We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, laid back, bring extra tea & coffee.”
Review of Orca Island Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orca Island Cabins
Ranked #10 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Seward
1 review
“Gorgeous, laid back, bring extra tea & coffee.”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Kind of expensive, but a treat. Had the place to ourselves. Pristine area. Felt like being out in wilderness but really not too far away! The yurt was well appointed, warm & comfortable. I'll certainly go back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETKenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    2
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
50
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

My family spent 2 nights there at the end of May and our only complaint was having to leave so soon! Just spectacular and we all loved our yurt! It was still cool at the time but we were cozy inside and there was so much to do outside that we kept warm by MOVING! Husband and 21 year old son fished. We all hiked and kayaked. Boat ride out is in nice boat with inside seating and we had a nice grill and inside propane stove for cooking.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vbh63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I wish I could give this place 10 stars because Susan and Dennis have truly earned every ounce of commendation for this little piece of paradise that they own and operate. I had pretty high expectations for this place, and yet the actual experience managed to exceed anything I could have imagined.
First off, Dennis and Susan are top notch hosts. They are so friendly, so informed, so welcoming...you don't even feel like they are business owners, it just feels like they are friends who are hosting you for the weekend. I appreciated their down to earth nature, yet eagerness to ensure you had nothing short of a spectacular time while on the island. Susan, a very talented artist, even painted a scene in which we happened to kayak through and we were able to purchase this very personal memento from our weekend, which was such a treat!
The island itself is just amazing, I have no other word for it. You are surrounded by so much uninterrupted beauty. You can stand anywhere on the property and just be in awe, day or night. We got very lucky in that we had a gorgeous sunny weekend while we were visiting the island, but I have no doubt even on a typical rainy Alaska day, you would be blown away. Not to mention the abundance of wildlife around the island. We were lucky enough to see porpoises, jellyfish, seals, sea lions, otters, bald eagles, whales, puffins, mountain goats! The perk of minimal (if any at all) cell service or other technological annoyance on the island allows you to really get lost in nature while there.
The cabins/yurts are so perfect! I can't think of a single thing I would change. Running water (hot even!), shower, toilet, electricity (not that you need it), comfortable beds with amazing views, propane stove, kitchen essentials, bbq, private decks on the water, sky lights, amazing scenery enveloping every square inch of the cabin. We loved having dinner and drinks on our deck every night and then heading to the fire pit for s'mores and visiting with other travelers. The cabins had peel away windows for ventilation as needed and propane heat as needed also. They were clean, well-decorated, comfortable, inviting...like I said, perfect.
You simply can't beat all the outdoor amenities that they supply you with. We took full advantage of the kayaks, row boats, fishing poles, local hiking, waterfall viewing, evening boat cruise, etc. While I consider this place more for relaxation than an adventure-seekers dream, you can certainly find things to entertain yourself if sitting on the deck enjoying the beauty gets dull for you (yea, right!) We had a blast on the rowboat catching rock fish just meters off the shore from the island.
Orca Island Cabins is a peaceful, beautiful, inviting, relaxing getaway for a weekend (or longer if you can.) We are hoping to make it back sometime again this summer, but if not, we have many many many wonderful memories of our time there and it goes in the record books as our favorite weekend while living in Alaska (we've lived here for 4 years.) My husband and I both had absolutely no complaints about our experience. Thank you so much Susan and Dennis for allowing us to enjoy this magical place!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maialen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Orca Island for a week in mid May this year, at the end of a 3 month trip. It was the most perfect place to enjoy some solitude and all the beauty that Alaska has to offer. Susan and Dennis were the most accommodating hosts, nothing was too much to ask! During our stay we saw humpbacks, sea lions, porpoises, a host of sea birds, river and sea otters and just missed out on seeing orcas (others who were staying at the time saw them while we were there). The accommodation is simple but very comfortable and quaint. Great for those who love to be active - kayaking, stand up paddle boarding and row boats await. Had a great time fishing, having camp fires and checking out the tide pools.

Room Tip: Stellar's Jay provides a beautiful, uninterrupted view out to Fox and Hat Islands
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We had high expectations of the Orca Island Cabins due to the great reviews on here, and they met everyone of them.
If you are a little bit adventurous but looking for a place that will spoil you with relaxation and nature-don't miss the Orca Island Cabins.
To start our trip, Dennis picked us up at the pier in Seward and set us at ease right away. He pointed out stuff along the trip including two adorable sea otters and a bald eagle. When we got to the cabins, perched in an isolated cove (Humpy Cove) Susan gave us a tour of the whole place, had the heater on and warming up our adorable yurt and showed us where everything is. At some point during the afternoon they took off and left us alone out there-feeling incredibly awesomely ALONE. what a great couples retreat. There was one other couple staying out there with us, and he proposed on the bridge over the cove to his girlfriend-probably because this little retreat is one of the most romantic places imaginable.
We brought all our food in, which I thought was going to be a chore but was actually pretty fun. There is plenty of cooking equipment in the yurt, and hot water for the shower!
We stayed for 2 nights (2 and a half days) which was perfect for us as we had time to relax and unwind, and then to explore the area and most importantly to take two kayak trips into the cove.
there were dolphins right outside the yurt every day at one point or another, as well as Sasha the resident harbor seal. we saw tons of birds, and we kayaked to a beautiful waterfall which was an adventure. on the way back from the waterfall, the dolphins surrounded us swimming within a few feet of our kayak.
we asked Dennis and Susan to take us on a boat cruise, which was definitely worth doing if they have time. we saw an incredible amount of wildlife including puffins and other birds, seals, mountain goats and eagles. the views were terrific and since you are in a small boat Dennis can get you very close to stuff and go look at what you want to look at. Much better than taking the large boat tour from seward!
We couldn't have been happier 'glamping' at Orca Island Cabins and would highly highly recommend this to any adventurous couple, individual or family looking to relax in nature.

Room Tip: the yurts have a cool viewing hole in the top which since you are in alaska means its pretty bright...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernLightsGirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed on Orca Island for four days. It was wonderful! We had a whale surface in front of our yurt. We kayaked and the seals would watch us and were playing with a fish they had caught. The view is beautiful. In the small cove Sasha would swim under my kayak and pop her head up and check us out. The marine life full of beautiful colors. The yurt was so cozy and comfortable. We truly had one of the best vacations of our life. So grateful we had such a beautiful experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesbit, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

While eating dinner our first night, we watched a black bear on the other side of the cove, mountain goats on the snow covered peaks, and sea lions in the water below. We were awakened at 5 a.m. by the unmistakable exhale of a humpback whale right outside our yurt. If this is your thing, Orca Island Cabins is for you. Also, Dennis and Susan could not be any nicer.

Room Tip: I preferred staying in a room that was on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
10.0 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
558 reviews
11.1 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,037 reviews
9.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
744 reviews
13.0 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
26.3 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orca Island Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orca Island Cabins

Property: Orca Island Cabins
Address: Humpy Cove, Resurrection Bay, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Orca Island Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique place to stay when visiting Seward Alaska, our nightly rental cabins are comfortable accommodations in a remote setting. Our rates include a 30 minute scenic cruise to the property from Seward as well as all the equipment use including kayaks, stand up paddle boards, rowing skiffs, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Orca Island Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orca Island Cabins Hotel Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing