We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best part of our entire trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kenai Fjords Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #4 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best part of our entire trip”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This place is amazing. So great to have a personal chef and staff eager to serve and fulfill any request from s'more makings to best hiking trails. Fox Island is like paradise--so quiet and beautiful with awesome food, a lodge where you can read or play board games and relax on the flat rock beach, frequent animal sightings, and sunshine all the time (in the summer). Thanks for a memory that will last forever!

Room Tip: Get the package deal; it's a great value and you get to spend a day kayaking and a couple of nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outdoorjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    6
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2010

Beautiful setting for a beautiful lodge. No worries during stay. Room was spacious and very comfortable. Beautiful grounds.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank debwhite0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Sorry to be writing this so late but the beauty of this place has remained fresh in my mind two years later. The car ride down here (although the amazing Alaskan rail goes here as well) from Anchorage went through terrain that was like riding through one screensaver after another. Once you reach Seward you take a boat to the island with a ranger telling you about all the sea life you see on the way there.

Once you arrive on the island you enjoy a delicious salmon bake lunch on a deck that overlooks a small interior lake surrounded by unbelievable scenery. It was so beautiful that when the paper wrapper holding the dessert flew off the table and fluttered to the lake I dove for it fearing that if it hit the water, we would all wake up and find ourselves in our beds in whatever hellish urban center we were escaping.

The cabins are bare bone, a bed and a small bathroom. Meaning, you should only be in it if you are sleeping, showering, or the other (--) one does inside. It did not matter, the beauty of the surroundings demanded you were outdoors. We took a hike that started out behind the lodge, the worst part of it was the beginning where you had to essentially climb up and over some pretty rugged tree roots, but once past that you continued up at an easy uphill grade, plucking blue and salmon berries off the branches as countless raptors of varying feather swooped over you with naked eye identifying closeness. Be warned, once you reach the top and see the most beautiful view (picture posted here) over some knee high brush STOP! as right past the brush is a sheer drop off which I can only hope they have warning signs up for now. If you have little ones keep them close and maybe turn back, if not walk the trails to the left or right for more amazing views but mind your step.

The food is commendable, the chef took great pains to try to keep the meals with as much local food as possible. It was outstanding and I have been accused of being a foodie. The menu is fixed so do not expect choice, but it is so well done, it is worth trusting the chef. The wine list was very impressive as well. The staff consists essentially of young college students interning, given their service to the national parks their lack of training should be graciously overlooked.

You can kayak, and there are ranger led nature talks. Exploring the island, in my opinion can take up a day or two. We spent only a day and the next went on the day loooooong boat trip (definitely bring sea sick meds if that is an issue) where I saw more wild life in one afternoon then I will ever again. Three types of whales, terns, puffins, bald eagles, seals, and I don't know what else. The captain of the boat was very knowledgeable with both the natural and cultural history of the area. His knowledge of the glaciers we saw bested that of a PhD in Geology. It was extremely educational. The lunch on the boat left much to be desired and again only one choice but make sure you are sitting inside back by the service are afterwards when those warm cookies make it out of the oven!

If you do one trip in Alaska that is not Denali, this is really the one to do. Remember, the lodge is an eco-lodge and more concern is put into having the least impact on the environment than your comfort, but you recognize immediately that the natural beauty is what you came for and not accommodations. I have been many place including Tahiti, throughout the Caribbean, Asia, and quite a bit of Europe and nothing compares to this place for natural beauty. We also went to Talkeetna and would have traded that entire trip for one more day here.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allinclusivefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2008

Spent two nights in June on Fox Island at this lodge. We were in Dall Porpoise cabin. Travelled as part of the Kenai Fjords 5 day national park tour which included 2 nights at the Windsong Lodge. The location is stunning and we had great weather too. The Salmon Bake lunch was very touristy but in the evening and breakfast we ate in the Wilderness Lodge and the chef, Chris, was excellent. Very friendly staff who are not in your face at all. Plenty of time to hike up the mountain, sit round a fire on the beach, go on a kayak trip with Sunny Cove (highly recommend the 8 hour trip) Although water and electricity is a rare commodity the cabins are very comfortable and there was plenty of hot water in the shower. I would recommend 2 nights rather than 1, to really get the benefit of the relaxing environment. (contrary to the tour desk you can buy beer and wine on the island from the kitchen)

  • Liked — isolated and peaceful, no mobile phones!
  • Disliked — salmon bake lunch
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonKazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2006

My mother and I stayed on Fox Island one night and then took the Fjords tour the next day. After arriving at the lodge we received good service and had a wonderful time. We had made reservations to go sea kayaking the afternoon of our stay. I probably would not do the kayaking again but would recommend staying at the Wildeness Lodge. The meals were good, (why they would want to serve steak in Alaska is still a mystery), though not 4 star. The experience of the solitude is worth the price and this is one trip I would do again.

  • Liked — The seclusion and scenery
  • Disliked — We had a room that looked out over swampy lake, not the inlet.
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for room with view of inlet
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alaskarookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 20, 2006

Incredible cabins and lodge. We had a family reunion in Alaska and stayed on Fox Island. Fantastic place - beach combing, hiking trails (pretty tough walking), blueberries galore, evening fire on the beach. Cabins and lodge were very comfy. The guest book in our cabin told stories of Orcas that came right up to the beach. This is part of Kenai Fjords Tours, and included the cruise to the Northwestern Fjord - incredible trip as well, including a "super pod" of Orcas.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,003 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
707 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
389 reviews
2.6 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenai Fjords Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenai Fjords Wilderness Lodge

Property: Kenai Fjords Wilderness Lodge
Address: Fox Island Resurrection Bay, mail-1304 4th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenai Fjords Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenai Fjords Wilderness Lodge is Kenai Fjords Tours’ greatest escape located on Fox Island, just 45 minutes from Seward. Enjoy secluded lodging, ocean views and a private cabin as you relax at our exclusive wilderness lodge. Activities; hiking, guided sea kayaking, beachcombing and more. This all-inclusive package includes our premium Northwestern Fjord cruise and all meals on Fox Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kenai Fjords Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing