We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We always stay at Hotel Seward”
Review of Hotel Seward

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Seward
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We always stay at Hotel Seward”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Hotel Seward is a historical hotel. Much of the history is preserved in the stories and photos that are displayed throughout the hotel. It is an older hotel. If you're looking for technology central, you're in Seward, AK. Leave it behind. Hotel Seward is one of the larger hotels in Seward, it is convenient to "downtown" and the sealife center, and the night life! it is within walking distance of the best restaurant Christo's, and best watering hole, The Yukon! Aside from events like Mt. Marathon and the Polar Dive it's a quiet getaway. It is not by the docks, so if you're fishing, you'll want to plan transportation.
The staff is friendly and accomodating. The facilities are clean and well kept... and they do have a nice lobby full of alaskan wildlife.
Additionally, the hotel is locally owned, so you know that the money you spend there is not only employing the people who work there, the money made there is staying within the community, (unlike say, the best western....)
Enjoy!

Room Tip: ask about what's available in the old and new sections. ask about specials and discounts. vocal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lallyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    187
    84
    34
    24
See reviews for
149
228
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Stayed in the new wing.
Spotlessly clean.
Wonderful beds.
Beautifully furnished. Comparable to a luxury hotel in Chicago.
Awesome view.
Friendly, helpful staff.
Would love to stay there again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Booked Hotel Seward for our trip and for the price we paid for our room, it wasn't worth it. Wifi in our room never worked, sink faucet broke, toilet seat broke and the ancient hairdryer on the wall (didn't even recognize what it was!) took a LONG time to dry my hair. Beds were okay and the place was clean. The lobby is jam packed with stuff - taxidermy animals and it's like a floral explosion. Everyone was nice, but I was rather disappointed for the price we paid for our room - $229 a night. If it was less than that I would have probably overlooked a few things.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copper Center, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Played tourist in Seward and stayed at this hotel for a night. We were pleasantly surprised by the decor and the cleanliness. Didn't even mind that the bath was " down the hall".
They do have a wing that is more modern and has the baths in your suite. Good location and history as it is from the early 1900's.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillowLakeBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Seward on July 28, 2011, the night before we boarded our cruise. This historic hotel is conveniently located, and we had a very nice stay there. Our room was quite nice, the beds were very comfortable, and the staff was helpful. The lobby is beautiful and very, very interesting!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly8402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I recommend this place to any one looking for comfort of home. my grandsons first salmon caught. chef was closed, but opened to make the best salmon dinner either one of us ever had. that was a very special moment in my life and my grandson.
love the place for that gesture.
thank you.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apcphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

This was a great place to stay. We had two connecting rooms, one for my wife and I and one for our two daughters. Rooms were well decorated and were very clean. We stayed in the newer part of the hotel, in the corner rooms above the lobby (cool). The staff was friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed the downtown area; several souv shops, small restaurants, and excellent views, as well as the Sealife Center (do the Sealife Center...it is well worth it). Remember, it is a small town. We had a car, so it was no problem getting around. You could walk from downtown to the dock, but it would be a bit of a walk. We stayed in Seward three days, but due to circumstances, only stayed here one night. Prices, as with all of AK are a bit high, but that is the way it is. We are VERY pickey, so if your experience is like ours, you will be very safisfied. It was one of those places where you are sorry to leave.

Room Tip: If you are willing to pay a little more, go for the executive room...Fireplace (electric), Robes to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
1.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,003 reviews
3.5 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#7 of 14 in Seward
149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#9 of 14 in Seward
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seward

Property: Hotel Seward
Address: 221 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Seward 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Seward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing