We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Resurrection Bay”
Review of Orca Island Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orca Island Cabins
Ranked #12 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Reviewed July 7, 2012

As the fog slowly settled over the snow capped peaks, and the sun set over the Kenai Peninsula, we set out for our last kayak of the day, at midnight on June 28th. Such were the memories we have of a beautiful 2 days on this island. We stayed at the Orca Island Cabins in Resurrection Bay June 28th-30th, 2012. This was a truly memorable experience for our two families, both traveling together to Alaska for the first time. Dennis and Sandy are fantastic hosts, and truly care about your experience on the island. When I think of the Orca Island Cabins, I think of several moments.
1. The midnight sun, as noted above.
2. Watching one teen in our party catch 13 fish in one day (she had never caught any fish before in her life).
3. Kayaking to a beautiful glacier waterfall one early evening, and to Fox Island one early morning.
4. Relaxing on the beautiful decks overlooking the bay.

Other notes:
1. The Orca Island Cabins are a 20-30 minute boat ride from Seward. Dennis picks you up at the boat dock in Seward Harbor at 12:30 and transports you to the island on his private boat. It's a great boat ride, passing Prospect Glacier and other beautiful glaciers. The Orca Island Cabins are located in Humpy Cove, an inlet on Resurrection Bay. Humpy Cove is a secluded inlet, peaceful, with little to no human traffic other than occasional kayakers. You have much more contact with sea otters, harbor seals, starfish, and eagles than any human contact. You have a great view of Fox Island from the Orca Island Cabins.

2. The cabins are yurts, with 3 yurts located on the island and 2 yurts located a short distance away on the mainland, each connected together by a semi-circular bridge. If your group is large enough, rent the 3 "island" yurts. The view from the observation deck of the "island" yurts is incredible. Dennis and Sandy charge by the person, not by the number of yurts you reserve. Each yurt can hold 3-4 persons, two in a queen size bed and 1-2 in a large futon.

2. The furnishings, though rustic are in great condition. The facility is eco-friendly, with good kitchen and bath/shower facilities. You must bring your own supply of food, drinks (and ice) for your stay. We purchased our food and drinks the morning of our reservation at the local Safeway store in Seward. Once you are on the island, you cannot get back to Seward to "stock up". Bring what you need at the beginning of the trip. Dennis is very good about transporting both luggage and food supplies on the boat.

3. Phone reception in Humpy Cove is spotty at best, better if you have Verizon, but spotty if you have AT&T.

4. The island would be great for a wide age range of travelers, including school age children, teens, young adults, families and older couples. It may be a bit confining (and even difficult) for families with young children though. Our group consisted of two families with teens/young adults, ranging from 17-23 years in age. It was a great experience for both the parents and the teens/young adults.

5. In late June-early July, you have the midnight sun, allowing us to kayak into the midnight hours. In late July-August, the salmon enter Humpy Cove, making it a potentially great fishing experience.

6. We were lucky with the weather, experiencing two beautiful sunny days. Even if it had rained both days (which is common in these parts), this would have still been a wonderful experience.

Our family has stayed in many memorable locations over the years. This was one of the most memorable, and clearly one of the best. I would come recommend this location to anyone traveling to Alaska. I am already planning our trip back. On a scale of 1 to 10, I rate this experience a 12.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Greg1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 96 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

Beautiful spot to kayak, fish, explore, and experience the best of Seward. Highlight was the neighboring harbor seal Sasha visited us multiple times, curious of our activities. It was less private than we had anticipated as the "island" is mostly a rocky outcrop unless at high tide with 3 yurts and another 2 on shore. Enjoyed meeting the other guests, but was surprised at the proximity to others.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BadgerTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Journeying out to Orca Island was one of the best decisions I have ever made!

The owners, Dennis and Susan, have created a little oasis that's just a 30 min. boat ride from Seward, Alaska. Dennis and Susan are super helpful, genuine hosts that will help with anything. This is a family business that is definitely worth supporting!

Orca Island is unlike any place I have traveled too and it was well worth it. It is a perfect place for solo or group getaways. You fill your days with some authentic relaxation, beautiful kayak rides, walks to the waterfall, and wildlife watching. On our morning kayak ride, the local seal (aka "Sasha"), popped her head up right in front of our kayaks. So fun!

No one should go to Alaska without making a stop on Orca Island!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the new yurts across from the island and it was awesome. It was surrounded by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MakennaT7204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We spent a night right at the beginning of the summer at Orca Island Cabins. It was our first time "yurting" and we couldn't have loved it more. Dennis and Susan are absolutely lovely people who really care about making your experience meaningful and fun.

We stayed in one of the new yurts across an absolutely stunning bridge, which had a breathtaking view of Humpy Cove, perfect for spotting whales, seals, river otters, and the like! The yurt itself was wonderful, it even had a heater and all the kitchen utensils we could possibly need to cook ourselves a fabulous dinner. We had brought a cooler full of food for the weekend, and were so happy to have a BBQ to cook it in (and even an oven if we needed it!). We had absolutely no complaints and were so beyond impressed with the yurts.

We spent an amazing morning kayaking around the cove in the kayaks made available to all guests. We paddled up to the next little cove and did the short hike/walk to a spectacular waterfall. We also spent a lot of time on the unbelievable deck at the front of Orca Island looking out over the bay. We made banana boats in the fire pit and had a simply wonderful evening!

Five million thumbs up, and highly recommend if you're in the Seward area! :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rtobias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Though the island is little more than a huge rock, the place was awesome! My husband and I spent only two days there because of the price but it was more than worth it. The view is spectacular, complete with so many sea creatures easily viewed from the many decks. The yurts were great and clean, though be prepared for no electrical use! The use of the kayaks and paddle boat made it possible to make the stay an active one as well as a restful trip. The owners are wonderful and so excited for you when you make a discovery like an orca surfacing in the distance! Awesome, awesome, awesome!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TadandSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We spent three weeks in Alaska for our honeymoon and the Orca Island Cabin was BY FAR the best place we stayed! The island is secluded in Humpy Cove so it's quiet and private. Eventhough there were two other yurts on the island with us, we felt like we had the island to ourselves! The yurts are cozy and warm- it made a great home for us during our stay. And each one has it's own private bathroom! We loved that we could make our own food (they have a range, outdoor grill, coffee press, full kitchen dishes, sink, etc), and we found plenty of fresh Salmon on the dock before we left Seward for our dinners.

If you're thinking the price seems like a little much, we did too... but it's SO WORTH IT!! If you consider the water taxi out to the island, kayak rentals, and fishing rentals you'd reach a total well over what they're asking. Not to mention you have a wildlife viewing right from your island deck! We saw river otters, porpoises, bald eagles, sea otters, fish, and starfish.

Susan and Dennis, the owners, were more than accomodating to us, and they went out of their way to ensure our stay was enjoyable. We are just so excited to one day come back with our kids!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank catvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Fantastic. Relaxing. Stunning wildlife view from the bedroom window. Well-architected and lovely facility. Great opportunities for fishing, kayaking and rowing. Generous and cozy sundeck. Don't forget to bring ice for the cooler if you need to store chilled food. Susan and Dennis, the hosts, are lovely people.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoodandAffordable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
11.1 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,142 reviews
10 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 13 in Seward
593 reviews
13.1 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 13 in Seward
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
26.3 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
12 mi away
Kenai Fjords Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orca Island Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orca Island Cabins

Address: Humpy Cove, Resurrection Bay, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Price Range: $670 - $728 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Orca Island Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique place to stay when visiting Seward Alaska, our nightly rental cabins are comfortable accommodations in a remote setting. Our rates include a 30 minute scenic cruise to the property from Seward as well as all the equipment use including kayaks, stand up paddle boards, rowing skiffs, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Orca Island Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orca Island Cabins Hotel Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing