Review of Marina Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marina Motel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Reviewed June 10, 2006

The Marina Motel is just ok - nothing to get overly excited about. We had a room in the new section of the building so I can't speak to the rooms in the older section. Given its newness, everything was fresh and clean in our room. To be on the safe side, you might want to suggest a new room if booking.
Compared to the lower 48 states, this hotel is a bit lacking; however, compared to the rest of Alaska, I learned this hotel was probably ok for the money. Our biggest compaint it that is doesn't have air conditioning. I realize this is Alaska! However, you need AC - and here's why. In the summer it doesn't get dark. You have to close your blinds in order to sleep - when you close your blinds you lose all natural AC you might have otherwise gotten from the outside. In addition, this particular motel is a problem because all rooms are on the first floor and right on the highway. It is unsafe and loud to leave your windows open in the motel. So, in order to actually be able to sleep, you have to close the windows and curtains - which makes the room get quite hot. To top it all off, the curtains at the Marina Motel are not black-out curtains, so it was still quite light in the room.

Other issues were minor: no blow drier, no ice bucket liners, unusable TV remote.

We paid $99 / night. I'd pay up to $25-50 more to get better curtains and a cooler room. When I booked, the other Seward Hotels seemed more expensive, so you'll have to make the call for yourself.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank transmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Marina Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 119 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Arlington, VA
418
Reviewed July 20, 2005

We stayed at the Marina Motel for one night in July 2005. Although the rooms are OK, bear in mind that this is a small town in Alaska, not a large city in the "lower 48". Good cable TV, small refrigerator, and good blackout drapes, and the room was clean. However, the furnishings are somewhat tired and the bathroom is quite small. On another visit I would check more closely into what the competition offers.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2005

We stayed for one night at the Marina Motel in Seward. The motel is located within a short walking distance from the harbor.

The rooms are fairly standard - two double beds, bathroom, TV, etc. - but the key benefit of staying here in the summer is the lined, almost blackout drapes at the windows! The decor is a little outdated but the rooms are clean and tidy. If you are looking for more atmosphere this may not be your top choice.

Donna, the owner, was friendly and very helpful with suggestions for the area. The check-in/check-out process was efficient and easy. Room price was about $120 during the summer.

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this motel for a good, basic night's lodging.

10  Thank taistealai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2004

Since we were just needing a place to sleep and clean up before catching our overnight cruise the next morning, I looked for the best value with close proximity to the small boat harbor at Seward. What we got was an almost new atmosphere, an above average room, and an onsight "tour guide" who told us the best local place to eat, what time the attractions opened, and even suggested a twilight hike to Exit Glacier, which we did and enjoyed. The shuttle picked us up for our tour the next morning right outside the door and pointed out the bald eagle nest just 20 yards away from our motel window, complete with chicks just ready to fly. The clerk also offered to let us leave our car in the motel parking lot, where she and the staff would watch over it for us, even though I'm beginning to believe Alaska is the most crime-free state in the union. In all, a lovely resting place that was cleaner and more accomodating than some 4 star hotels we've stayed in! Give it a try!

39  Thank KR1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pezzente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Arnaud G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ninachat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,087 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#7 of 14 in Seward
155 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#8 of 14 in Seward
159 reviews
2.2 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Motel

Address: 1603 Seward Hwy, PO Box 1134, Seward, AK 99664
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range: $60 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient location, comfortable rooms all with small refrigerators and some with microwaves and beautiful views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Motel Seward
Marina Hotel Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing