We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, relaxing, peaceful”
Review of Orca Island Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orca Island Cabins
Ranked #10 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Laguna Hills, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, relaxing, peaceful”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We helped our gracious friends Susan and Dennis open their resort for 2013. What an exceptional experience! This was the first time we had stayed in a yurt, or been to Alaska for that matter. Views of wildlife and scenery abound - on the way out and back to the yurts - and during the stay. The kayaks and rafts were easy to use - the yurts impeccable. We barbequed with our friends, stayed up late talking and got up early to enjoy the peaceful environment and to explore the "resort". The water was so clear - and the tide pools full. We kayaked with a humpback whale, saw Stellar Sea Lions, harbor seals, a black bear on the distant meadow, lots of birds, and Dall's porpoises. Guests paddle-boarded. Susan is an exceptional artist and her new gallery shows off her fabulous paintings, and friends' jewelry and hand-painted scarves. A must for those who want a relaxing experience out in nature.

Room Tip: All 5 yurts have exceptional views - and lots of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    2
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
50
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A buddy and I stayed here over Memorial weekend. This is a true Alaskan experience. We kayaked out to a waterfall, fished, saw bears, and sea lions. The yurks are awesome and unique. They are on a bluff on the island and the views are the best I've ever seen. Dennis and Susan are gracious hosts. This was by far the best thing we did in Alaska. It's a little pricey, but worth every penny!

Justin

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jchaniott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. Owners are extemely helpful. Bedding had hair in it from a previous guest : /
Not much to do except kayaking since the island is very small. Very beautiful location, no cell phone or internet connection.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKtraveler5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sslink, Owner at Orca Island Cabins, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We are very sorry you had the experience of finding a hair on your bedding. As the owner and operator I personally do most of the cleaning and bed changing. Because we take great pride in providing very clean facilities in this remote location, we regret this occurred.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights in May 2013 - we are from California and were looking to be engulfed in as much "Alaska" as possible. This definitely fit the bill! On the boat ride out with Dennis & Susan we encountered a bunch of Dall porpoises as they played and raced our boat. While on the island, we had between 6-8 humpback sightings with one being literally 20 feet from our yurt! We were just blown away by all of this! We also saw sea and river otters, harbor seals and tons of birds including Bald Eagles and Rufus Hummingbirds. It rained one entire day we were there but that didn't keep us away from the kayaks. The water around the yurts is so calm most of the time that you just have to go exploring in a kayak. When the tide is low you see a ton of starfish and other awesome creatures going about their busy lives in the nooks and crannies of the bay. It is just amazing and we hope to return. This was our fifth trip to Alaska and I hope to be back to Orca Island very soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Morty_momma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our family of five took a two week vacation in Alaska, checking out several locations. We wish we had stayed here much longer than the single night that we did. Simply gorgeous surroundings. No electricity, no phone service, no internet, no machinery, just bliss. My son and I paddled out in the kayaks and promptly reeled in a couple of tasty fish that we grilled in front of one of our yurts.

Sublime.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardGibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My son and his girlfriend and I stayed on this Island for just one night in August. Even though it was raining we enjoyed this adventure and felt totally at peace with the ocean environment. We saw loads of jellyfish from our decks as well as salmon, eagles and otters. There is a tidal pool in the rocks and all sort of minature sea life dwell there. My son's yurt was over the bridge on the "mainland". The bridge across the water to his yurt was incredibly designed and much fun even for adults to cross. My yurt was on the Island and it felt like a private island even though there were other guests in other yurts. The yurts were warm and dry despite the rain and they even have hot showers! The kitchen is completely adequate for any kind of cooking. The yurts are all individually designed with nautical themes. Also, the owner's art work was up in the yurts and she is obviously a very talented Alaska artist. (Around Seward you will find more of her art.) It is difficult to describe, but one feels at one with the ocean and the environment there. I live in Anchorage and my son and girfriend were visiting from Oregon. visitor to Alaska should try to include this on their trip. It truly is one of the best Alaska experiences of my many in 35 years here. We were truly blessed to be able to have this wonderful outdoor adventure. The owners/hosts - Susan and Dennis were so gracious giving us quick Kayak lessons, Also, Dennis is the captain of the boat that transports visitors to the Island and back. He has a wealth of knowledge about that area and the ocean. Really you can't beat this adventure any where in the world for the price!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We rode the train from our home in Anchorage to Seward and spent one night at Orca Island during the Labor Day weekend. We stayed in the Stellar Jay cabin, which is one of the two newer cabins (the other is the Puffin) located higher up on the mountain across a bridge from the main group of cabins. It felt like we were living in a secluded tree house, with a wonderful view of the bay and mountains. The cabin consists of a circular yurt with a round skylight, queen bed, couch, kitchen area with table, gas stove and oven, propane heater, bathroom with shower and odorless compost toilet, and deck with gas grill. You need to bring your own food and ice to keep it cold. The yurt was very clean, bright, and nicely decorated. There is no electricity or cell phone reception. The property has a network or wooden walkways, decks, boat dock, and viewing areas. You can climb down on the rocks and explore the tidal pools for small animals, such as starfish. They have a rowboat and plenty of kayaks. We kayaked to the big waterfall, about 40 minutes each way. However, be aware that the weather is changeable. After all, it is Alaska! This is a very secluded and peaceful place, with breathtaking scenery. It is not exactly wilderness, as there are a number of cabins dotting the coast.

There are no hiking trails near the cabins, as the terrain consists of steep coastal cliffs and forest. I think there may be some hiking places you can reach by kayak. Most exploration of the area is done by boat, and I think you can arrrange for the water taxi to go to some of the nearby islands. We did not have enough time to do this.

They generallly do now allow children under 10 years old. Also, this is not a good place for people with limited mobility.

The owners were very helpful and full of advice. It is somewhat expensive to stay here, but the price includes transportation to the island from Seward, along with full use of the kayaks. We definitely want to return for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Stellar Jay and Puffin cabins are the newest, highest and most secluded. The owners have plans to bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jdbalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
10.0 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
559 reviews
11.1 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,039 reviews
9.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
746 reviews
13.0 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
26.3 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orca Island Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orca Island Cabins

Property: Orca Island Cabins
Address: Humpy Cove, Resurrection Bay, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Orca Island Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique place to stay when visiting Seward Alaska, our nightly rental cabins are comfortable accommodations in a remote setting. Our rates include a 30 minute scenic cruise to the property from Seward as well as all the equipment use including kayaks, stand up paddle boards, rowing skiffs, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Orca Island Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orca Island Cabins Hotel Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing