We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great place...just beautiful”
Review of Alaska Paddle Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alaska Paddle Inn
Ranked #3 of 46 Seward B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was our first time to Seward and the Paddle Inn was gorgeous. We stayed in the Low Tide room for 3 nights and loved it! Great to sit on the beach and watch the boats, wildlife and enjoy a cold beer. The kids (12 and 14) loved it as well. Breakfast was a plus! Think my wife got some good decorating ideas as well. Alyson and Alan were great and provide many suggestions. Loved it!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 223 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

we spent two nights in this wonderful B & B. Not for everyone, but great for us. They leave cereal, milk, yoghurt, juice, coffee and tea for you. They don't do anything in the room unless you ask for it. But the two units are lovely, the view spectacular, and they couldn't be more accommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed one night in the Low Tide room with our six-year-old daughter and absolutely loved it! The Paddle Inn is away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Seward, and the view of Resurrection Bay is spectacular. We walked on the beach and enjoyed spotting eagles and sea otters. This is a great place to unwind and enjoy the best of what Alaska has to offer!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thornton083180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A&A: Both Alan & Allison went out of their way to make us feel at home & very comfortable their community. They were generous with their time & property. CABIN: Everything was clean, comfortable, cozy, convenient. Fine craftsmanship kept in perfect condition. A&A built & maintain it themselves. Alan is a professional carpenter. You will love the shower. I travel with a small fan (I am hot natured/like moving air) & used it here (it was unusually warm in AK in July 2013). The windows (3) open easily for breeze. They provide a radio, rocking chair, sofa/futon, reading lamp, fireplace (automatic – run by thermostat), nice collection of books, microwave, dishes, tea towels, dish rack & soap, breakfast foods to prepare yourself, small refrigerator, bath towels, cloths, very comfortable double (or queen?) bed, dresser & lamp, plenty of clothes hooks (no closet with hangers that I remember) in each room, great decorations, & a great front/side wrap around porch. We stayed in Low Tide (High Tide did not have a rocking chair.) LOCATION: We loved the view & easy access to the beach (A&A have their own section of the beach with a picnic table across gravel road from cabin). We saw from cabin: sea otters, bald eagles, the bay, glaciers, snow peaked mountains on 3 sides, & even sunshine (our cruise captain called it "major cloud failure") everyday! Miller's Landing is 1 block past the cabin (they have a little store, charter fishing, kayaking). ACTIVITIES: There are hiking trails & climbing 1 block behind cabin. Seward was our favorite town to shop in (we visited Denali, Talkeetna, Homer, Anchorage). It seemed to us like they had higher quality merchandise. Allison does massages as her profession, so you should schedule a few. A&A also guide kayaking trips. We took the Kenai Fjord Tour (8 hr cruise) with Captain Mark Lindstrom whom Alan knows -- highly recommend!!! We did the Seward Helicopter Tour to Godwin Glacier & where they took you on the dog sled mush-- also highly recommend!!! A&A will book these for you. We took a Miller's Landing ½ day fishing charter. It was fun! Came home with Silver Salmon & Rock Fish. Saw whales, sea otters, Dall's porpoise. Also it was more fun for me than Halibut fishing because Halibut fishing was so much work. I was worn out after catching the first Halibut. So I will only want to do Salmon type fishing if I go back. Of course the guys will want us to go with them so we can bring home more Halibut (limit 2 per person). Anyway, ask Alan to give you some dirt on your Miller's fishing captain so you can have a bit of fun teasing the guy while he baits your hook.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in the Low Tide room and the view is of Resurrection Bay and the mountains. The rooms are creatively designed and decorated; Alan and Alison did this themselves -- they live in the house next door. I'd thought that maybe the inspiration was Italian but Alison is from the Southwest. Nothing has blocked our view. Seated on the living area couch, I don't see the cars parked out front and there are no cars on the other side of the road (which they also own). The bedroom is dark, but for us that's a plus -- Alaska has a lot of light into the night!! It's a couple of miles out of town on a gravel road in a camping area (which sometimes has some noise), but that also makes it very convenient to the Alaska Sealife Center which is on the southside.

Room Tip: The High Tide room would be quieter; there is some plumbing noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leland A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

What a great place to stay while visiting Seward! We stayed in the High Tide room for 3 nights in mid-June. The view of the bay and mountains from the balcony and huge front window is lovely. We saw a sea otter just off the beach on our first day there and two hummingbirds frequented the balcony feeder. We enjoyed the cereals, granola, yogurt and waffle mix provided in the room for breakfast. The wood-work and tile-work in the room and bathroom are very nice and give a cozy Alaska experience. The king bed was comfy too. As others have noted, this is a 5-10 minute drive down a gravel road outside Seward. We were very skeptical as we drove through the sketchy campground area, but it was completely worth it once we arrived at the Inn. FYI - there are no blackout curtains so bring an eye mask for those bright Alaska nights!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oulorelai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This comfortable and clean two flat in Lowell Point is well run by a young couple who live next door. Stayed for three nights in the well appointed Low Tide room which has a nice porch and a view of the Bay and its overlooking mountains. Only two doors down from Millers Landing, the inn provides easy access to kayaking and fishing trips in Resurrection Bay. Two issues: the inn's popularity requires you to book well in advance, and breakfast, while ample, needs some fresh foods, such as fresh fruit or bread.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pentwater--summerjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
3.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,123 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 13 in Seward
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Steller Bed and Breakfast
7.6 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 46 in Seward
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Paddle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Paddle Inn

Address: 13745 Beach Drive Lowell Point, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Alaska Paddle Hotel Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing