We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, safe, and beautiful!”

Sunny Cove Sea Kayaking
Ranked #3 of 49 Tours in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Paddle along the cliffs of Fox Island in Resurrection Bay, watch otters frolic near Lowell Point and Seward, kayak through ice and watch glaciers calve into the ocean in Kenai Fjords National Park. Our personable and professional guides make the experience fun and educational. Providing exceptional eco-friendly tours since 1996. Check out our website tour details and pictures of the area to learn more.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun, safe, and beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time sea kayaking - everything was provided including rubber boots and a rubber skirt so we stayed dry. Safety was emphasized and the guides were patient and experienced. Beautiful views along Fox Island. The only negatives were other people in the group cutting across our bow all the time and also you have to use a tandem kayak. This is for safety, but we would have preferred to have singles.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kldgbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SewardAKKayaking, Manager at Sunny Cove Sea Kayaking, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for joining us on a Fox Island kayaking trip. We also think Fox Island is a gorgeous place to paddle with it's rugged shoreline and turquoise blue waters. Safety is always our #1 concern and we do our best to be sure each person feels comfortable. We (and all the Seward companies) do choose to keep our clients in tandem kayaks as they are more stable and comfortable, especially for first time paddlers. We appreciate your wonderful review and do hope to see you on your next Alaska adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    866
    77
    9
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All day kayak is AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The all day kayak was the best vacation activity I've ever done. Jen was a friendly, laid back, and knowledgeable guide. The gear was good quality, the route was just challenging enough, and the scenery and wildlife was amazing. We saw multiple sea lions, sea stars, jellies, and a pod of 15+ Orca whales. The whales went right by us in the channel. It was a once in a lifetime experience and even without the whale sighting was well worth the money. Recommended to anyone with paddling experience. Thanks Jen and the rest of Sunny Cove!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Carissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SewardAKKayaking, Manager at Sunny Cove Sea Kayaking, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
15+ Orcas on one trip DOES sound amazing! Even we are jealous of your trip. ;) Thank you so much for joining Jen and Sunny Cove at Fox Island for a day of kayaking in Resurrection Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Kayak trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Colin, our guide was a great guide. He was very knowledgeable about the sea, land, equipment and made sure we all understood what we needed to do. If you get to Seward, you need to book a kayak tour with Sunny Cove. Thank you. We did the 3 hour Lowell point to Tonsina point.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SewardAKKayaking, Manager at Sunny Cove Sea Kayaking, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We appreciate your kind words regarding Colin and our 3-hour Lowell Point kayaking tour. Thank you for joining us and we hope to meet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Alaskan visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I did an all day guided kayak/ hike with Sunny Cove and it was our favorite part of our trip. We stopped by the beach when we first arrived and the girls working were really friendly, gave us info, and referred us to the location in Seward for booking. I was a llittle nervous about the paddle and having "hard core ourdoors people" leading the trip but everyone we met was unpretentious and friendly. Tess, the girl who made our booking, was very helpful in helping us choose our tour and with what to wear. Our guide Matt was professional and knowledgeable. He is obviously very passionate about the wildlife and the surrounding area. I was able to take some great pictures and never felt rushed. It was just my husband and I and Matt and he answered our questions and told us about the area, but also just let us paddle and enjoy the beauty. When we had a little bit of extra time, he suggested we hike to a waterfall from another beach. We felt safe in the kayaks and the gear seemed new/ updated. Even when the waves got a bit choppy towards the end, I felt reassured to have a guide right there encouraging us. They provided a satisfying lunch and snacks. I would definitely use this company again. Thanks!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Abigail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SewardAKKayaking, Manager at Sunny Cove Sea Kayaking, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We think Matt and Tess our great too, and appreciate your kind words. Thank you for joining us on day trip from Lowell Point. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've been kayaking many times before, but not quite like this. We arrived early morning for an 8am paddle (the best time to go for sure). It was just the two of us and our guide, Rob, who was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. He got us all set up with our boots, spray skirts, and gave us a good tutorial on paddling and safety.

Once in the water, we got to be really close up with sea otters, a harbor porpoise, bald eagles and tons of water birds, all of which Rob was able to talk to us about in detail. The water in the bay was very calm and it was so peaceful and quiet. We kept a good steady pace, no rushing or pressure to paddle faster. We got the full three hours out on the water and loved every second of it. Couldn't have asked for a better experience!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SewardAKKayaking, Manager at Sunny Cove Sea Kayaking, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for joining us on a Lowell Point kayaking tour. It seems as if you have great luck as you saw almost all the wildlife and had great paddling weather all in one trip. Rob is a fountain of knowledge to the point where he surprises us sometimes too. We appreciate the kind words and hope to meet you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunny Cove Sea Kayaking also viewed

 

Been to Sunny Cove Sea Kayaking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing