We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonder place to stay”
Review of Alaska Paddle Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alaska Paddle Inn
Ranked #4 of 46 Seward B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonder place to stay”
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We stayed at the Alaska Paddle Inn for two nights July 31st and August 1st. We stayed in the Low Tide Room. Alan and Alison were very helpful in making our accommodations very comfortable even with 6 of us in the one room. This is a beautiful Inn with an amazing stone shower that is worth the stay on it's own. They provide shampoo, soap and conditioner and wonderful fluffy towels.The owners are very friendly and helpful. We all enjoyed a wonderful breakfast out on the picnic table overlooking the Bay in the morning with the homemade waffles I made. They provided all the ingredients for breakfast. We would definitely stay there again. We also enjoyed The Roadhouse for a nice dinner and good beer but that is another review altogether.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    19
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
125
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We stayed at the Alaska Paddle in for one night in July, 2009. We were in the High Tide room (upstairs). The room has an incredible view of Resurrection Bay (just across the road) and the mountains and a glacier just over the bay. There is a small dining table set to look out the large picture windows. There is also a small deck out front from which you get the same views. In the morning you can watch harbor seals play and birds flying over and around the bay. The room is very comfortable, very nicely decorated, without being overboard in any way. Breakfast is a little on the light side – they provide mix to make your own waffles and two choices of cereals (just like their web site says). Unfortunately, it was raining the day we arrived, it rained through the night and the next day (which was also the day we were taking a boat trip). The rain and clouds killed the views a little, but we were lucky enough to have to clouds pull up for a few hours in the morning. This would truly be an awesome place to stay in Seward if it wasn’t raining! We would definitely stay here again if back in Seward.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irish_in_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

wonderful room, great bed, best shower we had had in two weeks staying at different lodges in alaska, everything was there, shampoo, conditioner, soap, great towels and even and hair drier! Wonderful veiw with great rockers in front of picture window, unfortunatly we were not able to sleep in because it seemed the women in the lower room were having some sort of lovers spat at 7am but once they left things were nice. as mentioned by many others not a "true" B&B but then again my husband and i really enjoy being by ourselves so we made waffles and coffee and enjoyed the view. Heres the big thing to consider, taxi from town where we had dinner to paddle in was $20.00, and in the morning we waited till about an hour before we needed to leave to meet our ship, not one of the three taxi companys would pick us up, because of the road condition, pot holes, time it takes for them to make round trip we were a little panicked but called the owner and he found a freind to come get us, so we made it on time. all in all we really enjoyed it and would go again

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mp5676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, AK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

I booked the low-tide room for one night. It is beautiful and felt luxurious.

The hosts were available by phone, and were very friendly when I called.

If you want privacy on Lowell Point with a warm, quiet, and beautiful room than this is the place for you.

I plan to return next summer for a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rensselaer, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Alan and Allison have truly created a jewel with their new bed and breakfast. The room was beautiful and the view from the "High Tide Room" of Resurrection Bay was magnificent!! We would highly recommend it for anyone going to Seward.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodysfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

I had high expectations after reading reviews and seeing pictures on the website. We stayed in Low Tide room (downstairs). There is a room with microwave and small frig and futon sofa, large-sized shower in the bathroom, and comfortable bedroom. Everything was clean and beautiful - artwork on the walls,books on the shelf, and the bath towels were large and very soft. The front window had a nice view of Resurrection Bay. The High Tide room was upstairs and we did hear the people go up and down the stairs and walk around.

However, I would not classify this as a B&B, but more of a luxury cabin. The owners did not provide breakfast - they provided tea, coffee, instant oatmeal, a toaster (but no bread or muffins), dry cereal and "waffle mix". There was no fruit, and breakfast was in your own room.

The owners had left a note, they were gone for the weekend sea kayaking and left a phone number if we needed anything. I called for an extra towel, which the person came by with later that evening. The first morning, we decided to go out to eat breakfast. The second morning, we were going to make waffles, but the waffle mix said to add oil and there wasn't any oil provided. Since it had taken a few hours to get the extra towel, we didn't think we would be able to wait for the person to bring the oil to add to the waffle mix, so we ended up going out for breakfast again.

One of the reasons we like to stay at B&B is to meet other people staying there at breakfast, talk with the owners and get recommendations for places to go or places to eat and a little about the local area. They provided menus from some local restaurants and there weren't any hosts around for the weekend. This was a disappointment.

At $189/night ($10 discount per night for two nights), this seemed to us a bit on the pricey side. Unless you absolutely want to be by the water and are doing water activities like sea kayaking yourself, I went away wishing we had stayed at a less expensive real B&B closer to Exit Glacier park of town rather than staying in Lowell Point. Driving out the road to Lowell Point wasn't too inconvenient, but once you were there, it wasn't close to anything besides the water.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaxBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pine hill, nj
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

A fellow tripadvisor had written to me about the AK Paddle in last summer, so I looked into it.I found lots of great reviews, so I thought I'd give it a try.
You have to drive on a gravel road to get there. Along the way there are great opportunities to see otters and even seals. We stayed in the Low Tide room which had a nice view, the bed was in another room, and the bathroom was large with a wonderful walk in shower which was so needed after kayaking for 4 days. We especially appreciated the fresh milk and oj in the fridge along with the cereal and ingredients ts to make your own waffles on the waffle maker, That was a nice treat.
The owners were very nice and had left a little note on a board for us next to our room . The cabin not only had great details and workmanship inside, but outside as well.
We loved the fact that it was a little out of town(you should really have a vehicle if you are staying here)and enjoyed peace and quiet there was out we had and enjoyed the beach right in fron of the inn.
We would definitely would go back. It was a great place to relax .

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripgirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
559 reviews
3.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,038 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC
8.3 mi away
Bear Lake Lodgings B&B
Bear Lake Lodgings B&B
#2 of 46 in Seward
357 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 46 in Seward
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Paddle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Paddle Inn

Property: Alaska Paddle Inn
Address: 13745 Beach Drive Lowell Point, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Alaska Paddle Hotel Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing