We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing experience and great guide

Me and my husband we visited Seward in the month of August. Jon and Matt were our guide. We did... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
jaspreetkauro
via mobile
Very fun experience - would recommend

I went kayaking at Sunny Cove with my sister when we visited Alaska in June and it was a lot of... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
carrie9384
,
San Francisco, California
Read all 1,377 reviews
  
Reviews (1,377)
Filter reviews
1,377 results
Traveler rating
1,255
103
11
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,255
103
11
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews resurrection bay fox island mary kate bald eagles great guide lowell point hour kayak tour tonsina point salmon spawning caines head great trip day trip knowledgeable guides short hike awesome experience small group holgate glacier
Filter
Updating list...
894 - 899 of 1,377 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2015

The paddle from Fox Island was wonderful. We explored both coves and got a great perspective on the size of the island. We saw a sea lion, several harbor seals and many different birds at very close range. A bald eagle took off from a rock so close to me that I felt the air move on my face. Arthur was my partner in the kayak and made it very relaxing and fun.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank nau2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SewardAKKayaking, General Manager at Sunny Cove Sea Kayaking, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2015

Hi nau2,

Thank you for joining Arthur and Sunny Cove for a kayaking tour at Fox Island. It's not every day a person gets such an up close and personal eagle experience! We truly appreciate the amazing review and thank you for letting us get you out on the water.

Stephanie C. Millane
Operations Manager
Sunny Cove Sea Kayaking
Seward, Alaska
807.224.4426
info@sunnycove.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2015

I believe we were the luckiest kayakers to ever make it to Fox Island, because our trip brought us within meters of humpback whales tail-slapping the surface, bald eagles nesting and swooping down to pluck fish from the waters, harbor seals inquisitively following our kayaks into the bay, a pod of orcas (lead by a massive bull male) swimming through a constriction between the islands, and calm waters both in the inlet and across the open ocean sections. We were on the full-day Fox Island kayaking trip that circumnavigated around Fox Island and Hat Island (a bonus because of the calm waters and timing). Our guide, Andrew, was friendly and very well informed about the seasonality of this part of Alaska, the animals that migrate and live here, and the processes that form both the Kenai Peninsula and Resurrection Bay.

Date of experience: June 2015
2  Thank Nicholas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SewardAKKayaking, General Manager at Sunny Cove Sea Kayaking, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2015

Hello Nicholas N,

Wow, you did have the perfect trip! Even the guides count themselves lucky when they cross paths with Humpback Whales and Orcas! But to have both on the same trip? I'm jealous...

Thank you so much for joining Andrew and Sunny Cove for a full-day kayaking trip at beautiful Fox Island. We like to say, 'the more time on the water, the better your chances for wildlife' and it sounds like the adage proved true for your trip. We truly appreciate the amazing review and the great picture!

Stephanie C. Millane
Operations Manager
Sunny Cove Sea Kayaking
Seward, Alaska
807.224.4426
info@sunnycove.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2015

We loved our afternoon kayaking around Fox Island. The scenery is simply stunning and we were lucky enough to have a seal lion make an appearance as we were kayaking. We got good instructions from the enthusiastic guides. I would highly recommend the tour.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank DawnB62014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SewardAKKayaking, General Manager at Sunny Cove Sea Kayaking, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2015

Hi DawnB62014,

Thank you so much for joining Sunny Cove for our Fox Island Afternoon Kayak from Seward, AK and thank you for posting the lovely photo! We appreciate your recommendation and the wonderful review!

Stephanie C. Millane
Sunny Cove Sea Kayaking
1.800.770.9119
info@sunnycove.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2015

The kayaks, boots, paddles and pfd's were all clean and well-maintained. The guides, Jack and Cat, were knowledgeable, careful and took extra time to make sure were we comfortable and safe. They showed us wildlife, told us about the area, and made it a terrific trip.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank PamMc615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SewardAKKayaking, General Manager at Sunny Cove Sea Kayaking, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2015

Hi PamMc615,

We really appreciate this great review of Sunny Cove, Jack and Kat! We strive to be sure that each kayaker has a wonderful time and taking a moment to be sure everyone is comfortable is important to us. I'm excited to hear Jack and Kat shared so much with you.


Thanks again and have a great summer!

Stephanie C. Millane
Operations Manager
Sunny Cove Sea Kayaking
Seward, Alaska
807.224.4426
info@sunnycove.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2015 via mobile

An awesome way to see Resurrection Bay up close. Sunny Cove staff are fabulous! Our guide Arthur and Bobby couldn't have done a better job. They were great instructors, encouraging, and made sure everyone's need were met. One gave a cold kayaker the coat off his back and the other his coffee. Both very knowledgeable about the area. Thanks again for an awesome experience.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SewardAKKayaking, General Manager at Sunny Cove Sea Kayaking, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2015

Hello Pam H,

Thank you for joining Sunny Cove, Arthur and Bobby for an exploration of Resurrection Bay by kayak! Most people don't realize kayaking creates such an intimate experience with the area you're exploring. Having the time to take a moment to smell the sea breeze, watch a passing harbor seal, listen to the songs of the birds is an amazing experience. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review!

Have a lovely summer!

Stephanie C. Millane
Operations Manager
Sunny Cove Sea Kayaking
Seward, Alaska
807.224.4426
info@sunnycove.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews