We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“greatest place,best owners and over the top staff.”
Review of Hotel Seward

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Seward
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Seward
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I recommend this place to any one looking for comfort of home. my grandsons first salmon caught. chef was closed, but opened to make the best salmon dinner either one of us ever had. that was a very special moment in my life and my grandson.
love the place for that gesture.
thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apcphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

504 - 510 of 592 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

This was a great place to stay. We had two connecting rooms, one for my wife and I and one for our two daughters. Rooms were well decorated and were very clean. We stayed in the newer part of the hotel, in the corner rooms above the lobby (cool). The staff was friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed the downtown area; several souv shops, small restaurants, and excellent views, as well as the Sealife Center (do the Sealife Center...it is well worth it). Remember, it is a small town. We had a car, so it was no problem getting around. You could walk from downtown to the dock, but it would be a bit of a walk. We stayed in Seward three days, but due to circumstances, only stayed here one night. Prices, as with all of AK are a bit high, but that is the way it is. We are VERY pickey, so if your experience is like ours, you will be very safisfied. It was one of those places where you are sorry to leave.

Room Tip: If you are willing to pay a little more, go for the executive room...Fireplace (electric), Robes to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Very clean! Older hotel but the executive queen double was very large. Nice view (stayed in the executive queen view room in Alaskan Wing w/electric fireplace) although it wasn't panoramic, saw fishing boats going out in the morning sitting by the table drinking coffee in the window made it special! The staff is very knowledgeable on the area and Wes, their fishing guide is one of the nicest people I met. He really goes out of his way to make your trip special. Definitely would stay here again. I like the area of town it is in with quaint Alaskan shops and good coffee house behind the hotel. Visit the Seward Alehouse and warm up next to the fire with a cold beer... very Alaskan. All within walking distance which is why you want to stay there. The best part is sitting in the lobby amidst all the trophies and talking to all the people that come through. Everyone is friendly and wants to share their experiences. The hotel is like a museum reading all the photos and relics on the wall. Small bar/restaurant with friendly staff and the food was really good. A must see.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for the rooms looking at the bay. No need for the electric fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fussyeater2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Since the Holiday Inn Express was booked solid, we opted to Hotel Seward and were pleasantly surprised. The Holiday Inn Express would have put us in the busy harbor section of Seward and the up charge for a waterfront view probably would have been necessary for quiet. In contrast, Hotel Seward is in the older historic section of Seward which is less bustling, but interesting.

We booked the Alaskan Executive king View room on the 3rd floor of the newer wing. Room amenities included bay windows, gas fireplace, microwave, refrigerator, two sinks, private bath, and king bed. The room was spacious and, although we were not on the water, we could watch the alpen glow while enjoying cocktails in our room.

Front staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean. Although someone on Trip Advisor rated the hotel restaurant highly, we opted to eat at Ray's Waterfront which had the best cedar-planked salmon!

The hotel was located within walking distance of the Alaska SeaLife Center and historic district shops and restaurants. The hotel's quiet and amenities easily compensated for the relative inconvenience of driving to the waterfront for glacier cruises and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanda71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The decor is not to my liking but it was clean and the staff was friendly. The phones didn't work and the room has no A/C but normally that's not a problem.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reefkeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stay awhile in Seward and see the sights of this beautiful area. The Hotel Seward is comfortable, interesting, guest accommodating, and has some nice large rooms. Walk around town from here and enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front on second or third floor offer views of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyOfSeeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Phone assistance in booking (outstanding). Room assurance (outstanding). Hotel staff (outstanding). Room --2 queen new section view of bay-- large enough for 4 adults and was exactly as on the website, included frig & microwave--(awesomely outstanding). As per other reader comments, the hotel is locally owned and I also viewed the "older" historic european style rooms and would have been comfortable booking if only 2 people. The bed was the most comfortable bed during our 10 day Alaskan adventure. Thanks for the wonderful experience.

Room Tip: the rooms are exactly as on the website. the older section has
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picclineshirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
0 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 13 in Seward
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#8 of 13 in Seward
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#7 of 13 in Seward
155 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 13 in Seward
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seward

Address: 221 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Seward
Price Range: $51 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Seward 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Seward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing