We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY NICE PLACE!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #34 of 44 Seward B&B and Inns
Brookfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“VERY NICE PLACE!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed in the smaller upstairs room and not in the cabins. Even though the bathroom was shared (only on our first night though), the rooms were nice and comfy and the staff was VERY nice. The food in the morning was lots of cereals, breads etc... Good enough to start your day.
It took like 8-10 minutes to get to downtown Seward, so the location is awesome. We also took the road it is off of away from the main HWY and it goes down a few miles cutting through the woods. We spotted a bald eagle and other small wildlife. If we ever go back to Seward, we would for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianArtforAnimals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
12
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Booked in here last minute on the night before our cruise. There wasn't much available in town and we found The Farm quite by accident. Decided to stay as it was a cheap one night stop. You have a choice of either a room in the farmhouse or one of the 10 cottages on the property. Previous comments regarding the condition of the property are all correct and it seems the elderly owner may find it a bit much however the cottage we stayed in was spotlessly clean and the bed comfortable. Good shower which is more than can be said for a lot of other places we stayed in and the wonky floors made us laugh and remember our own cottage before we renovated it. If you're looking for a good, clean, cheap stay including a reasonable continental breakfast for one or a couple of nights - there's really nothing wrong with The Farm and it's close to town for going to dinner.

Room Tip: Cottages 3 & 4 may be the pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tez823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
101 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Farm Bed and Breakfast is an excellent value. Our room (the king room in the main lodge) was attractive and huge, we had a private bath and a small TV. Farm B&B is located a short distance from town in an attractive house, with a nice big backyard. There are also some guest cabins, which we did not see. Breakfast was an assortment of cold cereals, nothing special. For the Seward area, we thought that this was an exceptional value, compared to the limited motel chain offerings that are available.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, MI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

picture does not due justice, stuck in one of the cottages #1 with grass knee deep to a moose, mosquito in the room, didn't have any spray to get rid of them, all cottages were in a very junky area very unkept, breakfast was the only nice thing. checked out early and got out of there sorry i have to warn other people not to get caught like we did, i thought we would be in the house as shown in the picture. made reservation 6 months in advance stil got stuck in the cottages that we didn't know were there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seward hotels

Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I led a group of folks driving their vintage cars from Fairbanks to Seward.
When I booked the rooms, I was enamored by the B&B's quaint website and reasonable room rates relative to the competition. I knew we were in for some surprises when we drove into the neighborhood. Run down but very rednecked Alaskan! The king room was a hoot with mirrors over the bed & the closet full of cloths! The cabin I stayed in was a duplex with the baths separated by a poorly fitted door. But we knew the folks next door & got to know them even better!! BUT the challenge was the uneven floor that sloped several inches our of level!! I placed two inch blocks under one side of the bed to level it. When I mentioned this to the proprieter, she said "Tell me something I can do something about!" I explained it wouldn't take much to level the cabin as it was on pilings & that it was unsafe for older folks as is. She was silent. The breakfast offered only one non-sugared cereal & we ran out of that one morning.

Hey, the place was clean & the bed was okay. Plus, we were entertained by a curious cow moose & some beautiful varied thrushes. This place is a true Alaskan experience!

My group did ask me if I had seen this place before I booked the rooms, but took all in stride. As the club's annual tour organizer, I now know of this website & will use it during my planning process!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
141 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed here for a 3 night stay on a road trip. The location is convenient as its only a few miles into town. The place isnt necessarily cheap but it is cheaper than some of the options around. We booked a room that could sleep 3 and it was very large and roomy. The rooms are definitely dated but the beds were comfortable. It also had a full kitchen where we cooked dinner one night. Plenty of parking available as well.

The bathroom is functional and fine. There is an old TV in the room. The blinds bleed light so this could be a problem during the summer months when the sun doesnt really set. It did keep us awake for a bit but eventually exhaustion took over and we passed out. Breakfast isnt much, some fruits, granola bars, milk and cereal, packaged oatmeal etc. Nothing hot.

The good thing is that there are some seriously good restaurants in Seward. On the whole, this is convenient place to stay. Nothing to shout about here but if you are looking for some reasonably priced options then this would a good one.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyjb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I took away a little from the rating because the lady/owner/caretaker whoever it was, was not the friendliest person. Also the breakfast left a little to be desired in the morning.
Other than that, the place is very comfortable, clean and relatively well priced. We were here for 2 nights in a cabin and it was a great stay. I would recommend it anyone wanted to stay near Seward. Its not very far away, just a couple of miles and very convenient to the town.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ayush1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
2.4 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 44 in Seward
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
1.0 mi away
Box Canyon Cabins
Box Canyon Cabins
#15 of 45 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Exit Glacier Lodge
Exit Glacier Lodge
#8 of 45 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
3.3 mi away
Northern Nights Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 11828 Salmon Creek Road, P.O Box 305, Seward, AK 99664
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the Farm Bed and Breakfast Inn in beautiful Seward, Alaska. The Farm Bed and Breakfast was originally a "truck farm", its previous owners having raised and sold vegetables, rhubarb, strawberries, and raspberries. It was purchased by the Hooglands in 1968 as weekend retreat, and for a few years the garden continued; a pet goat, couple of pigs, ducks, and chickens were added. The place became known locally as "Hoogland's Farm", so when it became a bed a breakfast, 'The Farm' seemed an appropriate name. The farm house, built in the 1920's, was renovated in 1988 and became a bed and breakfast in 1989. Over the next few seasons, the cottages, bungalow, and kitchenettes were added. The idea of a bed and breakfast was Jack's, and for several years he was an integral part of the day-to-day operation: serving breakfast, telling tall tales, and overseeing all aspects of the B & B. However, because of failing health the last few years, these duties have been assumed in part by his wife Joanne, daughter Carol, son Ricky, sister-in-law Jeanette, and various nieces, nephews, cousins, and grandchildren. Our goal is to provide a quiet, restful place to stay in a natural setting for a moderate price. The Farm is large enough for small tour groups and small enough for the independent traveler. Children and seniors are welcome. We have a variety of rooms like cottages with private baths, kitchenettes, and cozy rooms in the main house. If you find your way to beautiful Seward, Alaska, please consider stopping by the Farm... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing