We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in town”
Review of Smoke Shack

Smoke Shack
Ranked #14 of 49 Restaurants in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Dine in a fun & comfortable atmosphere inside a historic Alaska Railroad car! We are open for breakfast & lunch serving homemade comfort food. We are open every day from 8 am- 3pm.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town”
Reviewed August 29, 2014

When we asked the locals where we should have breakfast, they asked if we wanted ok, good, better and best. We said the best and they told us we needed to head to the Smoke Shack. We'd seen the place as we drove into town and found it intriguing. The restaurant was in an old WWII railroad car. We were fortunate to get there early, as it's small and filled up quickly. We had bisquits and gravy with andouille sausage, along with a breakfast burrito - try the condiments (ranch and jalapeño ketchup). Coffee was terrific. The service was terrific and the food was great. There's limited seating, so get there early. If you're in town, try this place. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    105
    31
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Park City, UT
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Seward!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

LOVED the Smoke Shack! Husband and I were in Seward for a couple of days and this was our best meal of the trip. Had the pulled pork sandwiches which were super good! Service was excellent, portions were generous. I would make a point to eat here any and every time I visit Seward!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jfjjfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A good taste of Louisiana in seward!”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

I had the jalapeño burger and wasn't disappointed. Located in an old railcar, the atmosphere is great. We did dinner one night but didn't have time to come back for breakfast; the line was too long. All the locals said this was the best food in Seward and I tend to agree with them!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swimtag8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchor Point, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a cajun breakfast”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

this time my husband and i went in for breakfast. it was great. i had bisquets and gravy with egg and home fried potatos, and a side of grits. it was so good, i had to go back the next day and get a bowl of grits. very tasty.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carmen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
419 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Don't miss this BBQ!!!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Seafood is normally what you stop for in Alaska except when your in Seward. We had some great seafood in Seward but just for a change of pace decided to try this place. What a great surprise!! We tried to get in for breakfast but it was packed with a wait of 30 minutes so we decided to come back for lunch. It's a tiny little rail car that is kicking our some great BBQ. I don't think they take reservations but I wouldn't pass this up.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kruezers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smoke Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing