We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Friendly Staff and Clean Rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Murphy's Alaskan Inn
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Minnesota
Level Contributor
605 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Very Friendly Staff and Clean Rooms!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Because of the very friendly staff and clean rooms I am giving this 4 stars. If it was anywhere other than Seward I would classify it as "average". It is a very well maintained motel being it was built in the last 70's/80's. All of the staff were very friendly. The breakfast consisted of petite donuts, cinnamon roles, yogurt and juice. The Ocean Spray juice comes in a yogurt type of container. The room was older, with older furniture and bedspreads. It was very clean. Our balcony view was great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    37
    22
    13
    5
See reviews for
28
34
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SanFrancisco, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a charming, motel that made our stay in Seward hassle-free!

The hosts of the hotel, Joanne and Jay were very accommodating, and since we booked our room several months in advance, the price was very budget friendly.

We booked a room on the older, main road section. And, even though it was on the main road into downtown Seward, it was not very noisy. However, I suspect if you are very noise sensitive, you may want to reserve one of the rooms in the top floor of the newer section.

Our room was quite adequate. It was clean, and comfortable with a queen size bed, nice size bathroom (and PLENTY of HOT water!) and a small fridge and microwave. There was also a TV and places to put our luggage.

Because we were in Seward during the June "heat wave" (and, it was a heat wave with temps in the mid-80's!) we had our door open and had a beautiful view of the mountains!

We stayed a total of 4 nights, using Murphy’s as our “home base”.

The continental breakfast is a little sparse, especially if you are heading out on some all-day adventures as we were, but that seems to be the norm for hotels in Alaska, and not the fault of Murphy’s.

We loved the convenience of being able to walk to either the small boat harbor or to the downtown area for dinner. It is about a 10-15 minute walk in either direction.

If you are driving, you can park your vehicle right outside your front door in the older, main section. There is a parking lot for the newer section as well.

On our last day, we had a sea kayak and sailing trip scheduled before we could catch our 6 pm train back to Anchorage. Joanne was very gracious and allowed us to keep our luggage in a spare room until our train departed!

We certainly would stay at Murphy’s again.

Room Tip: If you are noise sensitive, book a room on the second story in the newer building. The rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colbysmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The room was clean and warm. The staff was helpful, especially when the smoke detector started to beep. the only staff on duty came right up to change out the battery. The view of the port was great. It was within walking distance of everywhere. Overall the hotel was worth the price and I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19trekker72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Staff was great, small continental breakfast, enough for our mornings. Beds comfortable, box fan provided with helped with the heat, it was 85 when we visited Alaska. Enjoyed our stay, reasonable rate for Alaska in the summer. Room was dated, but quiet, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmcWaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here in mid-June. Was greeted by a very friendly couple, who helped with meal suggestions and ideas of what to see. Room was very clean. During our stay, it was extremely warm for Alaska (upper 80's), so even though there was no air conditioning, there was a fan in the room we could use. 2nd floor room was quiet. Balcony was smaller than expected, but still nice to go out and see a great view of the harbor and mountains and morning sunrise. Nice it is also so close to shops, harbor, restaurants. Short drive the other way to more shops and Sealife Center. Loved having the fridge and micro as well. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would choose an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miles City, Montana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel was clean and had the perfect location. Close to the bay and a short walk to the docks. The Staff was more then helpful they went out of their way to make you feel at home. I left a pair of earrings when we left and they called me even before I left town and hand them mailed home to me before I got there. Wonderful people and wonderful place to stay. Great little cinnamon rolls in the morning for breakfast on the go!

Room Tip: upstairs with a great view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted by a wonderful woman who contributed greatly to our stay in Seward! She was friendly, welcoming and recommended things to do, including the delicious food at Chinnock's! It was so refreshing to have our room ready upon arrival and not have to wait until the REQUIRED check-in times (late afternoon) of Best Western or other chain hotels. We have been traveling for over two weeks in Alaska and Canada and this ranks as one of the best places we have stayed. Clean, nicely furnished rooms and beautiful view of the bay and Mtns. Refreshing! Highly recommend

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#10 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's Alaskan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's Alaskan Inn

Property: Murphy's Alaskan Inn
Address: 911 Fourth Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Murphy's Alaskan Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's Motel is located within a short walk to the Seward boat harbor. Offering great value for our customers. Our rooms all have queen beds, coffee makers, microwaves & refrigerators. Half of our rooms offer a spectacular view of Resurrection Bay, some with balconies. We also offer a Gas Barbeque Grill for our guests and a freezer for your fish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Murphy's Alaskan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s Alaskan Hotel Seward
Murphys Hotel Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing