We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good haddock fish and chips”
Review of Terry's Fish & Chips - CLOSED

Terry's Fish & Chips
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good haddock fish and chips”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The place has a good spot, right on the main drag in Seward near the docks. The service was okay, but a little slow. The food was very good, but a bit pricey, we thought, for what is was. But then, we found that almost all food in Alaska is expensive, even at the diner-type restaurants. Since fish is so readily available there, we didn't expect such high prices for that, however.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    59
    30
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Terry is a trip”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived Terry had just fired his waitress and was obviously training his cook as well as waiting and bussing tables. He was a tad crotchety but we decided to give him a chance. We all had halibut and chips. It was pretty good but I think the cooking oil was a little cold as they were a bit greasy. We got some perverse entertainment by listening to him deal with a couple of customer complaints. When we finished our meal things had calmed down and he spent quite a lot of time talking to us, telling us his life story. All in all it was an enjoyable lunch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pharmwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect, lovely service & delicious fish & chips”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Absolutely lovely waitress, plus the food was really good. What you see is what you get - no frills fish & chips, tasted home made, fresh fish, clean place, looking like an old-fashioned diner.... We were really happy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mel_in_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The staff here were super nice! We took an order to go but while we waited they seated us at a table and brought over some drinks.

Dad and husband ordered the halibut fish and chips for $22 - it came with four pieces of fish, a heap of french fries and a scoop of coleslaw. I had chicken strips for $14 - it came with probably six or so chunks of chicken, french fries and coleslaw. I wouldn't say that the food was terribly remarkable but it was pretty good.

Worth a try if you're in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth_Mark2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Food To Expensive”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Terry's is a good place to eat & the food is good, but he keeps upping his prices! We have eaten in there many times, but his prices are ridiculous!!!!!! For a 3 piece fish & chips is $19! A cup of soup is $4.50-5.00!!! That's what we had! Other things are even more expensive!!! It's good, but it's getting so its not worth it!!!! To $$$$$$$$$$

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WendyRosko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing