We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at the Salmon Bake.”

Exit Glacier Salmon Bake
Ranked #6 of 49 Restaurants in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Woodbury, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“Dinner at the Salmon Bake.”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were in Sweard two nights, and we had dinner at the Salmon Bake both nights. The food was very good and would eat ther again. The service the first night was great, the second night
the service was good. How do you make the Sweetened and spiced basting for your salmon.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    230
    74
    31
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor service, overpriced and touristy”
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had spinach salads and share the Captain's Platter. The salad was the only thing good about our meal. The salmon was overcooked and had a distinct fishy taste. It did not taste fresh, nor expertly prepared. The halibut and shrimp were both fried and a little greasy.

The worst part of our experience was the service. Our waters were not refilled the whole time we were there even though we specifically asked for a refill when our food arrived. Also, we did not receive corn bread with our meal.

Overall, the restaurant seemed like an overpriced tourist trap with mediocre food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We are locals in Seward and eat at the Salmon Bake on a regular basis. It's a great restaurant with a menu to fit any price range as they have both sandwiches and dinners to choose from. They have a friendly wait staff. Our favorite meals are the Large Spinach Salad with Blackened Salmon and the Teriyaki Burger. Also, make sure to try their seafood chowder. It's the best!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank turningheadskennel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“1/2 baked”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

WHAT'S GOOD:  the salmon bake dinner was very good with baked potato and sauté corn
WHAT'S NOT GOOD: salmon sandwich tasted fishy, not fresh
PRICE: $43 for above dinner and sandwich with cokes before tip


Other comments: For me if you are just looking for somewhere to grab something to eat, and are not looking for a dining experience, then this might work. We heard it was less expeniseve then places in town. Rustic decor with mis-matching chairs and some odd shaped tables, staff were ok, busy trying to keep things moving, There was a short wait for a table (15mins).  We were told reasonable prices compared to in town.  Location was outside Seward at the turn for exit glacier.

Sent from my iPad

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuitcasesPacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good value since all food overpriced in Seward”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Have been to the pricey places and was trying to find cheaper meals. This isn't cheap but is much cheaper than the others. Food wasn't bad, have seen the bad reviews and must say we both enjoyed our meals. I had halibut fish and chips and enjoyed them. Good service, good beer, no complaints!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tinnesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Exit Glacier Salmon Bake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing