We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique combinations of ingredients with a friendly and helpful staff.”

Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 49 Restaurants in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Chinooks is located right on Seward's waterfront. Serving a Fresh menu of Alasaka's best seafood. Also serving Steaks and options for vegetarians and gluten free options. A new Sushi bar has been placed upstairs near our huge picture windows to enjoy. We have 12 Alaskan brewed beers on tap with a full bar of premium hard to find spirits, and one of the best Scotch selections in Alaska. A worldly, yet well rounded wine selection is also available.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique combinations of ingredients with a friendly and helpful staff.”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The smoked scallop mac and cheese alone is worth the trip! Add in a good variety of other dishes, interesting appetizers and a nice selection of local beers and you have a winner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    515
    178
    71
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“SO GOOD”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Service is great. Food is amazing! The fish is always fresh, however their veggie mac and cheese is what always brings me back! They have great drinks and you can't beat the view. We always like to try new places but whenever we are in Seward, we only go to Chinooks. I wish they did breakfast!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Audry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen,TX
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Expensive, expensive! And nothing special.”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I almost fell off my chair when I sat down and saw the prices. Although the service was pretty good, it wasn't special and the food was just OK. If money is no object, you might be impressed with the views. Otherwise, stay away!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simbasmom32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbseward, Owner at Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your recent Visit and we hope overall your journey to Alaska was nothing short of spectacular. I agree with you wholeheartedly. Everything in Alaska is expensive. We have one of the highest costs of living in our country. Almost all our fresh produce comes up on a ship from seattle who gets it shipped up from many other places, which mean right away our produce cost more in shipping than what you pay for the item at home. WE do our absolute best to keep prices low and keep our doors open. If you compare our menu with our competitors you will see that we are actually lower on most items. Again, we hope you enjoyed your stay and visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant seafood”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The food was great, especially the seafood, would recommend them highly. Service was good and efficient.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 52Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tchrs
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“great views - ordinary food”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Drop in here to have a magnificent view of the harbor in Seward and the mountains beyond. Ask for a window table and try to eat in the shoulder time to make this easier. Do not expect great food. Little variety and tastless soup are among the choices of mostly seafood. Next door is a better choice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tchrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing